TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-26-2010, 03:33 PM   #1
Wingershute
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 93
Tivo Premiere to access internet

How about using Tivo Premiere for access to the internet? I'd like to be able to go on this website and others to post messages whenever I please. Is this possible? If not, can you explain why?
Wingershute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 03:37 PM   #2
aadam101
Future Prez of ABC
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 7,014
No you can't. Tivo hasn't even got the basics worked out in the Premiere yet. Remember the walled internet Garden that used to be AOL? Tivo is making the same mistake.
__________________
A passing grade? Like a C? Why don't I just get pregnant at a bus station!
aadam101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 05:28 PM   #3
ewilts
Who, me?
 
ewilts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mounds View, MN
Posts: 1,005
TiVo is a DVR. It has limited functionalities beyond that and some of it is buggy. The TiVo has VERY limited memory and a non-traditional CPU architecture. Putting a web browser on that platform would be non-trivial. It won't happen until after Google buys TiVo and merges GoogleTV and the TiVo DVR's functionalities.
ewilts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 05:32 PM   #4
TolloNodre
En Fuego
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wingershute View Post
If not, can you explain why?
WebTV.

If Microsoft failed at it, why would you repeat their mistake?
TolloNodre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 05:33 PM   #5
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
I think the Premiere could handle light internet browsing...




































...if you want to revert to using dial up speeds.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 05:39 PM   #6
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,113
Really, I think the biggest difficulty would be in adapting web browsers that are oriented to PC-style navigation to what's available on the TiVo, namely cursor keys (and now, QWERTY, but only if you have the right remote). There are already a few browsers that work that way, but you wouldn't like them.

The TiVo is underpowered, sure, but so are lots of devices that have browsers now.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 09:27 PM   #7
aadam101
Future Prez of ABC
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 7,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by TolloNodre View Post
WebTV.

If Microsoft failed at it, why would you repeat their mistake?
The internet is VERY different than it was in WebTV days.
__________________
A passing grade? Like a C? Why don't I just get pregnant at a bus station!
aadam101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 09:41 PM   #8
TolloNodre
En Fuego
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 563
Quote:
Originally Posted by aadam101 View Post
The internet is VERY different than it was in WebTV days.
But it still looks like crap on a TV. That hasn't changed one bit.

Which is why Apple doesn't have a browser on their device either.
TolloNodre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 09:48 PM   #9
WebHobbit
Hairy Little Mutant
 
WebHobbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 155
No it doesn't look crappy on modern HDTVs. It looked crappy before because SD sets ran what?- 320x240...maybe 640x480 for high-end ones?
WebHobbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 10:11 PM   #10
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by TolloNodre View Post
WebTV.

If Microsoft failed at it, why would you repeat their mistake?
From wikipedia, with a citation:
WebTV achieved profitability by Spring 1998, and grossed over US$1.3 billion in revenue through its first 8 years of operation. In 2005 WebTV was still grossing US$150 million per year in revenue with 65% gross margin.

So saying they failed is a bit wrong, IMHO.

(Though I do remember that a friend of mine brought a webTV to another friend's house and we all played with it for HOURS one night, even though we all had much better internet connections at work. It was fun to play with.. I certainly wasn't a user..)
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 10:45 PM   #11
aadam101
Future Prez of ABC
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 7,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by TolloNodre View Post
But it still looks like crap on a TV. That hasn't changed one bit.

Which is why Apple doesn't have a browser on their device either.
Until recently websites looked like crap on phones too. Now most websites have mobile versions that are optimized for phone viewing. The same will happen with internet on TV.
__________________
A passing grade? Like a C? Why don't I just get pregnant at a bus station!
aadam101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 11:10 PM   #12
WebHobbit
Hairy Little Mutant
 
WebHobbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 155
Except they don't need special versions for 1920x1080...there are still MANY MANY laptops being sold that run a LOT less rez than that.

Granted one does sit further away from the TV...but the font size adjust would fix that. Not ideal but good enough in a pinch for a quick IMDB look up or whatever.
WebHobbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 11:38 PM   #13
wisny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wingershute View Post
How about using Tivo Premiere for access to the internet? I'd like to be able to go on this website and others to post messages whenever I please. Is this possible? If not, can you explain why?

The Premiere needs Google TV IA, it would be useful to access the web from TV.
wisny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 10:56 AM   #14
ZeoTiVo
I can't explain
 
ZeoTiVo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 25,523
if there is no mouse then I have no interest in a browser on my TV.

A facebook client that is all about reading your wall and maybe replying via QWERTY keyboard would be a cool feature but not exactly a key selling point for a DVR.
__________________
You just need to disable your sense of shame for all humanity and click past the break
ZeoTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 12:26 PM   #15
smbaker
Registered User
 
smbaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 15,940
I see no reason why it's not doable. However, Tivo doesn't produce browsers. This is one place where google has a head start since they already produce chrome (I think we can see some google long-term strategy in play here).

The best we'd end up with is something crappy like the sony browser on the playstation. As others have pointed out, cursor navigation is not pleasant on a browser, so add a bluetooth mouse.

I tried a google TV with chrome browser at best buy last week, the appearance was acceptable. It wasn't like the old days when TV-based browsers showed simplified views of web pages. It was a full-functional browser that works fine on a high-definition flat screen.
smbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 06:21 PM   #16
TolloNodre
En Fuego
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 563
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
From wikipedia, with a citation:
WebTV achieved profitability by Spring 1998, and grossed over US$1.3 billion in revenue through its first 8 years of operation. In 2005 WebTV was still grossing US$150 million per year in revenue with 65% gross margin.

So saying they failed is a bit wrong, IMHO.
Well, the fact that they shut it down to new subscribers is why it is a failure. You don't do that to a successful, growing business.

The high margins just means low overhead since it's basically just the cost of keeping the servers humming for those still willing to pay.
TolloNodre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |