TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2011, 06:10 PM   #1
tamon77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 38
Question Reformatting DVR Expander to use with Windows

Is there a way to format the drive and use with Windows? I have it hooked it via esata drive, I can see it in devices and printers, but it is not accessible through Windows Explorer as a drive. Any suggestions?
tamon77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 06:21 PM   #2
tamon77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 38
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by tamon77 View Post
Is there a way to format the drive and use with Windows? I have it hooked it via esata drive, I can see it in devices and printers, but it is not accessible through Windows Explorer as a drive. Any suggestions?
never mind - used this method and I am all good:
http://www.suite101.com/content/usin...onsole-a185303
tamon77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 06:21 PM   #3
Stuxnet
Alien Infidel
 
Stuxnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 356
Assuming WinVista/Win7... Can you see the drive through Computer Management/Storage/Disk Management?

If so, right click on each partition, and "delete volume" ... after you've done that you should have an empty drive that you can partition and format through Disk Management.
Stuxnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 08:40 PM   #4
tootal2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 946
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuxnet View Post
Assuming WinVista/Win7... Can you see the drive through Computer Management/Storage/Disk Management?

If so, right click on each partition, and "delete volume" ... after you've done that you should have an empty drive that you can partition and format through Disk Management.
Can a dvr expander be used to replace a drive in a tivo?
tootal2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 11:46 AM   #5
jlb
NCC-1701-D
 
jlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Newburyport, MA
Posts: 7,306
You know....my old 500gb expander is sitting collecting dust. It was crapping out and I replaced with an upgraded internal drive. But it might only be one or two bad sectors that the kickstart utilities couldn't repair.

I might try and reformat mine for windows usage/storage.
__________________
1 TiVoHD with Motorola M Cable Card and a 2TB Western Digital AV-GP WD20EURS Drive.
jlb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 09:14 AM   #6
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 558
I know you've solved the problem, but people in a similar spot might want to check out gparted, a Linux boot disk/partition manager (free):

http://gparted.sourceforge.net/download.php

It does everything you need pretty easily and you can format your large external drives with FAT32, something Windows Disk manager won't do. A FAT32 external drive will work across many platforms where an NTFS partition won't. My TV has a media player app and USB port -- normally used for thumb drives to play downloaded video. But if you have a 500 GB external drive formatted with FAT32, suddenly a huge collection is plug and play.
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |