TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2014, 06:03 PM   #1
Guy Linux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Series 3 HD roll back

TiVo S3 HD
A few years ago I upgraded my 160 GB internal drive to 1TB (supersized).
Now I am trying to go from the 1TB to a 2TB drive but I get errors like "Backup drive not large enough.... " and if I try a truncated backup other errors. (I've been through all the posts on only being able to expand once) See attached jpg
However with the mfs live CD I can backup my original 160GB drive to the 2TB drive and expand with no problems.

My question is: What happens if I put the 2TB drive in my TiVo with the (Old)160GB image on it?
Will the TiVo gods crap on me or will it upgrade and work happily ever after?
I have a lifetime subscription on this TiVo box

Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2371.JPG (26.1 KB, 18 views)
Guy Linux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 07:45 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,343
TC CLUB MEMBER
It will update to the latest, 11.0m, when you boot it up in the Tivo, force Tivo connection. You need to let it update before you can expand and supersize to the full 2TB.

You may be using an outdated version of MFSLive.

If you are in windows, you could also use WinMFS.

__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 11:54 AM   #3
tootal2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,140
I thought TiVo hd could not go past 1200 gigabytes

tootal2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 12:07 PM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 14,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by tootal2 View Post
I thought TiVo hd could not go past 1200 gigabytes
If you have version 11.0h of the TiVo operating system software or more recent version than that--currently it's up to 11.0m--then the TiVo itself can handle partitions larger than 1.2TB, making it possible to use a 2TB drive in an original S3 (TCD648250), or an HD (TCD652160), or HD XL (TCD658000).

I'm not certain, but the MFS Live cd, v1.4 (most recent and almost certainly last ever version) may not be able to handle either drives or partitions over 1.2TB.

WinMFS, however, can, and I've got several S3s with 2TB drives to prove it.

I'm fairly certain someone around here established that any of the S3s will not boot from any drive larger than a 2TB, even if you only use part of it and have no partition over 1.2TB.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 12:34 PM   #5
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by tootal2 View Post
I thought TiVo hd could not go past 1200 gigabytes
Just upgraded the 6 year old 1TB drives in my 2 S3 OLED TiVo's to 2TB drives and had upgraded my son's HD TiVo to 2TB 2 years ago so this has been possible for a while now.

Scott

__________________
  1. S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
  2. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  3. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  4. S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
  5. S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 12:52 PM   #6
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 6,161
Did you try doing the backup with the latest WinMFS?

Edit: I went from 1TB to 2TB on my THD mid last year using WinMFS with no problem.

__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 AM.
Page generated in 0.06212497 seconds (74.20% PHP - 25.80% MySQL) with 19 queries