TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-2011, 12:25 PM   #1
davidvoy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
No Longer a TiVo Customer, what can I do to use my TiVo?

I have switched to Dish Network Sattelite TV and no longer have Cable TV, so my TiVO HD sits doing nothing. I finally canceled my monthly TiVo access as well.

What can i do to still take advantage of my tivo, anything i can do to HACK it
to open up features or use it in any way?
davidvoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 12:32 PM   #2
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,412
The only thing you can do with it is watch TV from your antenna. I think you may still be able to download the program guide, but that's about it. You won't be able to use any Tivo features, like recording, without a Tivo subscription.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 12:45 PM   #3
davidvoy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
The only thing you can do with it is watch TV from your antenna. I think you may still be able to download the program guide, but that's about it. You won't be able to use any Tivo features, like recording, without a Tivo subscription.


hmmm, i dont even think the guide works without a subscription.

I was hoping there may be a hack out there to totally use TiVo in any way , without having to subscribe.

I have installed a 1TB Hard drive, i guess i may just pull the drive and use it on my iMac.

Just wish someone had some cool HACK.
davidvoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 12:48 PM   #4
dwit
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,652
No program guide either. Of course that requires connecting to the service for guide updates. Apparently, a check of the subscription status is one of the first things done when the Tivo connects to the mothership.

No subscription, means no program guide updates. With no subscription, all you can do is watch live tv(cable, ota), including fast forwarding and/or rewinding(pausing also) whatever is in the 30 minute buffer.

You will get a channel banner, displaying the channel name/number, but that's all. No program info.
__________________
Tivo HD Lifetime 1TB int, 1TB ext
Tivo 540040 400 GB Lifetime
Tivo S2DT 750 GB msd
Toshiba sdh400 r.i.p.
dwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 12:50 PM   #5
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,347
Theft of service hacks are not allowed to be discussed on this site, and are obviously up to your own morals.

There are lots of threads which discuss what an unsubbed TiVo can provide.

I would sell it.
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 01:17 PM   #6
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidvoy View Post
I have switched to Dish Network Sattelite TV and no longer have Cable TV, so my TiVO HD sits doing nothing. I finally canceled my monthly TiVo access as well.

What can i do to still take advantage of my tivo, anything i can do to HACK it
to open up features or use it in any way?
Last time I used Dish Network you could delete locals and receive a $5/mo credit. If you get good OTA reception you could resub your TiVo and use it for OTA. Other than that there are not many uses for an unsubbed TiVo HD.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 01:24 PM   #7
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 893
Years ago there was a "guy" that could modify the series 1 TiVo to function like a VCR. His mod/hack would get rid of the nag screens and allow time and channel recording, like a VCR.
There is no play list info beyond the date/time stamp.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 05:59 PM   #8
Chris Gerhard
Registered User
 
Chris Gerhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: AR
Posts: 4,833
I am using an unsubbed TiVoHD and two TiVoHDs with lifetime. Unsubscribed it provides 30 minute buffer and dual tuners with no program guide or program information. Any programs recorded when it was operating with service can still be played. I am not aware of anything else that can be done with it.
__________________
Home Theater - OTA TiVoHD/1.16TB/NSZ-GS8 GTV
MBR - OTA TiVoHD/660GB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Den - OTA TiVo Premiere/2TB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Chris Gerhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 06:03 PM   #9
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
Years ago there was a "guy" that could modify the series 1 TiVo to function like a VCR. His mod/hack would get rid of the nag screens and allow time and channel recording, like a VCR.
There is no play list info beyond the date/time stamp.
The only "hack" required to use an older S1 Tivo is to use one of the original OS versions that came with it (v 1.3, IIRC). There is no actual hacking involved.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 02:40 AM   #10
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
The only "hack" required to use an older S1 Tivo is to use one of the original OS versions that came with it (v 1.3, IIRC). There is no actual hacking involved.
The way I read it somewhere you didn't have to use the older version of the software, but you had to have a unit that was made back when that was the current version.

I think it's another one of those "grandfathered because they didn't word something quite carefully enough to begin with" situations.

I've also read that you have to have a unit manufactured before October 2000 to use it manually, or to get TiVo customer service to send something down the line that flips a bit that lets it do that (but still call in to set the clock).
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 12:26 PM   #11
dishrich
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
Last time I used Dish Network you could delete locals and receive a $5/mo credit.
They no longer let you do that if you already have them...
dishrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 01:12 PM   #12
Joe01880
I love my TiVo
 
Joe01880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 516
Maybe put it in your closet for when you come back to TiVo so you dont have to shell out money to get a new one.
__________________

Roamio Pro- $99 yearly grandfathered MSD
Premiere- 2TB w/PLS
TiVo HD- 2TB w/ PLS For Sale $350
Series 2- Just sittin around
DVR40- yours if you want it
Connected via Ethernet
FiOS

Joe01880 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 03:07 AM   #13
Series3Sub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by dishrich View Post
They no longer let you do that if you already have them...
. . . if it is a package that already includes the locals in the price, which is most of the FREE promotional packages. If one owns the equipment, one could still have locals as an option.
Series3Sub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 03:12 AM   #14
Beryl
Registered User
 
Beryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidvoy

hmmm, i dont even think the guide works without a subscription.

I was hoping there may be a hack out there to totally use TiVo in any way , without having to subscribe.

I have installed a 1TB Hard drive, i guess i may just pull the drive and use it on my iMac.

Just wish someone had some cool HACK.
That would be nice. The Vulkano supplies an EPG at no cost. A hack should be possible for old TiVos.
__________________
HD XL
Premiere
Beryl is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |