TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Forum Jump

Old 02-26-2011, 03:14 PM   #1
Fuqer

Using a cablecard with Tivo without a subscription..

I have a Time Warner subscription and a cable DVR box downstairs.

Upstairs I am currently just using the coaxial cable and recieve 69 analog and 14 digital channels.

I would like to buy an older Tivo with cablecard support and use it without a Tivo subscription to be able to pick up the same HD channels as my cable DVR box that I have downstairs.

Everything that I have been told so far is that this is possible.

So, can I buy a used Tivo without a subscription such as the
TiVo TCD652160 HD Digital Video Recorder for $70 from amazon?

and get a cablecard from time warner for $2.00 a month and recieve the same HD channels as my cable box downstairs without a Tivo subscription or a cable box upstairs?
Fuqer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 03:35 PM   #2
windracer
joined the 10k club

No. The TiVo is useless without a subscription.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 03:38 PM   #3
Fuqer

on all tivos are just that tivo?

A Time Warner chat rep told me that I did not need a Tivo subscription to use a cable card..
Old 02-26-2011, 04:01 PM   #4
windracer
joined the 10k club

On all TiVos, except the very early S1 boxes.

You might be able to use it as a basic tuner, but you'll get nag screens every time you change the channel and none of the recording features or Guide data will work. So why bother?

|
Old 02-26-2011, 04:21 PM   #5
Fuqer

That all I really want is to use it to recieve all my channels.