TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-30-2011, 09:52 PM   #1
hannja
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
2TB My Book AV DVR Expander Not Supported

Well, my previous 1TB My Book AV DVR Expander from Western Digital went bad. When I sent it back for RMA, they sent me a 2 TB version of the My Book AV DVR Expander. Installed like normal and my Tivo Premier indicated that it saw an external storage device. However, after trying to set it up, my Tivo says its not supported. Tried rebooting, unplugging, different esata cable, updating through Tivo service, etc. But still won't pair up.

It even says on the box Tivo Compatible and it's model # WDBABT0020HBK-NESN

Any suggestions.

Last edited by hannja : 03-30-2011 at 11:16 PM.
hannja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 11:36 PM   #2
retiredqwest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannja View Post
Well, my previous 1TB My Book AV DVR Expander from Western Digital went bad. When I sent it back for RMA, they sent me a 2 TB version of the My Book AV DVR Expander. Installed like normal and my Tivo Premier indicated that it saw an external storage device. However, after trying to set it up, my Tivo says its not supported. Tried rebooting, unplugging, different esata cable, updating through Tivo service, etc. But still won't pair up.

It even says on the box Tivo Compatible and it's model # WDBABT0020HBK-NESN

Any suggestions.
I searched for that model # and found very little. WDC store has the model # and shows it as 1TB and out of stock.

So I doubt anyone on here has even seen one of those beasts, yet alone have one. You may have to call WD and see what they say.

If you do call let us know what they say!
__________________
I'm not retired... I'm a professional grandparent.

THD 1.5TB Seagate = 237 hrs HD
Premiere WD20EVDS = 317 hrs HD.
XL4 = 318 hrs HD
retiredqwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 11:57 PM   #3
Worf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,612
Probably not supported by TiVo because TiVo can't handle more than 2TB total - with two disks, each can be up to 1TB.
Worf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 07:45 PM   #4
rivered
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
I would just take out the drive from expander and place it in the tivo, I did this with my 1gig expander.

http://www.rosswalker.co.uk/tivo_upgrade/
rivered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 07:10 AM   #5
Quake97
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 223
I haven't heard of a 2TB version and like the other guy/gal said, it's probably because its 2TB. Do you have the latest OS on your Premiere?

Joe
Quake97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 03:26 AM   #6
hannja
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
I have the most current OS. I may end having to call Western Digital to send me back a 1 TB model rather than the 2TB they sent me.
hannja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |