TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2011, 08:11 PM   #1
gregnash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 21
Explore this Program and Tivo Desktop?

So I have just recently started having this issue with my Tivo HD and Tivo Desktop for the Mac. I will record a show but for some reason I am not able to either A) transfer to my Tivo Premiere in my bedroom, or B) transfer to my Mac using Tivo Desktop. All Tivo's and the iMac are up to date as well as is Tivo Desktop.

When going into one the Premiere or Desktop I get the same "circle with line through it" and it does not even allow me to try and transfer. There doesnt seem to be a particular culprit, i.e. only HD channels or only premium channels, so I am a bit lost on this one.

Anyone run into this recently?
gregnash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:15 PM   #2
Tico
Bear Down Cats!!!!!
 
Tico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 286
It means your cable Co has changed the CCI (Copy Protection) byte of that program to not allow copies or transfers.

They can do this to any channels except broadcast ones, NBC, CBS, ABD Fox, etc
__________________
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 9/27/2010 (Bad Cap PS replaced 12/12)
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 5/14/12
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 11/26/12
Series3 OLED STA1520 TA Activated 9/21/06
Tico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:19 PM   #3
Tico
Bear Down Cats!!!!!
 
Tico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 286
From the TivoHD sticky

Quote:
Help! Many of my channels are copy-protected and will not allow me to download.

Most cable companies only copy-protect premium cable channels like HBO, Showtime, etc. However, if you have Brighthouse, Time Warner, or one of the few cable companies that copy-protects most digital cable channels, there is not much you can do about that.

FCC mandate permits cable companies to apply copy protection (CCI 0x02) -- preventing downloads -- on any channel outside of the limited basic tier. This is typically an independent decision by the cable company, but it can also be done at the request of the content provider, some of whom now want copy protection as part of the contract renewal for their channel(s).

Cable companies are not permitted to copy-protect local channels. If you are not able to download a recording from a local channel, you should contact your cable provider to have them correct the problem. Tell them they are using a CCI value of 0x02 on their local channels that prevents copying, in violation of federal law.

__________________
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 9/27/2010 (Bad Cap PS replaced 12/12)
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 5/14/12
Premiere STA1520 TA Activated 11/26/12
Series3 OLED STA1520 TA Activated 9/21/06
Tico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 10:26 PM   #4
gregnash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 21
Ah bummer, that makes sense. Oh well guess that splats that... Thanks for the info..
gregnash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |