TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > TiVo TV Talk > Now Playing - TV Show Talk
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-15-2012, 11:28 AM   #421
billypritchard
Embiggener
 
billypritchard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 3,285
Thanks to this thread I used Usenet for the first time last night. I used Blocknews and SAB.

Seemed to be incredibly simple, though all the rest of your talk in this thread confuses me. :-)
__________________
Do Me! Do Me! - MNoelH
I agree with BP - Finnstang
billypritchard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 08:21 AM   #422
MikeMar
Go Pats
 
MikeMar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boston Suburb, MA
Posts: 38,031
Little lifehacker article for some VPN's

http://lifehacker.com/5935863/five-b...vice-providers
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MikeMar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 08:27 AM   #423
SeanC
ECT
 
SeanC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Someplace
Posts: 8,991
Hunh, KryptoVPN wasn't listed, they are who I use.
SeanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 09:40 AM   #424
laria
Librocubicularist
 
laria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Seacoast, NH
Posts: 12,649
I got all set up with Astraweb and all the other things this weekend. I am pretty sure that 1 TB block is going to last me forever, since I don't plan to download too many tv shows with it, just the occasional one here or there if the Tivos lose something.
__________________
Miranda
laria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 11:23 AM   #425
cheesesteak
Meh.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: 15 mins from Philly
Posts: 25,408
I started this thread a year and a half ago and I still haven't done anything with usenet yet. Doh! I signed up for something, downloaded something else, got confused and gave up.
__________________

A Cheesesteak always pays its debts
cheesesteak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 11:28 AM   #426
MikeMar
Go Pats
 
MikeMar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boston Suburb, MA
Posts: 38,031
I love this thread I ditched torrents and now use the $3.99 frugal account for most everything, with blocknewz and astraweb as my backups (and for >300 days)

All setup with sickbeard and couch potato. Everything is so automated to my NAS and I just watch on Boxee w/o a problem

Thanks everyone on that help!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MikeMar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 07:11 PM   #427
TheMerk
Always Bid First
 
TheMerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,097
I would like to know what led nzbmatrix to ban all copies of The Hunger Games. I mean, why aren't other movies banned in similar fashion?
__________________
Adam

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



TheMerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 07:40 PM   #428
Malcontent
Aka: Smiling Bob
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMerk View Post
I would like to know what led nzbmatrix to ban all copies of The Hunger Games. I mean, why aren't other movies banned in similar fashion?
Nzbmatrix received a DMCA request to remove the NZB. Matrix doesn't host binaries which makes a DMCA request silly. Nzbmatrix honors such requests to avoid legal hassles.

Other movies are not banned because the copyright holders go after the usenet providers who actually host the binaries. Going after NZB indexers is a waste of time and resources since they only hosts NZB's. There are far to many indexers to deal with. It's easier to go after the usenet providers.

Edit:

There only about 9 copyrighted items (excluding porn, get rich quick/spam) that are banned on Nzbmatrix. Only two movies. No tv shows are banned.

Edit:

There are other ways of getting the banned NZB. Using a different indexing site. Using usenet search engines to manually generate the NZB.

http://www.mysterbin.com/

http://www.binsearch.info

http://www.nzbindex.nl/

Last edited by Malcontent : 08-21-2012 at 08:01 PM.
Malcontent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 07:54 PM   #429
TheMerk
Always Bid First
 
TheMerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,097
I wasn't complaining about Hunger Games not being there, just curious why other movies don't get banned. Hell, Cabin in the Woods is also a Lionsgate release, but they haven't asked matrix to take it down. Weird.
__________________
Adam

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



TheMerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 11:32 AM   #430
cheesesteak
Meh.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: 15 mins from Philly
Posts: 25,408
I finally decided to try usenet. I got things set up using Block News, Sabnzbd and a VIP account with NZBMatrix. I found a couple of shows I was looking for but by download speeds are slower than the slowest slow that ever slowed. I'm talking all night to download 98 Meg. The tv show is one week old so retention shouldn't be the problem. I'm assuming it's something on my end, like my router or firewall. I allowed Sabnzbd private and public access through Windows firewall. I have no idea what to try with my Netgear router settings. I googled but don't see anything about usenet and port forwarding or Qos Settings or anything useful. What am I missing?
__________________

A Cheesesteak always pays its debts
cheesesteak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 11:38 AM   #431
Malcontent
Aka: Smiling Bob
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheesesteak View Post
I finally decided to try usenet. I got things set up using Block News, Sabnzbd and a VIP account with NZBMatrix. I found a couple of shows I was looking for but by download speeds are slower than the slowest slow that ever slowed. I'm talking all night to download 98 Meg. The tv show is one week old so retention shouldn't be the problem. I'm assuming it's something on my end, like my router or firewall. I allowed Sabnzbd private and public access through Windows firewall. I have no idea what to try with my Netgear router settings. I googled but don't see anything about usenet and port forwarding or Qos Settings or anything useful. What am I missing?
You shouldn't need to change anything in your router. When working correctly you should be downloading at max speed immediately. Double check your Blocknews server settings in Sabnzbd. Are you using SSL or regular connection? Using the correct port number? How many connections to Blocknews server are you using?
Malcontent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 11:40 AM   #432
TheMerk
Always Bid First
 
TheMerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheesesteak View Post
I finally decided to try usenet. I got things set up using Block News, Sabnzbd and a VIP account with NZBMatrix. I found a couple of shows I was looking for but by download speeds are slower than the slowest slow that ever slowed. I'm talking all night to download 98 Meg. The tv show is one week old so retention shouldn't be the problem. I'm assuming it's something on my end, like my router or firewall. I allowed Sabnzbd private and public access through Windows firewall. I have no idea what to try with my Netgear router settings. I googled but don't see anything about usenet and port forwarding or Qos Settings or anything useful. What am I missing?
Strange. You should be able to almost max out your connection speed with Usenet. How many connections are you allowing in SABnzbd (config -> Servers -> Show Details button -> Connections) ?

I'm using frugalusenet, which is the same as blocknews, and I have to throttle my download speed to 2.0MB/s so SAB doesn't soak up all of my bandwidth.

Perhaps your ISP is looking for Usenet traffic and packet shaping it. Have you enabled SSL within SAB? That would prevent your ISP from seeing the type of traffic.
__________________
Adam

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



TheMerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 11:45 AM   #433
2004raptor
Registered User
 
2004raptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,314
How is this 500GB block for $20?

I did the blocknews account for a while but used it all up. Is this comparable as far as service/content?
2004raptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 11:54 AM   #434
Malcontent
Aka: Smiling Bob
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2004raptor View Post
How is this 500GB block for $20?

I did the blocknews account for a while but used it all up. Is this comparable as far as service/content?
The price is very good but this provider resells Highwinds usenet service. They are hit with DMCA take downs a great deal. Blocknews is much better in terms of completion. Not saying that Blocknews is immune from DMCA but it's not nearly as bad as Highwinds. Blocknews customer service is top notch.

In the past price and retention was a much bigger factor in choosing a usenet provider because they all were pretty much the same. Now with DMCA, completion is much more important. What good is having a cheaper usenet provider if you can't download the content you want because it was removed from their servers?
Malcontent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 12:06 PM   #435
cheesesteak
Meh.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: 15 mins from Philly
Posts: 25,408
On the Connections tab under Status I see:
Server: BlockNews.net

Status: Enabled

# Connections: Failed to connect: (10054, 'Connection reset by peer') 8@BlockNews.net:563

I also saw that same error message when I test the server.

Host: BlockNews.net
Port: 563 (I didn't pick this port. It just was there.)
Username and Password seem correct
Connections: 12
Retention Time: 0 days
Timeout: 120 secs
SSL: checked (but I disabled SSL under the General HTTPS Support section. It would yell at me about port 9090 and SABnzbd having an invalid/missing certificate)

Under Tuning, my download speed limit is 0 which seems odd but it was the default.



Also, because of utorrent and port forwarding, I had created a static IP address. My usenet speeds sucked with that static IP and after I switched it back to getting it automatically.
__________________

A Cheesesteak always pays its debts

Last edited by cheesesteak : 08-27-2012 at 12:17 PM.
cheesesteak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 12:16 PM   #436
Malcontent
Aka: Smiling Bob
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheesesteak View Post
On the Connections tab under Status I see:
Server: BlockNews.net

Status: Enabled

# Connections: Failed to connect: (10054, 'Connection reset by peer') 8@BlockNews.net:563

I also saw that same error message when I test the server.

Host: BlockNews.net
Port: 563 (I didn't pick this port. It just was there.)
Username and Password seem correct
Connections: 12
Retention Time: 0 days
Timeout: 120 secs
SSL: checked (but I disabled SSL under the General HTTPS Support section. It would yell at me about port 9090 and SABnzbd having an invalid/missing certificate)

Under Tuning, my download speed limit is 0 which seems odd but it was the default.
Under 'Host', it should be:

usnews.blocknews.net

Use port 443 with SSL checked.
Malcontent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 12:24 PM   #437
cheesesteak
Meh.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: 15 mins from Philly
Posts: 25,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malcontent View Post
Under 'Host', it should be:

usnews.blocknews.net

Use port 443 with SSL checked.
That was it! The connection test was a success and it's now downloading at 1.9MB/sec. Thanks a lot.
__________________

A Cheesesteak always pays its debts
cheesesteak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 12:26 PM   #438
Malcontent
Aka: Smiling Bob
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheesesteak View Post
That was it! The connection test was a success and it's now downloading at 1.9MB/sec. Thanks a lot.
Your welcome.
Malcontent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 04:15 PM   #439
bareyb
Under Maintenance
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Posts: 22,296
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malcontent View Post
Your welcome.
You are the man Malcontent.

ETA: I just noticed mine is on Port 563. Why do you use Port 443? Just curious...
__________________
Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by human error

Last edited by bareyb : 08-27-2012 at 04:21 PM.
bareyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 04:30 PM   #440
pteronaut
Registered Snoozer
 
pteronaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,146
Some ISPs are restricting traffic through 563.
pteronaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 04:30 PM   #441
Malcontent
Aka: Smiling Bob
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by bareyb View Post
You are the man Malcontent.

ETA: I just noticed mine is on Port 563. Why do you use Port 443? Just curious...
Port 563 is the standard SSL usenet port. Some ISP's throttle the standard usenet ports 119 and 563. Using a non standard port reduces your chances of running into issues with your ISP.

Edit:

Port 443 is usually used for secure web browser traffic. It would be pretty difficult for an ISP to throttle such an important port. It's also less suspicious then using port 119 and 563.

Last edited by Malcontent : 08-27-2012 at 04:46 PM.
Malcontent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 05:35 PM   #442
cheesesteak
Meh.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: 15 mins from Philly
Posts: 25,408
I decided to try my luck with Sickbeard and I'm having trouble with this too. Usenet hates me as much as torrents did when I first started doing that. I'll play with it some more before I come back with my tail between my legs asking for help.
__________________

A Cheesesteak always pays its debts
cheesesteak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 05:52 PM   #443
bareyb
Under Maintenance
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Posts: 22,296
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malcontent View Post
Port 563 is the standard SSL usenet port. Some ISP's throttle the standard usenet ports 119 and 563. Using a non standard port reduces your chances of running into issues with your ISP.

Edit:

Port 443 is usually used for secure web browser traffic. It would be pretty difficult for an ISP to throttle such an important port. It's also less suspicious then using port 119 and 563.
Well then. I guess I'll change it. Thanks!

ETA: It worked. Better safe than sorry.
__________________
Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by human error
bareyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 06:06 PM   #444
TheMerk
Always Bid First
 
TheMerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,097
Interesting that Frugal News doesn't allow SSL over 443. The only ports they allow for SSL are 563 and 5563. Hmmmm.

Quote:
News Server Addresses-
news.frugalusenet.com - Located In The USA
eunews.frugalusenet.com - Located In AMS
Standard Ports: 20, 23, 53, 119, 443, 880, 2000, 8080, 9000, 9001, 9002
For SSL Enabled Newsreaders, SSL Ports Are: 563 or 5563
I've been running SABnzbd over 5563, which I guess is better to use than 563.
__________________
Adam

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



TheMerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 06:11 PM   #445
Malcontent
Aka: Smiling Bob
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMerk View Post
Interesting that Frugal News doesn't allow SSL over 443. The only ports they allow for SSL are 563 and 5563. Hmmmm.



I've been running SABnzbd over 5563, which I guess is better to use than 563.
The important thing is to have alternative ports to use. It doesn't really matter what the port numbers are. Just that there are alternatives to the known standard 119 and 563.
Malcontent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 06:34 PM   #446
TheMerk
Always Bid First
 
TheMerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malcontent View Post
The important thing is to have alternative ports to use. It doesn't really matter what the port numbers are. Just that there are alternatives to the known standard 119 and 563.
OK. That makes sense.
__________________
Adam

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



TheMerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 03:19 PM   #447
cheesesteak
Meh.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: 15 mins from Philly
Posts: 25,408
What's the purpose of having a backup usenet server? Don't BlockNews and Astraweb for example both point to the same stuff? The reason why I'm asking is that one tv show's episode gave me a "Repair failed. Not enough repair blocks (15 short)" message. Would adding a backup account help find the missing pieces? Or would the backup account only kick in if my primary server went down?
__________________

A Cheesesteak always pays its debts
cheesesteak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 03:31 PM   #448
MikeMar
Go Pats
 
MikeMar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boston Suburb, MA
Posts: 38,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheesesteak View Post
What's the purpose of having a backup usenet server? Don't BlockNews and Astraweb for example both point to the same stuff? The reason why I'm asking is that one tv show's episode gave me a "Repair failed. Not enough repair blocks (15 short)" message. Would adding a backup account help find the missing pieces? Or would the backup account only kick in if my primary server went down?
They are different servers I believe, so having the backup would pull and fix those repair/missing blocks for you
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MikeMar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 04:17 PM   #449
Malcontent
Aka: Smiling Bob
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheesesteak View Post
What's the purpose of having a backup usenet server? Don't BlockNews and Astraweb for example both point to the same stuff? The reason why I'm asking is that one tv show's episode gave me a "Repair failed. Not enough repair blocks (15 short)" message. Would adding a backup account help find the missing pieces? Or would the backup account only kick in if my primary server went down?
If your primary server is missing parts of the file your downloading it will try to download the missing bits from the backup server in order to complete the download.

It's possible for things to be missing from one Usenet providers servers and not missing on another provider.

Block accounts are perfect as backup servers because they are only used when there are missing parts. Only the few missing parts are downloaded from the backup. A small block account can last a long time when used only as a backup.

The key to get the most success is to choose a backup provider that has a different usenet backend. It wouldn't be useful if you used Blocknews as primary AND as a backup. Or if your using Highwinds and you bought a usenet block from a different Highwinds reseller.

Astraweb makes a great backup to Blocknews because they use different usenet backends. The reverse is also true. A 25 gig Astraweb usenet block is $10 and should last a good while if only used as a backup server. Think of it as cheap insurance.

Now, using a backup server doesn't guarantee 100% problem solving when you encounter missing blocks. It will certainly improve your chances.
Malcontent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 02:43 PM   #450
bareyb
Under Maintenance
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Posts: 22,296
TC CLUB MEMBER
I just downloaded a Movie and it's showing as Split Screen (double image) on my TV. Anyone know what's happening?

Yes. I thought that was a "feature". You mean it's 3D ONLY?
__________________
Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by human error

Last edited by bareyb : 09-09-2012 at 02:55 PM.
bareyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |