TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-28-2012, 09:36 AM   #1
cr33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 644
Tivo HD Vs S3 Lifetime Value

So I spoke with Tivo this week, want to try to remove some units, I have 5 at the moment, Margaret gave me the option of adding lifetime to all of my Series 3 units, HD included. If I add lifetime to these units I am trying to figure out if I should just update the S3 to an HD on the account and then add the lifetime, or keep the S3 and add the lifetime, what would be worth more money for resale?

My overall goal is to sell off the lifetime units to get a a P4 or an XL4.

Thanks guys and gals
cr33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 12:27 PM   #2
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 880
Ebay is your friend.
An S3 with a life time sub is worth significantly more than without.
The how much is up to the bidder.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 02:02 PM   #3
cr33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
Ebay is your friend.
An S3 with a life time sub is worth significantly more than without.
The how much is up to the bidder.
Thanks for the reply, yes I know that a unit with a Lifetime sub is worth more, my question is, an older OLED S3 unit vs an TivoHD unit! Was my post not clear?
cr33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 02:23 PM   #4
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr33p View Post
.. my question is, an older OLED S3 unit vs an TivoHD unit! ..
There is no absolute answer to your question. It depends on who is look to buy when you sell and what upgrades or extras the units have had. If they both have original hard drives it is likely the original Series 3 will sell for more, but recent ebay sales really are hard to quantify what the difference might be (if anything).

What buyers have to think about is that while the original Series 3 is a superior unit they require 2 cable cards, are not self-upgradeable to 2TB and are likely older units.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 03:05 PM   #5
cr33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
There is no absolute answer to your question. It depends on who is look to buy when you sell and what upgrades or extras the units have had. If they both have original hard drives it is likely the original Series 3 will sell for more, but recent ebay sales really are hard to quantify what the difference might be (if anything).

What buyers have to think about is that while the original Series 3 is a superior unit they require 2 cable cards, are not self-upgradeable to 2TB and are likely older units.
I never thought about the two cable cards being needed, tks
cr33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 08:42 AM   #6
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,747
Some folks here swear that the original S3 OLED is the best box Tivo ever made but the fact remains that it requires two CableCards and the associated fees. If Tivo will let you do each S3 and S3HD box for $99 each, do them all and sell them on eBay for whatever you can get. Then buy a nice, new, four tuner box with lifetime. I just sold two S3HD and an S2 - all with lifetime to offset the cost of a new XL4 - lite.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 08:49 PM   #7
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr33p View Post
So I spoke with Tivo this week, want to try to remove some units, I have 5 at the moment, Margaret gave me the option of adding lifetime to all of my Series 3 units, HD included. If I add lifetime to these units I am trying to figure out if I should just update the S3 to an HD on the account and then add the lifetime, or keep the S3 and add the lifetime, what would be worth more money for resale?

My overall goal is to sell off the lifetime units to get a a P4 or an XL4.

Thanks guys and gals
How much per TiVo are they going to charge you for lifetime?

Is that contingent on you buying an S4 of some type?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 09:03 PM   #8
cr33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
How much per TiVo are they going to charge you for lifetime?

Is that contingent on you buying an S4 of some type?
99 Per Lifetime, she didnt tell me I had any contingents, she mentioned something about a ratio of Premiere boxes on my acct vs the older series 3 units.

My plan is to lifetime sub all 3 sell them, buy an elite with lifetime, no more subs period
cr33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 09:21 PM   #9
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr33p View Post
99 Per Lifetime, she didnt tell me I had any contingents, she mentioned something about a ratio of Premiere boxes on my acct vs the older series 3 units.

My plan is to lifetime sub all 3 sell them, buy an elite with lifetime, no more subs period
How many of which model do you have, both S3 and S4s?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 02:49 PM   #10
cr33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
How many of which model do you have, both S3 and S4s?
I have

- 3 Tivo HD 2@ 6.95 MSD / 1 @ 9.95
- 1 Tivo S3 @ 9.95 MSD
- 1 Premiere @ 6.95 MSD
- 1 Premiere Lifetime
- 1 S2 Lifetime
cr33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 03:24 PM   #11
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr33p View Post
I have

- 3 Tivo HD 2@ 6.95 MSD / 1 @ 9.95
- 1 Tivo S3 @ 9.95 MSD
- 1 Premiere @ 6.95 MSD
- 1 Premiere Lifetime
- 1 S2 Lifetime
Thanks, that's one more clue to deciphering the "who can get lifetime on what for $99" riddle.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 08:18 AM   #12
cr33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Thanks, that's one more clue to deciphering the "who can get lifetime on what for $99" riddle.
Yeah, she didnt exactly say how it works, but she did mention a ratio of premieres on the acct.
cr33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 10:22 AM   #13
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 880
I had a S1 and S3, both on monthly sub.

I called TiVo to purchase a XL4; as part of that conversation, I asked the TiVo rep how much to convert the S3 to life time.
Answer: $99 no hesitation, no further qualification, etc.
On the anniversary of the S3 sub they billed my cc $99 and the product lifetime showed up in system info screen.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 10:50 AM   #14
cr33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
I had a S1 and S3, both on monthly sub.

I called TiVo to purchase a XL4; as part of that conversation, I asked the TiVo rep how much to convert the S3 to life time.
Answer: $99 no hesitation, no further qualification, etc.
On the anniversary of the S3 sub they billed my cc $99 and the product lifetime showed up in system info screen.

Yeah, I think I will call them back today, man, 4 lifetime subs and a XL4 lifetime thats some major coin But I will just resell all the 4 lifetime subs
cr33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 10:59 AM   #15
L David Matheny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr33p View Post
Yeah, I think I will call them back today, man, 4 lifetime subs and a XL4 lifetime thats some major coin But I will just resell all the 4 lifetime subs
You will make the new S3 owners very happy. By getting all those lifetime subscriptions, you're performing a service to humanity.
L David Matheny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 11:55 AM   #16
cr33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by L David Matheny View Post
You will make the new S3 owners very happy. By getting all those lifetime subscriptions, you're performing a service to humanity.
Funny!
cr33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 02:05 PM   #17
cr33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 644
Well, pulled the trigger, they can do 1 lifetime per legacy box for each premiere on your account, in my case I was able to purchase 3. Also picked up a XL4 with lifetime Super Stoked. Anyone need a liftetime Tivo ?
cr33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 02:33 PM   #18
NotNowChief
Addicted to TiVo
 
NotNowChief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York City Area
Posts: 283
Wow you're brave ! I'd be terrified to lay out that much!
__________________
Verizon FiOS
TiVo Premiere Elite
TiVo Mini TCDA92000 (Codename: UNICORN)
TiVo HDXL TCD658000
TiVo HD TCD652160 + WD 500GB Expander
Retired: Philips Series 1 HDR212 & TiVo Series 2 540080
NotNowChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 02:54 PM   #19
cr33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotNowChief View Post
Wow you're brave ! I'd be terrified to lay out that much!
I have an addiction to electronics, and anytime I want something I come up with these schemes, kinda like a drug dealer buying a large amount to sell and then cover their own habit
cr33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |