TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Forum Jump

Old 03-13-2012, 12:43 AM   #1
luckydenvermint
Lucky

Question How to use Tivo Series 2 with only an HD Antenna (No cable or satellite box).

I have a Tivo Series 2 DT. I have moved and am currently using an HD Antenna to receive free broadcasts. How do I use my tivo series 2 with my current configuration of only an antenna. This type of Tivo is not compatible without a satellite or cable box, however I don't have either, nor do I intend on getting either. I am stumped when the guided set up asks me for the type of satellite/cable box that I am using. I can't seem to make anything work. Thank you in advance!

Ps, Also, my TV only has one Coax hookup. Do I hook the HD Antenna up to the TV Coax and not use the Tivo Coax at all? Or do I get a Coax splitter? I am pretty new to this so any help is appreciated.
luckydenvermint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 05:50 AM   #2
steve614
what ru lookin at?

First, you are going to have to get an OTA digital converter box.
Second, since the S2 DT doesn't *officially* support OTA (IIRC), you are going to have to use some 'southern' engineering to get it to work.
Also note you will lose the dual tuner functionality since the Tivo is only capable of controlling one converter.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:18 AM   #3
unitron

Quote:
Originally Posted by luckydenvermint View Post