TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > VirginMedia TV with TiVo - UK
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2011, 04:53 PM   #31
Royalflush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 32
Pressing OK while watching Live TV or a recorded program brings up a small 3 line TV listing guide.
Use the directional buttons to navigate or type a channel number to jump to a different channel.
Press Clear to remove.
-
There seems to be a 24-48 hour delay before suggestions start recording, dont panic if they dont kick in straight away (as long as enabled)
Royalflush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 06:55 AM   #32
Brangdon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 214
Auto-record Wish List searches appear in My Recordings as a folder for items which match the search. This works even for recordings which weren't recorded by the Wish List itself.

For example, you can create a simple Category Wish List for Comedy, set it to auto-record, and then My Recordings will contain a Comedy folder that will hold all the comedies regardless of where they came from. You can use this to help organise your recordings. If you set "Record at most" to 1, and "Keep until I delete", then the Wish List itself will only add one item to the folder and the rest will be other stuff.

Programmes can appear in more than one folder. In particular, Series Links create folders of their own, which will still appear at the top level in My Recordings, so you can't get rid of the clutter completely. I think one-off recordings don't, though. For example, I have some films that only appear in my Films folder, and that does reduce the top-level list. The folders aren't retrospective: only programmes recorded after the Wish List was created go into its folder.
__________________
It's only television.
Brangdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 04:03 AM   #33
cwaring
VM Tivo User
 
cwaring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Knaresborough, North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 9,015
Just accidentally found this one:

Pressing "Last Channel" (aka Enter) whilst in the full EPG will take you to the "Search All TV" page.
__________________
Carl Waring


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with the new
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Get
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- TV Guide for Windows

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cwaring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:54 AM   #34
Technix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 21
EDIT - already reported.
Technix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 06:03 AM   #35
Brangdon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 214
Pressing Up (ie the key above OK) while watching a recording, cycles the output through all the available video formats. Currently this only seems to work for recordings, not for live TV, and it doesn't work if the mini-guide or info screen are visible. The setting isn't very "sticky" and may revert to the highest format if you switch to HD content.

You can use this while playing SD, to see which format is better for your TV. I am finding 576p works best for me, because my TV is better at upscaling than TiVo.

[Edit:] To put this another way, currently the only reliable ways to get 576p output are:
  • Disable 1080i and everything else (thus degrading HD content if you have an HD TV).
  • Check that 576p is active whenever you switch to an SD channel:
    • For SD recordings, you can use Up directly (wait for the initial info banner to clear first).
    • For live SD, first watch an SD recording and adjust the output as above, then switch to the live channel, being careful not to hit any HD content on the way.
The good news is that the HD menus don't seem to force 1080i; only actual video content do that. (I've not tested YouTube et al.) Hopefully this mess will be sorted out by a future update.
__________________
It's only television.

Last edited by Brangdon : 03-12-2011 at 06:54 AM.
Brangdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 06:27 AM   #36
John McE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 161
I've tried this and it doesn't work for me. Maybe it only works if you have all the various formats ticked?
John McE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 09:18 AM   #37
dwarfofpoison
dwarfofpoison
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: London
Posts: 17
Yep, for Brangdons's tip (quality tip!) to work another output has to be ticked in video output settings.
dwarfofpoison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 10:05 AM   #38
Brangdon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 214
It cycles through available video formats. Formats that aren't ticked, aren't available. (Convenient as it saves time cycling through formats that don't make sense for your TV.)

It also shows the format on the screen, in a brownish box in the lower right. The box appears even if you have only one format ticked.
__________________
It's only television.
Brangdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 10:49 AM   #39
Tony Hoyle
Geek
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 646
That's interesting.. can compare 576i vs 1080i directly that way. Have to say I prefer the tivo doing the upscaling, having seen it, as the picture is slightly softer which hides the ugly mpeg artefacts you get on SD these days.
__________________
Those who do not understand Tivo are condemned to reinvent it, poorly.
Tony Hoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 03:15 PM   #40
mikerr
TiVoCentral.co.uk
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Up North
Posts: 2,596
Updated first post (and a little thread bump!)
__________________
TivoCentral.co.uk -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mikerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 01:50 PM   #41
MrHoggie
Registered User
 
MrHoggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 38
I have posted a link to this page on the virgin help and support page.
this is amazing work and you all deserve to have your names in lights

Thank You
Phil
MrHoggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 05:11 AM   #42
SPR
Registered User
 
SPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Guildford, Surrey
Posts: 120
Someone mentioned in the thread that Suggestions are not listed in the to record section but can be viewed separately.

To switch them on in the Home 2 area use the S1 method of TD TD TU Back
SPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 07:46 AM   #43
pythagorasuk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
If you set up the remote to control your TV and then you set it up to control your AV reciever, you get the following

power button switches tv in and out of standby
text button switches sources on TV
volume up/down controls volume of AV reciever.

Regards

John.
pythagorasuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 06:07 PM   #44
bradleyem
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 338
here's my current wishlist:

"Ignore" some channels channels (i.e all the BBC1 variants)
A button to click between tuners
Set thumbs directly from a search screen
One series link on multiple channels - not wishlists per se, but the ability to record (eg) "Time Team" on C4/C4+1/More4 but not Discovery.
Ability to create Smart folders (i.e one for all Films)
The ability to group programs into seasons within a folder.
An EndPad replacement - i.e soft padding.
A tracker replacement - to not to keep recording repeat ad-infinitum. I don't trust the "new" flag.
__________________
Ethernet (n): Something used to catch the Etherbunny
---
Tivo 1: 6023, Cachecard & 500GB (WD)

Tivo 2: VirginMedia HD
bradleyem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 01:05 AM   #45
brightonjohn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by pythagorasuk View Post
If you set up the remote to control your TV and then you set it up to control your AV reciever, you get the following

power button switches tv in and out of standby
text button switches sources on TV
volume up/down controls volume of AV reciever.

Regards

John.
Wonderful - works perfectly with my ONKYO TX-SR875 using code 1002.
Many thanks for this one.
brightonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 02:25 AM   #46
mikerr
TiVoCentral.co.uk
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Up North
Posts: 2,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleyem View Post
Ability to create Smart folders (i.e one for all Films)
Partially works now, see post #32
__________________
TivoCentral.co.uk -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mikerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 02:58 PM   #47
Royalflush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPR View Post
Someone mentioned in the thread that Suggestions are not listed in the to record section but can be viewed separately.

To switch them on in the Home 2 area use the S1 method of TD TD TU Back
Could someone elaborate on this, in sounds quite usefull but I dont understand the "S1 method"
Royalflush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 03:21 PM   #48
sjp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,663
td = thumbs down - tu = thumbs up

don't have suggestions turned on so can't verify if it works but i've no reason to believe it won't.
sjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 03:21 PM   #49
RichardJH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hanworth. Middlesex.
Posts: 1,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Royalflush View Post
Could someone elaborate on this, in sounds quite usefull but I dont understand the "S1 method"
When in my recordings which you get to via single button My Recordings or by pressing Home then 2 to show recorded suggestions in the list press Thumbs down Thumbs Down Thumbs Up Back in that order
RichardJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 01:14 PM   #50
Royalflush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjp View Post
td = thumbs down - tu = thumbs up

don't have suggestions turned on so can't verify if it works but i've no reason to believe it won't.
Thanks (& to RichardJH) for the extra info, makes sense now
Royalflush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 04:15 PM   #51
Moe UK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West London
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPR View Post
Someone mentioned in the thread that Suggestions are not listed in the to record section but can be viewed separately.

To switch them on in the Home 2 area use the S1 method of TD TD TU Back
Nice one just tried and then added a sequence to my Harmony to do it all in one button press
Moe UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 08:04 AM   #52
Brangdon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 214
With series 1, and I imagine VM, the backdoor settings got reset after a reboot, so this Suggestions listing thing is probably a way to find out if your TiVo has rebooted recently.

I recently disabled Suggestions too, but I'm going to try enabling them again to see if this works.
__________________
It's only television.
Brangdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 11:45 AM   #53
kmusgrave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Isleworth, UK
Posts: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brangdon View Post
With series 1, and I imagine VM, the backdoor settings got reset after a reboot, so this Suggestions listing thing is probably a way to find out if your TiVo has rebooted recently.
I don't think it is. It seems not even to survive leaving the suggestions page.
kmusgrave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 02:49 AM   #54
Brangdon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 214
You're right. Curses! Foiled again.
__________________
It's only television.
Brangdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 07:41 AM   #55
Royalflush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 32
This may be slightly off topic but the link below has a full listing of VM channels, useful to print out and keep by the TV:

http://www.virginmedia.com/customers...nnel-guide.pdf
Royalflush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 08:47 AM   #56
mikerr
TiVoCentral.co.uk
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Up North
Posts: 2,596
Updated first post.
__________________
TivoCentral.co.uk -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mikerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |