TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2012, 07:53 AM   #1
DonaldBurns65144
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 121
Return FIOS DVR - keep cablecard. Y/N?

Just received a notice from FIOS regarding their fees on their DVR's going up a buck/mt. (Ditto on HD going up) We have one that is used about once in a blue moon that I'm thinking that it's about time to return it to them. The plan would be to replace our existing Premiere XL with an Elite and then move the XL to the TV with the FIOS DVR. Question then is how much of a hassle will it be in keeping the cablecard (in the FIOS DVR) and returning just the DVR back to Verizon? Anyone done that? Or will they make me return both DVR and card and then get a new cablecard? Can I self install if the later?
DonaldBurns65144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 08:07 AM   #2
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldBurns65144 View Post
Just received a notice from FIOS regarding their fees on their DVR's going up a buck/mt. (Ditto on HD going up) We have one that is used about once in a blue moon that I'm thinking that it's about time to return it to them. The plan would be to replace our existing Premiere XL with an Elite and then move the XL to the TV with the FIOS DVR. Question then is how much of a hassle will it be in keeping the cablecard (in the FIOS DVR) and returning just the DVR back to Verizon? Anyone done that? Or will they make me return both DVR and card and then get a new cablecard? Can I self install if the later?
The cable card goes with the STB. You are not supposed to remove it. Just take the box to the local FiOS store and pick up a cable card when you turn the box in.

although I guess you could call and ask them and see if they will let you keep the card. But otherwise it might open up a big can of worms if they get the box back with out the cable card in it.

If you are interetsted in VOD form FiOs you could also drop the DVR and just get the HD STB to save some money. The VOD features will still be the same.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 10:37 AM   #3
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,605
They won't want the card removed. Just order a cablecard the same time you return the DVR. Fios makes it easy to setup.
BigJimOutlaw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 12:23 PM   #4
aadam101
Future Prez of ABC
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 6,998
FYI. The phone reps told me to go to the Verizon Service Center to pick up a cable card. When I got there they told me they don't stock them in that location.
__________________
A passing grade? Like a C? Why don't I just get pregnant at a bus station!
aadam101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 05:44 PM   #5
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by aadam101 View Post
FYI. The phone reps told me to go to the Verizon Service Center to pick up a cable card. When I got there they told me they don't stock them in that location.
Sounds typical of FiOS customer support. I really wish their customer support was as good as Verizon wireless.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 06:32 AM   #6
pmiranda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 631
It will screw up their inventory management if you keep the cablecard, so then they would think they have a cablecard somewhere and they actually don't and somebody might go to an office to pick one up and they won't be able to find it. :-/
__________________
- Sony S1 from 2001 with CacheCard+Ethernet
- Series 3 1TB, now with new power supply!
- Premiere
pmiranda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 06:48 AM   #7
Thinkdiff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 56
FWIW, I've been told/seen it written that the CableCARDs used in STBs will not activate in any other devices besides the one it ships with. Not sure if that's accurate, but I can definitely see Verizon having a problem with you taking the CableCARD out of their DVR.

I actually did the same exact thing this week - replaced the Verizon DVR with a TiVo HD. I ordered a CableCARD from Verizon online on Monday. They charge $9.99 to ship it out, but it arrived the very next day. Installation took 5 minutes.
Thinkdiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 07:19 AM   #8
HenryFarpolo
Registered User
 
HenryFarpolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Andover Ma
Posts: 208
Don't know where you are North of Boston, but I got mine in Acton. Just call ahead.
HenryFarpolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 10:11 PM   #9
sabre70
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 18
Like others have said just return the box. If you have a Verizon store near you just go there and return the box and set up a Cable card install. I'm lucky there is a store about 2 miles from me and they are great to deal with rather than the call in #. Good luck.
sabre70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 09:01 AM   #10
oViTynoT
Obvious Forum Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 341
Most "Verizon" stores are just Verizon Wireless -- No equipment for FiOS. They may ACCEPT equipment returns at those locations, though.

The shops here in the D/FW area that have FiOS equipment are called "Verizon Plus" stores.
oViTynoT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 10:53 PM   #11
aadam101
Future Prez of ABC
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 6,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by oViTynoT View Post
Most "Verizon" stores are just Verizon Wireless -- No equipment for FiOS. They may ACCEPT equipment returns at those locations, though.

The shops here in the D/FW area that have FiOS equipment are called "Verizon Plus" stores.
We have standalone Verizon stores here that just sell and service FIOS products. There are no Verizon Wireless products inside.

There was a Verizon Wireless store in downtown Boston that had a Verizon FIOS section. I think they took it out. They don't even offer FIOS in Boston! I couldn't figure out why they would put it in a city that doesn't even offer the service.
__________________
A passing grade? Like a C? Why don't I just get pregnant at a bus station!
aadam101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |