TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-21-2011, 07:01 AM   #1
Wiggum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 29
Older units grandfathered into 12.95?

If I was to buy a used unit that is from late 2010 on Ebay would that be grandfathered into the 12.95 plan? I see some people saying yes on Ebay. Just didn't know the answer
Wiggum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 08:11 AM   #2
dponeill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiggum View Post
If I was to buy a used unit that is from late 2010 on Ebay would that be grandfathered into the 12.95 plan? I see some people saying yes on Ebay. Just didn't know the answer
I have an HD that I was going to reactivate and Tivo web site shows that it would be $12.95 a month with no commitment, but I am the original owner. You would probably need to ask them how it would work if you are buying a used unit.
dponeill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 09:11 AM   #3
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiggum View Post
If I was to buy a used unit that is from late 2010 on Ebay would that be grandfathered into the 12.95 plan? I see some people saying yes on Ebay. Just didn't know the answer
If you are talking about a Premiere the answer is no the $12.95/mo service option is not available when getting new service on one, regardless of the age of the Premiere or what it was subbed at before.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 08:50 PM   #4
plazman30
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 360
When I activated mine, I had to either show a receipt to show it was purchased at full price, and not $99 or it had to have been previously activated at $12.95.
plazman30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 09:00 PM   #5
dwit
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,652
You can always get the TSN, call Tivo cs, and ask.
__________________
Tivo HD Lifetime 1TB int, 1TB ext
Tivo 540040 400 GB Lifetime
Tivo S2DT 750 GB msd
Toshiba sdh400 r.i.p.
dwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 12:06 AM   #6
yoheidiho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by plazman30 View Post
When I activated mine, I had to either show a receipt to show it was purchased at full price, and not $99 or it had to have been previously activated at $12.95.
I showed a receipt for two $99 units I picked up from 6th Ave back in November 2010 to get the old pricing on the one unit I activated.

The second unit is still sealed, unactivated and eligible for the old pricing.
yoheidiho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 01:01 AM   #7
Wiggum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 29
Since I don't have Tivo currently I am debating on just jumping on the 449 lifetime deal. It might be the best bet to start out
Wiggum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 03:34 AM   #8
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiggum View Post
Since I don't have Tivo currently I am debating on just jumping on the 449 lifetime deal. It might be the best bet to start out
In my opinion it is the best official deal on the Premiere since it was released.

Good Luck,
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 07:18 AM   #9
Wiggum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 29
Ordered it. Figured if I decide to go back to Directv in 2 years I could sell it or just hold it until I go back to cable.
Wiggum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 05:06 PM   #10
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by dponeill View Post
I have an HD that I was going to reactivate and Tivo web site shows that it would be $12.95 a month with no commitment, but I am the original owner. You would probably need to ask them how it would work if you are buying a used unit.

Of course you're going to get the $12.95 rate for a Tivo HD, it's the regular subscription rate and always has been.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |