TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-28-2010, 10:20 PM   #1
macd2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 63
Tuning Adapter Issues

My Tivo and my tuning adapter seemed to have stopped talking.
Under TA diagnostics, Status summary: Status Ready.
Under DVR diagnostics: Tuning Adapter: Not available, Last status: Initializing

I've rebooted everything, and repeated guided setup.

Anything else I can try before calling Time Warner?
macd2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 10:26 PM   #2
Lrscpa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by macd2 View Post
My Tivo and my tuning adapter seemed to have stopped talking.
Under TA diagnostics, Status summary: Status Ready.
Under DVR diagnostics: Tuning Adapter: Not available, Last status: Initializing

I've rebooted everything, and repeated guided setup.

Anything else I can try before calling Time Warner?
Check connections especially the USB between the TA and the TiVo. The TA should have a solid green light - assuming it's a Cisco STA1520.
Lrscpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 10:31 PM   #3
macd2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 63
Tuning adapter has solid green light.
I can go to the TA Diagnostic screen and view all of the screens. The diagnostics connection is over USB, so the USB connection must be fine.
If I unplug the USB, the Tuning Adapter's LED starts to blink. When I plug it back in, the blinking stops, but Tivo does not give the "TA attached" pop-up, that I've seen before.
macd2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 10:45 PM   #4
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 6,070
Did you "reboot" the TA by removing power, not just hitting the button on the front?

Do you get some channels, just not the SDV channels?
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 10:48 PM   #5
macd2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfl View Post
Did you "reboot" the TA by removing power, not just hitting the button on the front?

Do you get some channels, just not the SDV channels?
I reboot by removing power.
I get most channels, missing only those (I assume) are SDV.
macd2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 09:04 AM   #6
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 6,070
Time to call TWC. When they schedule the inevitable truck roll pressure them to bring a new TA for substitution.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 10:02 AM   #7
Grumock
Registered User
 
Grumock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nowhere close to reality
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by macd2 View Post
I reboot by removing power.
I get most channels, missing only those (I assume) are SDV.
My advise is this: When you disconnect the USB are you getting a message saying that the TA is disconnected...? When you disconnected the USB you said you are getting the 6 blink light pattern. I would have you remove the USB & power for 15 seconds. Then reconnect the POWER ONLY & wait, the light will go solid for about 10-15 seconds & start flashing. It should basically turn into a turn signal pattern of flashing & will finally go solid after about 5 minutes or so. ONCE IT GOES SOLID then reconnect the USB cord & you should get the message that the TA has been connected to the DVR. At that time try your SDV channels.
__________________
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former."
Grumock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |