TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2014, 03:49 PM   #1
PGLJunk99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3
Desktop Transfers Have Same Name In Folder

I am transferring seasons of various TV programs from my PC using Tivo Desktop 2.8.3 to my Roamio. The programs are transferring just fine, but the episode titles within the folder are all coming up the same name of the first episode transferred.
Example: Season 3 of 24 will create the proper folder name (24 - Season 3) but each of the 24 episode under the folder is labeled "10:00-11:00", even though all the individual episodes are transferred and playing properly.
Some series are .mp4, some are .avi. Tivo help desk said I have corrupted the system by transferring anything other than .mp2/4 or .tivo and will not cover it under warranty.

Anyone else experience this or have suggestions?
PGLJunk99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 05:12 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,987
I'd say that you have got a wierd CSR. The way the files are names is the way Tivo desktop does it. It downloads as .tivo encrypted files, and will only play on PCs with Tivo Desktop installed and with the same Media Access Key as the Tivo.

Decrypting is with a program like TivoDecode and then any PC can play it.

I use PyTivo and KMMTG. KMTTG lets you customize the file names.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 08:57 AM   #3
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGLJunk99 View Post
I am transferring seasons of various TV programs from my PC using Tivo Desktop 2.8.3 to my Roamio. The programs are transferring just fine, but the episode titles within the folder are all coming up the same name of the first episode transferred.
Example: Season 3 of 24 will create the proper folder name (24 - Season 3) but each of the 24 episode under the folder is labeled "10:00-11:00", even though all the individual episodes are transferred and playing properly.
Some series are .mp4, some are .avi. Tivo help desk said I have corrupted the system by transferring anything other than .mp2/4 or .tivo and will not cover it under warranty.

Anyone else experience this or have suggestions?

On the PC, do the files each have the proper name in the file?

Like, there's a 10:00 to 11:00, and then there's an 11:00 to 12:00, 12:00 to 1:00, et cetera.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 02:12 PM   #4
bootman_head_fi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 22
I have seen this also and it started after the last Tivo update.
My workaround is to put each individual file in a folder with the same name as the file.
That was the only way not to have each file have the same name.

But doing this loses the ability to group them in one single folder.
bootman_head_fi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 10:32 AM   #5
Fly Dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Same problem here and I believe it affects anyone that is trying to transfer folders of videos from a PC to a TiVo. I hope they fix it soon.
Fly Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 10:07 PM   #6
PGLJunk99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by bootman_head_fi View Post
I have seen this also and it started after the last Tivo update.
My workaround is to put each individual file in a folder with the same name as the file.
That was the only way not to have each file have the same name.

But doing this loses the ability to group them in one single folder.


I was considering doing that as a work around as well, but didn't want to put all that Effort into it

And I concur, this has only begun to happen since the last refresh. I have 2 Roamios (one standard, one pro) and it has occurred on both machines.
PGLJunk99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 10:11 PM   #7
PGLJunk99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
On the PC, do the files each have the proper name in the file?

Like, there's a 10:00 to 11:00, and then there's an 11:00 to 12:00, 12:00 to 1:00, et cetera.

Yes- All files are properly named on the PC. I have same issue with multiple series that I have attempted to transfer. Each time the series transfer, the folder is created properly, but the first file transferred is used to name each of the following files transferred thereafter.
PGLJunk99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |