TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-30-2015, 03:19 PM   #1
leiff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 445
Install required? Swap uverse for TiVo?

I can't get Comcast to give me free install. The house getting Comcast TV service is currently running u-verse. I'm wondering if I can just swap the uverse boxes inside the house for the TiVo boxes since they both use coax cable and avoid the Comcast hundred dollar install fee. I asked Comcast and they said if I tried the install myself and failed I would then be subject to separate fees for both internet and TV to get working which would exceed the hundred dollar original install fee which they said I couldn't get after if I tried installing myself. I think the difference was only like 20 bucks or so more so $120 after a self install fail instead of the original hundred but I'd like to take the chance if it can be done easily and save $100 in which case if I fail I'll only be out an extra $20.

leiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 07:41 PM   #2
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Virginny
Posts: 2,099
What kind of self-install are you trying to do? If there isn't a Comcast coax line running to the home's main point of entry, swapping boxes won't be enough. They'd still be on a dead u-verse feed.

BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 08:04 PM   #3
leiff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 445
I thought the house being wired for u-verse it might also work for Comcast. Guess I have to pony up 100 unless there's some type of easy tutorial?

leiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 08:25 PM   #4
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Virginny
Posts: 2,099
Self installing the cablecard is easy, but the Comcast source is different from the u-verse source. Swapping services means running coax from the utility pole (or wherever the Comcast source is) to the home. Far be it for me to suggest doing that. I don't even know if it's legal. You'll probably need to pay the install fee.


Last edited by BigJimOutlaw; 08-30-2015 at 08:31 PM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 11:01 PM   #5
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,051
The real question is, why won't Comcast give you free install and all the usual perks that they give to customers that decide to switch from another provider over to comcast??? Do you have bad credit or a bad history with them or any other provider that would make them not offer this to you?

__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 11:04 PM   #6
leiff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 445
I actually already have an account with them so they didn't have to run my credit I called like four different times and was shot down every time for free install
reason given is that it's been more than 3 years since there's been Comcast service at that address

leiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 03:06 AM   #7
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,051
Don't they have a win back program to bring you back to Comcast? I would think you qualify after three years. I do with directv after only 5 months!

__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 06:48 PM   #8
ej42137
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by leiff View Post
I actually already have an account with them so they didn't have to run my credit I called like four different times and was shot down every time for free install
reason given is that it's been more than 3 years since there's been Comcast service at that address
That sounds like they are expecting your infrastructure to have deteriorated so they're likely to need to do some amount of rewiring. Or maybe they've done some kind of system-wide wiring upgrade in the last three years that they're going to have to do for you because you missed it. (By "your" I mean everyone who's been out of service for more that three years, not you personally.) If you've call four times over and extended period and gotten the same answer it sounds like you're running into a company directive or policy. Like everyone else I'm surprised they aren't trying harder to get you back.

Were you extra nice when you called? Sometimes that makes a difference. Do you have some issue that might invoke the sympathy card, like age, poverty or disability? I wouldn't lie about it, of course, but if they do have a policy it helps to make an exception if they have a motivation to do so.

ej42137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 06:54 PM   #9
leiff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by ej42137 View Post
That sounds like they are expecting your infrastructure to have deteriorated so they're likely to need to do some amount of rewiring. Or maybe they've done some kind of system-wide wiring upgrade in the last three years that they're going to have to do for you because you missed it. (By "your" I mean everyone who's been out of service for more that three years, not you personally.) If you've call four times over and extended period and gotten the same answer it sounds like you're running into a company directive or policy. Like everyone else I'm surprised they aren't trying harder to get you back.

Were you extra nice when you called? Sometimes that makes a difference. Do you have some issue that might invoke the sympathy card, like age, poverty or disability? I wouldn't lie about it, of course, but if they do have a policy it helps to make an exception if they have a motivation to do so.
I know the neighbors house which is located only a couple hundred feet away have comcast services so I wonder if that shoots down your theory about old lines?

leiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 12:13 AM   #10
ej42137
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by leiff View Post
I know the neighbors house which is located only a couple hundred feet away have comcast services so I wonder if that shoots down your theory about old lines?
No, I was referring to the wiring in your house. If you were in a "no-comcast" zone they would probably hang up on you rather than string new cable.

ej42137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.
Page generated in 0.06422091 seconds (74.26% PHP - 25.74% MySQL) with 18 queries