TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Forum Jump

Old 09-30-2010, 01:41 AM   #1
justliloleme

Tivo and Dish Network

Can I use Tivo Premiere and Dish Network? If so, how?

If so, do I still have to use the Dish network receivers or do I just use a cablecard from Dish?

Thanks in advance!

(I'm a newbie at Tivo but am somewhat gadget-tech friendly
justliloleme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 02:33 AM   #2
caddyroger

No a premiere can not be used with dish network. It only can be used for cable and over the air.
Old 09-30-2010, 03:23 AM   #3
justliloleme

Quote:
Originally Posted by caddyroger View Post
No a premiere can not be used with dish network. It only can be used for cable and over the air.
Why is that, exactly?

Not being argumentative-- I am really trying to understand why.

Thanks!
Old 09-30-2010, 04:39 AM   #4
caddyroger

Quote:
Originally Posted by justliloleme View Post
Why is that, exactly?

Not being argumentative-- I am really trying to understand why.

Thanks!
Cable, satellite and over the air uses different signals. The Tivo can only work on cable and over the air signals. I think Tivo is not allowed to use Dish or Directv signals.
Old 09-30-2010, 04:39 AM   #5
Series3Sub

Both sat companies use incompatible technologies than the CableLabs standard used by cable TV systems all over the countries. Also, NONE of TiVo's Hif-Def boxes (no cable or sat DVR's, either, including Moxi) have any inputs that would make possible for them to record from an external box like Series 2 did.