TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2015, 11:14 PM   #1
Alloy25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Dropping channels - Comcast

Hello.

A few basic questions. I've been able to fix one TIVO box v52 error message by rerouting the cable and remove a splitter (XL4). Still working on the Premiere box issue.

All of these issues started when we installed new cable cards because of swapping plans with Comcast earlier this year. They said we could keep all the same equipment but they lied.
Each TIVO and the modem have their own line.


Higher frequency channels such as HBO get a v52 error message when the MOCA is hooked up most of the time. When i bypass the MOCA the channels work ok. Is the splitter inside the MOCA basically a passive splitter which is causing enough signal loss at that point to cause signal loss?

A temporary fix (from TIVO) that works about 75% of the time is to add a splitter to the cable and one port goes to the MOCA and the other to the TIVO Premiere. TIVO didn't recommend using any type of signal booster, but didn't have any other recommendations.


The splitter on the outside of the house is a 3 way 1000mhz splitter, unbalanced splitter (two -7 and one -3.5 ports). I'm looking at an unbalanced 3 way splitter from Home Depot with a 2000mhz rating. Will this help with the MOCA signal issue, or will the higher frequencies be more prone to loss since the run is around 75'?


There was a POE filter installed from Comcast a few years ago. One of their techs removed it two months ago and said they were no longer needed. Should i have them install another one?
Are all POE filters the same, regardless if they come from Comcast, Amazon or TIVO?
Is there any signal loss when using a POE filter?

Thanks!


Last edited by Alloy25; 03-25-2015 at 09:21 AM.
Alloy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 06:01 PM   #2
Alloy25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Anyone found 2 ghz unbalanced splitters? Home Depot, Radio Shack and Best Buy are all balanced in that range.

Alloy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 10:57 AM   #3
Alloy25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Well I replaced Comcast's splitter with a Ideal 3 way 2ghz balanced splitter from Home Depot. All channels are working so far. Also gained 7 Mbps download speed and improved ping by 33% over several tests.

Alloy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 PM.
Page generated in 0.04367709 seconds (71.49% PHP - 28.51% MySQL) with 18 queries