TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2012, 06:38 PM   #1
Wendy in NY
Registered User
 
Wendy in NY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 73
Is My TiVo Elite Really That Smart???

Before my Elite upgraded its software to the 20.2 version, it was constantly rebooting. The last time it rebooted was 2 Fridays ago at which time the upgrade came down. In any case, the time before the last spontaneous reboot, it rebooted during the season finale of Terra Nova. After the upgrade, I performed a S.M.A.R.T. hard drive test which took a little over 24 hours and because of the amount of time it took, I missed my scheduled recording of The Simpsons (feat. Ted Nugent) and the Kardashians Take New York (ok don't judge me). In any case, after the test and the upgrade, my Elite has behaved.

Last week, my Elite recorded the repeat episode of the Kardashians and just this past Saturday it recorded the repeat episode of the season finale of Terra Nova. Did the Elite know that even though these were no longer listed as "new" episodes in the guide, that I didn't get them when they were "new" (because of its wacky behavior at the time) so it decided to record them for me??? (All of my scheduled recordings are for "New" only.) If this is the case, my Elite has just soared several notches than where it already was!
Wendy in NY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:25 PM   #2
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,391
"An episode is new to you if (1) the original air date is some time in the last 28 days and (2) it has not appeared in the To Do List or Now Playing List in the last 28 days."
BlackBetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:27 PM   #3
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,927
It isn't that uncommon for me to cancel a season pass recording because I know it will record the next repeat. As stated above, it uses the 28 day rule to determine whether to record it or not.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 10:52 AM   #4
Wendy in NY
Registered User
 
Wendy in NY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 73
Aha! That would explain it. Thanks!
Wendy in NY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 11:49 AM   #5
Innerloop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Marin County, CA
Posts: 120
I've always wondered that and was afraid to risk it. Now I intend to use the "First Run Only" option a lot more!
Innerloop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 11:58 AM   #6
PrimeRisk
TechnoGeek
 
PrimeRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denver, CO (or there about)
Posts: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by Innerloop View Post
I've always wondered that and was afraid to risk it. Now I intend to use the "First Run Only" option a lot more!
Fair warning Innerloop. The TiVo is smart enough, but the guide information isn't consistent enough. Come to rely on FRO and mark my words, you will get burned.

Case in point, CSI from last week was marked with a "new" tag even though it was an episode from early October. It is just as likely that had it been a new episode, it wouldn't have been marked as new in the guide data.
__________________
---
Retired: 2x S1, 1x HD, 6x S2 DTiVos, Stream
Active: 3x S2, 2x Premiere, Elite XL4, Roamio Pro, 2x Mini
PrimeRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 12:05 PM   #7
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrimeRisk View Post
Fair warning Innerloop. The TiVo is smart enough, but the guide information isn't consistent enough. Come to rely on FRO and mark my words, you will get burned.

Case in point, CSI from last week was marked with a "new" tag even though it was an episode from early October. It is just as likely that had it been a new episode, it wouldn't have been marked as new in the guide data.
Better to have it marked as new and be a repeat than marked as a repeat for a new episode.

Personally I typically run my SPs with new episodes. The guide data has typically been very accurate for my shows.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:17 PM   #8
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Innerloop View Post
I've always wondered that and was afraid to risk it. Now I intend to use the "First Run Only" option a lot more!
All my SPs are FRO, except...

There is a problem with shows that have aired elsewhere first, for example Canada or UK. Often they will be tagged with the OAD of the original non-US showing. A FRO SP will not record these shows.

Perfect example: Flashpoint. Airs in Canada before we get it. OAD is several months prior to our first showing. So my SP kept skipping it, thinking it had already aired here. I had to change to the "Repeats also" setting to get it to record.
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 02:22 PM   #9
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrohip View Post
All my SPs are FRO, except...

There is a problem with shows that have aired elsewhere first, for example Canada or UK. Often they will be tagged with the OAD of the original non-US showing. A FRO SP will not record these shows.

Perfect example: Flashpoint. Airs in Canada before we get it. OAD is several months prior to our first showing. So my SP kept skipping it, thinking it had already aired here. I had to change to the "Repeats also" setting to get it to record.
Yes, shows that aired in other countries first can have this problem. The only issue I have ever seen with a US show is Friday Night Lights because it aired on Directv before it aired on NBC. Other than that, all of my season passes are FRO.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 02:50 PM   #10
CharlesH
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas (San Francisco Bay Area)
Posts: 941
I also had a repeat of the season finale of Terra Nova get recorded, despite a "New Only" season pass.
CharlesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 04:27 PM   #11
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlesH View Post
I also had a repeat of the season finale of Terra Nova get recorded, despite a "New Only" season pass.
It will if there is no original air date. Sometimes Tribune doesn't list episode info and TiVos will always record an episode if it doesn't have the OAD just to be safe.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 06:17 PM   #12
celtic pride
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 290
i always record first run only because once i set it to record first run and repeats for the simpsons and i must of had about 300 episodes set to record!! after that i strictly stay with first run only and havent had any problems yet.
celtic pride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 09:23 PM   #13
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrimeRisk View Post
Case in point, CSI from last week was marked with a "new" tag even though it was an episode from early October. It is just as likely that had it been a new episode, it wouldn't have been marked as new in the guide data.

There is no "new tag". It is based on Original Air Date. If you mean that the rerun was marked with a (recent) Original Air Date, or the Original Air Date was missing, then yes, it would record.. But that is completely different from any "new tag", which I am inferring you mean the "(N)" in the human readable text, WHICH IS NOT USED.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 09:35 PM   #14
rjmitche
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlesH View Post
I also had a repeat of the season finale of Terra Nova get recorded, despite a "New Only" season pass.
Is that because when the season finale aired back on December 19th it was a single two-hour block consisting of episode 12 ("Occupation") and episode 13 ("Resistance") and those episodes are now being aired as two one-hour episodes - "Occupation" last Saturday (1/14) and "Resistance" this coming Saturday (1/21)?

I have the bulk of Terra Nova episodes sitting on my TiVo unwatched (still trying to decide if I'm interested enough to burn through them) so, I have the 12/19 two-hour block ("Occupation; Resistance") and the 1/14 episode ("Occupation"). I'm also pretty sure I had the 1/21 airing ("Resistance") in my To Do List at one point but, it doesn't appear to be set to record now. My Season Pass for Terra Nova is FRO.

FWIW - it looks like FOX may be doing something similar with the Alcatraz pilot episode(s)...
rjmitche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 03:53 PM   #15
gameboy2oo2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainwater View Post
It isn't that uncommon for me to cancel a season pass recording because I know it will record the next repeat. As stated above, it uses the 28 day rule to determine whether to record it or not.
This is the information I am looking for. Thanks.
gameboy2oo2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 09:44 PM   #16
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjmitche View Post
I have the bulk of Terra Nova episodes sitting on my TiVo unwatched (still trying to decide if I'm interested enough to burn through them) so, I have the 12/19 two-hour block ("Occupation; Resistance") and the 1/14 episode ("Occupation"). I'm also pretty sure I had the 1/21 airing ("Resistance") in my To Do List at one point but, it doesn't appear to be set to record now. My Season Pass for Terra Nova is FRO.
If you do decide to watch it, make sure you have the ENDING of each show before you nuke "duplicates".

I don't remember which one(s), but if you didn't have padding, one of the episodes cut off at the very end.. I caught one of the re-reruns again, to get the end.

(I now have all but the premiere of the show.. That's still on my dead Tivo drive.)
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |