TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2016, 01:10 AM   #1
ismikes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3
Is there a maximum number of videos?

I'm getting an error which is preventing Tivo Desktop from starting and from looking at the log files it seems like the problem may be a resource allocation problem. Is there a maximum number of videos that Tivo Desktop can deal with? I have a very large number of them in the shared videos folder and the problem seems to go away when I remove the folder which has the most videos in it...

Thanks. :-)

ismikes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 04:05 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,578
I think it has something to do with the cache and it was the main reason I had moved to PyTivo.

__________________
Original S1 (Recycle Heaven)
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD (XL, PLS, "652")
Juliet Basic (4XL, PLS)
(OTA)

~~~~~

No Amazon Prime? Join
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to start streaming on Roamio/Bolt!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 08:48 PM   #3
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 16,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by ismikes View Post
I'm getting an error which is preventing Tivo Desktop from starting and from looking at the log files it seems like the problem may be a resource allocation problem. Is there a maximum number of videos that Tivo Desktop can deal with? I have a very large number of them in the shared videos folder and the problem seems to go away when I remove the folder which has the most videos in it...

Thanks. :-)
Are all of those videos actually in the My TiVo Recordings folder?

Maybe if you organized them into sub-folders it would help.

I move shows out of the MTR folder to other drives and put shortcuts to those drives in the MTR folder, and we're talking about well over 10 TB.

I have had the problem in the past of having a shortcut in the MTR folder but the drive not being available and that kept Desktop from opening until I removed the shortcut.

Maybe you have some sort of phantom in your MTR folder.

Find your cache folder

(Services, TiVo Server Properties, Performance)

and delete all the files in it and let it rebuild it.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2016 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 PM.
Page generated in 0.12958002 seconds (46.72% PHP - 53.28% MySQL) with 18 queries