TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2015, 07:30 PM   #1
jmohn3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
NETGEAR Powerline 500 Nano 1 GigE Port

Does anyone have experience using a NETGEAR Powerline 500 Nano 1 GigE Port with a Tivo Priemer 4 box? I'm trying to dodge the Tivo n band doggle price tag.

jmohn3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 08:10 PM   #2
Thom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Whittier, CA, USA
Posts: 1,423
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmohn3 View Post
Does anyone have experience using a NETGEAR Powerline 500 Nano 1 GigE Port with a Tivo Priemer 4 box? I'm trying to dodge the Tivo n band doggle price tag.
I use a Netgear Powerline 500 (don't know if it is a Nano or not) to connect my living room entertainment center to my router in the garage. Four TiVos, four game consoles, and one DirecTV DVR all use this powerline box without problem. I've downloaded and streamed HD movies through it.

Thom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 09:04 PM   #3
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 8,647
I use Zyxel Powerline adapters here and Dad uses Netgear, they've never been an issue and have performed far better than any wireless solution on both homes.

__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks For This Post:
Old 07-08-2015, 11:22 PM   #4
jmohn3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
NETGEAR Powerline 500 Nano 1 GigE Port

Thank you dianebrat, Thom for your replies. Exactly the response I was hoping to receive.

jmohn3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2015, 02:42 AM   #5
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,792
Just an FYI - Powerline adapters do not work very well over aluminum wiring, should you happen to be so unlucky.

__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.5.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.2001, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.
Page generated in 0.05260611 seconds (74.48% PHP - 25.52% MySQL) with 18 queries