TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2012, 12:45 PM   #121
drknapp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 24
Thumbs down I give up.

Well, I gave up. After having extensive issues with the replacement slide also, I finally just deep sixed it and went back to the original remote. It was just getting to be to much of a hassle.
drknapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 01:52 AM   #122
PeteB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Could it have been a bad batch? Is anyone having issues with the slides purchased more recently? The two I purchased were from Amazon and Bestbuy last year. So maybe I just lucked out with not having any issues with either one.

Sent from my HTC ReZound using Forum Runner
I have the same slide remote issues and they are not because of interferance or a bad batch, because it works just fine with my Series 3 Tivo. Only the Elite locks up. Let's face it. The Elite is beta, not ready for prime time. I suffer through it only because there is no viable competition out there. I can reformat a terabyte hard drive and load windows from scratch in less time than it takes for the Elite to load an update. The programmers should all be fired. ... BTW for those who like so many workarounds... I found I can record without issues if I point my camcorder at the TV sreen and hold the record button.
PeteB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 05:11 PM   #123
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by mandms7 View Post
Definitely keep us posted about your situation. I have given up on using bluetooth with the remote because of the glitching and have pulled the dongle
More than 3 days of using my friend's Slide remote, and it is still working PERFECTLY! Not a single lost command. It is just so nice to have a remote that works again. Still, I am anxious to swap back to my old Slide remote, just to see if it starts malfunctioning again.

Quote:
Just wondering if anyone has actually called TiVo support to see if they have any insight or are aware of the problem?
I never called TiVo, since I thought it was something that can't be fixed. Of course, I wouldn't now, since I am still testing/gathering info. But my posts were picked up by an on-line support rep and they are looking into it- so they do know it happens to people.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 05:48 AM   #124
Beryl
Registered User
 
Beryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,519
I have 2 slide remotes. One has the glitch after working for a few months with my Premiere the other still works OK with my HDLX. I never considered pulling the BT on the glitchy one but I will try that.
__________________
HD XL
Premiere
Beryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 06:41 PM   #125
ajboots
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by mandms7 View Post
Hey crxssi,

Definitely keep us posted about your situation. I have given up on using bluetooth with the remote because of the glitching and have pulled the dongle.

Just wondering if anyone has actually called TiVo support to see if they have any insight or are aware of the problem?
I called Tivo and they were quick to recommend replacing the remote -- not even a hint of trouble-shooting. Bought mine from Amazon and am about to try the replacement.
ajboots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 09:32 AM   #126
ThreeSoFar'sBro
Sports Nut
 
ThreeSoFar'sBro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 1,443
Can't wait for a fix for this....SO annoying. Thanks all for keeping us updated!
ThreeSoFar'sBro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 10:51 AM   #127
L David Matheny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajboots View Post
I called Tivo and they were quick to recommend replacing the remote -- not even a hint of trouble-shooting. Bought mine from Amazon and am about to try the replacement.
The Slide remotes are just defective sometimes. "Slide remote: many keyboard keys are dead" describes my (brief) experience with a Slide remote purchased from Amazon. Before I returned it, I believe several more keyboard keys and even some topside buttons stopped working.
L David Matheny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 06:08 PM   #128
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by crxssi View Post
More than 3 days of using my friend's Slide remote, and it is still working PERFECTLY! Not a single lost command. It is just so nice to have a remote that works again. Still, I am anxious to swap back to my old Slide remote, just to see if it starts malfunctioning again.
And there we have it.

I used that other Slide remote for *10 DAYS*. Not a SINGLE lost keypress or delay or glitch. My friend brings me back my remote, saying he had no problem with it, so I swap mine back in place and within minutes I am having the glitches again.

So I unplug the bluetooth dongle and use it with IR for a day- not a single glitch. So in my particular case:

* I have proved it is not primarily caused by the Premiere
* I have proved it is not interference
* I have proved it is not range
* I have proved it has nothing to do with batteries
* I have proved it is not defective key switches on the remote
* I have proved it is isolated to my particular Slide remote

I guess I really do have a bad Slide Remote- one that worked perfectly for a year and then just went strange. It is just hard to believe because the symptoms just make no sense for any type of failure on this type of device. I also can't explain why my friend did not have the problems when using my remote on HIS Premiere.

So I go to Amazon to see what a new one will cost and read the reviews. DOZENS of people reporting almost the same thing. I guess I just have to decide if I want to take another chance and replace it.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro

Last edited by crxssi : 07-11-2012 at 06:14 PM.
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 08:06 PM   #129
Beryl
Registered User
 
Beryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,519
After removing the BT dongle, my bad slide remote is working like a regular remote without the keyboard. It isn't glitchy like before though. I regret being an early adopter on this one.
__________________
HD XL
Premiere
Beryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 11:46 PM   #130
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beryl View Post
After removing the BT dongle, my bad slide remote is working like a regular remote without the keyboard. It isn't glitchy like before though.
Without the keyboard AND with being chained to line-of-sight pointing of the remote. Blech.

Quote:
I regret being an early adopter on this one.
? In this case, that is not applicable. I have one of the first Slides and it worked fine for a year and the went strange. Others bought it much later but have reported it only working a few months and going strange. I don't think there has been any revision in the design.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 11:52 PM   #131
Beryl
Registered User
 
Beryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by crxssi

Without the keyboard AND with being chained to line-of-sight pointing of the remote. Blech.
True but the IR on this thing is STRONG. Unlike the original TiVo remote, it doesn't require direct line-of-sight. The only way it didn't work (in the same room) was when I completely blocked the sensor with my hand. It works no matter where it is pointed. It may be bouncing off the walls though -- the room is relatively small.

I think I'll call TiVo and see if they'll do a low-cost out-of-warranty exchange. I paid full price for this thing.
__________________
HD XL
Premiere
Beryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 04:27 PM   #132
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beryl View Post
True but the IR on this thing is STRONG. Unlike the original TiVo remote, it doesn't require direct line-of-sight. The only way it didn't work (in the same room) was when I completely blocked the sensor with my hand. It works no matter where it is pointed.
Not mine!!!! In IR mode, I have to practically POINT the Slide remote directly at the TiVo. Never had to do that with any of my old IR remotes! So I just can't win.

Quote:
I think I'll call TiVo and see if they'll do a low-cost out-of-warranty exchange. I paid full price for this thing.
Let us know how that goes...
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 04:29 PM   #133
sirfergy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 272
I've had two Slide remotes go bad, there is definitely something that fails easily.
sirfergy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 09:56 AM   #134
mmf01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 101
Lightbulb Fix for Side Remote Issue

Not sure if this was posted elsewhere, but this was posted on Amazon and it resolved my issue.

http://www.amazon.com/review/RFEKSX5...=&nodeID=&tag=

The daughter board was not loose on my remote, however, removing and reseating both the daughter board and flexible cable resolved the issue. Perhaps the removal resets the board.

Also, several of the slide magnets were stuck under the main board after dissasembly. TiVo didn't do a very good job of securing them. A bit of thin double sided tape keeps them seated while reassembling.

Total time to fix was like 5-10 mins.

Of course, all of this voids your warranty on the remote. Proceed with caution and at your own risk if your not familiar with this stuff. Enjoy!
mmf01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 04:12 PM   #135
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmf01 View Post
Not sure if this was posted elsewhere, but this was posted on Amazon and it resolved my issue.

http://www.amazon.com/review/RFEKSX5...=&nodeID=&tag=

The daughter board was not loose on my remote, however, removing and reseating both the daughter board and flexible cable resolved the issue. Perhaps the removal resets the board.
Yep, I saw that info too. But I dismissed it since I am not having a remote failure (keys not working on top and/or bottom). Plus I proved that it can't be the keys, because it works fine in IR mode.

Quote:
Of course, all of this voids your warranty on the remote.
You mean that whopping 90 day thing?
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 11:47 PM   #136
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,579
Two years, if you got the extended warranty from BestBuy like I did with my first Slide remote. Although I got my second one from Amazon without an extended warranty.

of course if I ever have an issue it will probably be with the Amazon remote while the BestBUy one will last for years.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 12:15 PM   #137
Beryl
Registered User
 
Beryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beryl
I think I'll call TiVo and see if they'll do a low-cost out-of-warranty exchange. I paid full price for this thing.
No help at all.

I'm glad the TiVo apps work fairly well. The keyboard was the main reason I used the flakey remote.
__________________
HD XL
Premiere
Beryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 04:12 PM   #138
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beryl View Post
No help at all.
Well, I don't think any of us expected any different. It is out of warranty

Quote:
I'm glad the TiVo apps work fairly well. The keyboard was the main reason I used the flakey remote.
Are you kidding? The new Android tablet app is so slow I find it unusable. At least the Android phone app isn't too bad.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 02:29 AM   #139
Beryl
Registered User
 
Beryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by crxssi
Are you kidding? The new Android tablet app is so slow I find it unusable. At least the Android phone app isn't too bad.
Really? The iOS app works nicely on my iPad, iPhone, and iPod Touch.
__________________
HD XL
Premiere
Beryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 04:57 PM   #140
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beryl View Post
Really? The iOS app works nicely on my iPad, iPhone, and iPod Touch.
That is great- but it is not the same app as what runs on Android. And it is written by a totally different group of people (apparently a group with much better skills)
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 08:12 AM   #141
rdangel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 113
So I have 2 slides purchased early in their product cycle about 6 months apart.
The both started glitching at the exact same time around when the premier did software updates around 6 months ago. Nothing wireless or blue toothy changed in my house during that period.

I am having standard glitching, missed keystrokes, having to hit play 5 times during FF or RW to get the tivo to stop. I have rebooted the tivos changed batteries, used the usb extension, disconnected the dongle etc etc.

Just for giggles I tried the thing outlined in the Amazon link quoted below. When i opened the slide, the daughter card spoken about was still seated well and it appeared to be securely fastened by adhesive to the main board so I do not know what that guy was talking about. I pushed on the daughter card to make sure it had a good connection and just pushed the main board down as well just for good measure.
Re-assembled, reinserted the batteries and the glitching is gone!!
We'll see for how long, but I am hopeful!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by mmf01 View Post
Not sure if this was posted elsewhere, but this was posted on Amazon and it resolved my issue.

http://www.amazon.com/review/RFEKSX5...=&nodeID=&tag=

The daughter board was not loose on my remote, however, removing and reseating both the daughter board and flexible cable resolved the issue. Perhaps the removal resets the board.

Also, several of the slide magnets were stuck under the main board after dissasembly. TiVo didn't do a very good job of securing them. A bit of thin double sided tape keeps them seated while reassembling.

Total time to fix was like 5-10 mins.

Of course, all of this voids your warranty on the remote. Proceed with caution and at your own risk if your not familiar with this stuff. Enjoy!

rdangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 04:36 PM   #142
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdangel View Post
So I have 2 slides purchased early in their product cycle about 6 months apart. The both started glitching at the exact same time around when the premier did software updates around 6 months ago. Nothing wireless or blue toothy changed in my house during that period.
Me too

Quote:
I am having standard glitching, missed keystrokes, having to hit play 5 times during FF or RW to get the tivo to stop. I have rebooted the tivos changed batteries, used the usb extension, disconnected the dongle etc etc.
Yep, exactly like me

Quote:
Just for giggles I tried the thing outlined in the Amazon link quoted below. When i opened the slide, the daughter card spoken about was still seated well and it appeared to be securely fastened by adhesive to the main board so I do not know what that guy was talking about. I pushed on the daughter card to make sure it had a good connection and just pushed the main board down as well just for good measure.
Re-assembled, reinserted the batteries and the glitching is gone!!
We'll see for how long, but I am hopeful!!
OK, I was very reluctant to do this, but I have nothing to lose anymore. I want to throw my remote in the trash. So I did the same procedure. The daughter board was on there EXTREMELY well, I thought I would break it trying to pull it off. Then I pushed it back on. I also removed and reinstalled the ribbon cable.

Hmm, my glitching is also completely gone. But is this just a fluke? Will it last? If it is "fixed", then it could be a poor electrical connection on the board (oxidation or something). I will keep everyone updated.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:32 PM   #143
ThreeSoFar'sBro
Sports Nut
 
ThreeSoFar'sBro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 1,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by crxssi View Post
Me too



Yep, exactly like me



OK, I was very reluctant to do this, but I have nothing to lose anymore. I want to throw my remote in the trash. So I did the same procedure. The daughter board was on there EXTREMELY well, I thought I would break it trying to pull it off. Then I pushed it back on. I also removed and reinstalled the ribbon cable.

Hmm, my glitching is also completely gone. But is this just a fluke? Will it last? If it is "fixed", then it could be a poor electrical connection on the board (oxidation or something). I will keep everyone updated.
Just did this. I didn't remove the daughter board, but pushed it on tighter. It may have been 1/16" loose (away from where it should be seated). Put it back together--NO GLITCHING! I, too, hope this is a permanent fix, but if it glitches again I'll fix it again.

One warning to those trying this--be careful of the battery tabs. They're very easy to bend out of position, making it difficult to put the cover back on and reinsert the batteries.
ThreeSoFar'sBro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 07:46 PM   #144
Beryl
Registered User
 
Beryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,519
Moi aussi.

After taking it apart, everything appeared to be seated correctly but I did push firmly on the DB and the ribbon connection. I don't know where the 'magnets' were that the Amazon.com mentioned so I didn't do anything more there. It took me more than 15 minutes because I was afraid I'd break the plastic removing the back. I even searched for an instruction video to see how the back is successfully removed. I just kept working at it because "nothing ventured....."

So far so good. No glitches. Maybe the $89 purchase isn't down the drain.

I think this remote was poorly manufactured (duh) and needs to be babied so it continues to work.

Thanks for steering us to that tip on Amazon.com!.
__________________
HD XL
Premiere
Beryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 10:23 PM   #145
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThreeSoFar'sBro View Post
Just did this. I didn't remove the daughter board, but pushed it on tighter. It may have been 1/16" loose (away from where it should be seated). Put it back together--NO GLITCHING! I, too, hope this is a permanent fix, but if it glitches again I'll fix it again.
Mine was not loose at ALL, it was on solid as a rock and pushed all the way on. That is why I decided to pull it off and put it back on (which would clear oxidation, if there were any

Quote:
One warning to those trying this--be careful of the battery tabs. They're very easy to bend out of position, making it difficult to put the cover back on and reinsert the batteries.
It was not easy getting the cover off, you have to pry beyond what feels safe, but I am glad I kept going. It is amazing what you are willing to try when you don't give a damn about the equipment anymore
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 10:26 PM   #146
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beryl View Post
After taking it apart, everything appeared to be seated correctly but I did push firmly on the DB and the ribbon connection. I don't know where the 'magnets' were that the Amazon.com mentioned so I didn't do anything more there.
How can you miss them? Mine practically came flying out and were a pain in the ass to get back into their little slots.

Quote:
It took me more than 15 minutes because I was afraid I'd break the plastic removing the back. I even searched for an instruction video to see how the back is successfully removed. I just kept working at it because "nothing ventured....."
Tell me about it! That sucker is tight.

Quote:
So far so good. No glitches. Maybe the $89 purchase isn't down the drain.

I think this remote was poorly manufactured (duh) and needs to be babied so it continues to work.
Actually, to me, it looks like extremely excellent construction and a great design. I think there might be a flaw in the coating on those pins or on the socket which is causing the issue. But lets all give it a few weeks and see if they stay "fixed" before getting too excited
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 12:13 AM   #147
Beryl
Registered User
 
Beryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by crxssi
It was not easy getting the cover off, you have to pry beyond what feels safe, but I am glad I kept going. It is amazing what you are willing to try when you don't give a damn about the equipment anymore
That is what I was thinking. It isn't working anyway and not under warranty. What difference does it make?
__________________
HD XL
Premiere
Beryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 08:18 AM   #148
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beryl View Post
That is what I was thinking. It isn't working anyway and not under warranty. What difference does it make?
Well, I used it many hours yesterday and NOT A SINGLE GLITCH! I am very excited by this. I would never have believed the proposed cure would do anything in my case; just doesn't fit the symptoms nor seem logical.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 01:42 PM   #149
sirfergy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 272
Mine was glitch free for a day, then went back to ignoring the first keypress.
sirfergy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 08:47 PM   #150
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirfergy View Post
Mine was glitch free for a day, then went back to ignoring the first keypress.
Mine is still working perfectly now! Freaky!!
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |