TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-09-2011, 09:40 AM   #1
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,547
TiVo Premiere to add Xfinity on Demand

http://www.zatznotfunny.com/2011-05/...ity-on-demand/

TiVo Press release

It looks like it will be in select markets according to Dave Zatz's post.

It appears this is replacing the original plan to roll out the TiVo UI on Cisco and Motorola hardware. http://www.multichannel.com/
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by innocentfreak : 05-09-2011 at 10:36 AM.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:23 AM   #2
andyf
Registered User
 
andyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 1,108
You know this is coming over your network and not cable, right? Similar to the iPad app? We all know what a great experience the Netflix streaming is like.
__________________
Andy
andyf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:35 AM   #3
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,547
Yeah, and my Netflix streaming works great not that it matters since I don't have Comcast.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:40 AM   #4
socrplyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyf View Post
You know this is coming over your network and not cable, right? Similar to the iPad app? We all know what a great experience the Netflix streaming is like.
Do you know this for a fact or are you just talking?
socrplyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:45 AM   #5
MrSkippy53
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyf
You know this is coming over your network and not cable, right? Similar to the iPad app? We all know what a great experience the Netflix streaming is like.
Other than not having a search function within the TiVo Netflix app I have no problems streaming Netflix. And for searching Netflix one can use the find programs function.
MrSkippy53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:50 AM   #6
jaredmwright
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 211
This is great news! I live in the San Francisco Bay Area and have Comcast, so I look forward to this added feature. I have been missing out on all of the Comcast VOD since I really hate their interface and have not wanted to add an additional set top box to my setup. I also have DirectTV and it will be nice to have VOD from both providers to fill in gaps or catch up on content. Hopefully this will roll out this year. Unfortunately, TiVo has been slow to roll out any features to our Premiere units, Hulu being delayed significantly and the boxes still running slow and the HD interface being unfinished.
__________________
TiVo XL4 (2TB) HDMI/MoCa
TiVo Roamio Plus (3TB) HDMI/ETHERNET/MoCa & Slingbox 350
(4) - TiVo Mini (MoCa) HDMI, two on each TiVo
DirecTV HR22 HDMI/ETHERNET & Slingbox Solo
jaredmwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:53 AM   #7
dswallow
Save the Moderatоr
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 49,139
TC CLUB MEMBER
Finally a real reason to upgrade from Series 3 units to the Premiere.

Well, you know, when it's a shipping feature. In my area. Which probably means 2014. Or later. *sigh* But it's the thought that counts, right?
__________________
¯\_(ツ)_/¯****************
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dswallow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:54 AM   #8
socrplyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,012
While it is nice to see this coming, it will be a long wait. At least according to the press release. Early NEXT Year...
socrplyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 11:09 AM   #9
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,544
So, where all that matters is "what about me", I must say this is way more intriguing than Hulu Plus. I already have Comcast, and with this I can see TiVo moving more boxes.

Hulu Plus is a nice feature, but where is the revenue to TiVo? Would it really add subscriptions?
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 11:11 AM   #10
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyf View Post
You know this is coming over your network and not cable, right? Similar to the iPad app? We all know what a great experience the Netflix streaming is like.
That's not how the previous implementations work...

(And my Netflix streaming is great on every device other than TiVo.)
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 11:30 AM   #11
drjlb
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 413
Wait. They're giving out free Premiere boxes?
"Comcast will install TiVo Premiere set-top boxes with its cable service at no additional charge for its customers when the service is available in those markets."
drjlb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 11:34 AM   #12
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,634
No, they'll give you a Premier and charge you the regular HD DVR rental fee.

Given Tivo's track record lately, does anyone really think this will see the light of day next year? This Seachange VOD stuff was announced, what, a year and a half ago?
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 11:36 AM   #13
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
Given Tivo's track record lately, does anyone really think this will see the light of day next year? This Seachange VOD stuff was announced, what, a year and a half ago?
RCN has been doing it...
http://www.rcn.com/dc-metro/digital-.../tivo-premiere

Quote:
Access RCN ON DEMAND (over 10,000 hours of ON DEMAND content)

davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 11:36 AM   #14
drjlb
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
No, they'll give you a Premier and charge you the regular HD DVR rental fee.

Given Tivo's track record lately, does anyone really think this will see the light of day next year? This Seachange VOD stuff was announced, what, a year and a half ago?
I'll take a free Premiere in place of their normal DVR any day. It would also be nice not to be tied to TiVo's crazy monthly pricing schemes.
drjlb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 11:42 AM   #15
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by drjlb View Post
TiVo's crazy monthly pricing schemes.
TiVo may have several pricing scenarios, but Comcast's are way closer to be in the realm of "schemes."
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 12:17 PM   #16
bschuler2007
Frustrated owner
 
bschuler2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 324
Ho-Hum.. Further proof that if Tivo/Cable Co. can make a buck.. that development gets fast tracked, everything else.. nada.

Can't Tivo work on multiple things at once? Please Tivo, can we have one free development (more HD screens,better mp3 player) for every 10 cable company developments?
__________________
I once hit, Find more about.. and got a black screen for 45 minutes.. was I supposed to read a book about it during that time? Is that how that works?
bschuler2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 12:25 PM   #17
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by bschuler2007 View Post
Ho-Hum.. Further proof that if Tivo/Cable Co. can make a buck.. that development gets fast tracked, everything else.. nada.

Can't Tivo work on multiple things at once? Please Tivo, can we have one free development (more HD screens,better mp3 player) for every 10 cable company developments?
If next year is your idea of being fast tracked, I would be curious to see what your idea of slow is.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 12:27 PM   #18
aindik
Registered User
 
aindik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 28,055
I will get a Premiere if and when this feature goes live in Philadelphia. This will be way better than what I do now, which is hook up a laptop to the TV and access programming on the XFinity web site.

People interpreted the statement as saying you can rent a Premiere from Comcast, for their then-prevailing DVR rental fee? I didn't get that at all. What I got was that they'd install one at no additional charge.
aindik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 01:03 PM   #19
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,850
So will non-Comcast customers be able to access shows on xfinity on their Tivos, like non-Comcast customers can access shows on Xfinity via a web browser on a computer?

Thanks,
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 01:06 PM   #20
aindik
Registered User
 
aindik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 28,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
So will non-Comcast customers be able to access shows on xfinity on their Tivos, like non-Comcast customers can access shows on Xfinity via a web browser on a computer?

Thanks,
If you're not a Comcast subscriber, I think all you can do on XFinityTV.com is click links to shows streaming elsewhere (like on Hulu or on the network's web site). You can't access Comcast's own video on demand lineup.

I can't imagine they'll try to replicate that on a TiVo.
aindik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 01:42 PM   #21
johnf@home
Registered User
 
johnf@home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 260
Darn.

When I was having problems getting my TiVo HD repaired (which took three exchanges), TiVo said they'd upgrade that third exchange to a Premiere. But when the unit arrived what was in the box was yet another TiVo HD. As this one worked, though, I decided to not make an issue of it; who knows how many more swaps would have been needed to get everything working smoothly? And while a Premiere would have been nice, there was no compelling reason to upgrade, especially since if I did upgrade to a Premiere I'd want to use it as my primary unit. This would mean swapping the storage extender to that box (and finding temporary storage space for around 1TB of stored programming while moving the extender between TiVos). All in all, it just didn't seem worth it. But being able to access Xfinity on-demand programming would be a definite bonus.

This might be just enough to keep me tied to Comcast+TiVo for a while longer.
__________________
Hello. My name is Darth Vader. I am your father. Prepare to die.
johnf@home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 02:19 PM   #22
aadam101
Future Prez of ABC
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 7,007
Will these boxes have Amazon and Netflix on them?
__________________
A passing grade? Like a C? Why don't I just get pregnant at a bus station!
aadam101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 06:56 PM   #23
MrSkippy53
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocentfreak

If next year is your idea of being fast tracked, I would be curious to see what your idea of slow is.
LoL
MrSkippy53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 08:16 PM   #24
Davelnlr_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: North Little Rock
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocentfreak View Post
If next year is your idea of being fast tracked, I would be curious to see what your idea of slow is.
Slow is the DirecTv Tivo...
Davelnlr_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:33 PM   #25
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by aadam101 View Post
Will these boxes have Amazon and Netflix on them?
If it's *customer purchased*, yes. If it's actually rented from the cable company in lieu of their regular cable box, I think not. Current rules PREVENT them from allowing outside-cable-company video on cable company boxes.

My question, as I've never used cable VOD -- how many of the network shows can you get, and how long in the past does the VOD archive last?

I know, it's not going to be years (I literally *do* record shows and then watch them over a year later -- which can be bad like when my hard drive died and I lost at least a full season of Cold Case which will likely never be on DVD due to music rights issues)... But if I can save disk space and/or deal with programming conflicts by using VOD, that's actually a reason to get a Premiere. (Will it get me to get one as soon as it comes out? No.. but if the 4 tuner box that was asked about in the survey comes out and has this -- that would be something to make me upgrade, at least if lifetime subscriptions are still available at the time.)
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:34 PM   #26
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyf View Post
You know this is coming over your network and not cable, right? Similar to the iPad app? We all know what a great experience the Netflix streaming is like.
Most likely only the initial communication occurs over the network (the 2-way part of the cablecard spec that never saw fruition). The rest would most likely work just as a regular cable provided box works.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:58 PM   #27
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by socrplyr View Post
While it is nice to see this coming, it will be a long wait. At least according to the press release. Early NEXT Year...
This is a joke. Next year? At the speed with which this niche of the industry (on demand, streaming type of viewing) is moving, anything half a year away is already outdated. Get it out NOW, and provide some reason for people to buy (use?) these products. In half a year or more, we'll have the next greatest thing, and this will be about as useful as Amazon on Demand is (was).

I'm continually amazed out how slow TiVo rolls out their own internal advancements.
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:15 PM   #28
MikeAndrews
Registered abuser
 
MikeAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern Illinois (Dn Nr WI)
Posts: 12,150
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
No, they'll give you a Premier and charge you the regular HD DVR rental fee.
...
Which is a better deal then my current one with Comcast where they charge me TWO HD DVR rental fees to use two CableCARDs in the Tivo I OWN.
__________________
1) Series 4 Premiere - Lifetime
2) Series 3 OLED - Lifetime.
2) Series 2 DT 500GB
Mac Mini NAS with 9 7 x 2TB drives.
UVerse and OTA

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MikeAndrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 07:54 AM   #29
MrSkippy53
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by netringer

Which is a better deal then my current one with Comcast where they charge me TWO HD DVR rental fees to use two CableCARDs in the Tivo I OWN.
Dude call comcast. They can't charge u for a HD DVR fee if you own a TiVo. They should charge ~$10 for HD service (that covers all boxes in your house) and ~$1.50 for the cable card.
MrSkippy53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 08:27 AM   #30
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by davezatz View Post
That's not how the previous implementations work...

(And my Netflix streaming is great on every device other than TiVo.)
I was using Netflix on my Premiere last night since there were issues with Netflix on the Boxee Box. It certainly reminded my how great the picture quality is coming from my TiVos. SInce the TiVo outputs at the native resolution of 720P, and then is running through my Algolith Flea and then my DVDO DUO. The picture is noticeably better than what comes from my 360, PS3, Boxee Box, or LG BD player. Since those devices don't have native resolution output and all have inferior quality.

I just might have to start using my Premieres more for my Netflix streaming than my Boxee Boxes. The picture was so much better than all of my other Netflix devices.

I'll have to tell my brother about this Comcast deal. He is also missing recordings with his crappy Comcast DVR, but he did not want to buy a TiVo outright. If he can rent a TiVo instead of the crappy Comcast DVR he will go for it since he would also have access to VOD. Without the VOD he would not go for it.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |