TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-2011, 09:27 PM   #1321
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soapm View Post
Just depends on how you read it. I call it honest.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...71#post8760071
Since you used WinMFS to do something that the documentation explicitly says it cannot do and never claimed it could do and, surprise, surprise, had a problem, I call it disingenuous.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 09:33 PM   #1322
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
That statement is a bit misleading, don't you think?
Don't you have to be able to figure out what it says before you can be misled by it?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 10:47 PM   #1323
steffen707
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
We aren't talking about Windows or WinMFS screwing up an S3 HD drive, we're talking about the Premiere (Series 4).

We don't know yet why it screws it up, but it does.

You've been warned.

If you don't have another drive from the same model S4 to do a byte for byte overwrite of the screwed up drive with, there's no cure.
Gotcha, thanks for the warning. I have an S3 HD but when I upgrade to Premiere I'll remember this.
steffen707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 11:14 PM   #1324
Soapm
Registered User
 
Soapm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So close, yet too far away
Posts: 1,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
Since you used WinMFS to do something that the documentation explicitly says it cannot do and never claimed it could do and, surprise, surprise, had a problem, I call it disingenuous.
Correct, hence my honest point about heading warnings...

I was just giving you an AMEN...
Soapm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 11:16 PM   #1325
Soapm
Registered User
 
Soapm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So close, yet too far away
Posts: 1,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Don't you have to be able to figure out what it says before you can be misled by it?
OUCH!!! Now that's hitting below the belt...
Soapm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 03:23 PM   #1326
cherry99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Free 14 day trial with a new hard drive

I use Tivo for OTA only.

I remember when I started using my brand new Tivo it gave me 14 days of full functionality including Program Guide even though it was unsubscribed. After 14 days the Program Guide was no longer available.

The question: will I get another 14 days with program guide if I load a virgin Hard Drive image taken from the same unit before it was even turned on?

Will it behave as brand new or the unit is marked/flagged somewhere in the firmware or on Tivo servers?
cherry99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 03:41 PM   #1327
dwit
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,652
Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry99 View Post
I use Tivo for OTA only.

I remember when I started using my brand new Tivo it gave me 14 days of full functionality including Program Guide even though it was unsubscribed. After 14 days the Program Guide was no longer available.

The question: will I get another 14 days with program guide if I load a virgin Hard Drive image taken from the same unit before it was even turned on?

Will it behave as brand new or the unit is marked/flagged somewhere in the firmware or on Tivo servers?
No. Whenever your Premiere connects to the Tivo servers, before any programming is downloaded, the subscription status is checked against the info the server has on your units TSN(id #). No subscription, no programming download.

All brand new Tivos get a free trial, 7 day period of (almost)full functionality, including full guide programming. If paid service is not activated by the 7th day, the full functionality is shut off.

Only one free trial per Tivo, regardless what you do to it. The servers know that your TSN# has used it's free trial period.
__________________
Tivo HD Lifetime 1TB int, 1TB ext
Tivo 540040 400 GB Lifetime
Tivo S2DT 750 GB msd
Toshiba sdh400 r.i.p.
dwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 04:19 PM   #1328
cherry99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwit View Post
No. Whenever your Premiere connects to the Tivo servers, before any programming is downloaded, the subscription status is checked against the info the server has on your units TSN(id #). No subscription, no programming download.

All brand new Tivos get a free trial, 7 day period of (almost)full functionality, including full guide programming. If paid service is not activated by the 7th day, the full functionality is shut off.

Only one free trial per Tivo, regardless what you do to it. The servers know that your TSN# has used it's free trial period.
Thanks for clarifying this.
cherry99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 08:50 PM   #1329
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,066
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwit View Post
No. Whenever your Premiere connects to the Tivo servers, before any programming is downloaded, the subscription status is checked against the info the server has on your units TSN(id #). No subscription, no programming download.

All brand new Tivos get a free trial, 7 day period of (almost)full functionality, including full guide programming. If paid service is not activated by the 7th day, the full functionality is shut off.

Only one free trial per Tivo, regardless what you do to it. The servers know that your TSN# has used it's free trial period.
You one free trial statement is not 100% true, on an older TiVo if you xfer the Lifetime Service off one TiVo to another, the now unactivated TiVo will get another free 7 days, but few people outside of Weeknee know about this as it has little practical use.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 10:21 PM   #1330
roberte94066
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: calif
Posts: 16
On another note, I find it interesting that a Premiere with an expanded drive will still try to install an external drive and will show "no external drive attached" in status reports. I only mention this because my understanding from postings here was that the expanded partitions where viewed as an external section by Tivo.
roberte94066 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 01:12 PM   #1331
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
WDIdle3 and USB

Ok, I'm a seasoned WINMFS user but haven't tried JMFS yet. I do have a new Premiere so guess I need to bite the bullet sometime and give it a try. I usually use USB to SATA adapters instead of cracking open the PC but I've read here that WDIdle3, as a DOS program, won't recognize a USB adapter. My question: Has anyone tried using any of the DOS/USB Driver methods on the web to get around this issue? For instance, check out this website:

www.bootdisk.com/usb.htm
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 01:49 PM   #1332
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,322
I hope anyone planning on doing a drive upgrade/replacement has already purchased the new drive. Due to the floods in Thailand, prices have more than doubled recently.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 01:49 PM   #1333
ThreeSoFar
FourNow...WaitFive
 
ThreeSoFar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 5,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
Ok, I'm a seasoned WINMFS user but haven't tried JMFS yet. I do have a new Premiere so guess I need to bite the bullet sometime and give it a try. I usually use USB to SATA adapters instead of cracking open the PC but I've read here that WDIdle3, as a DOS program, won't recognize a USB adapter. My question: Has anyone tried using any of the DOS/USB Driver methods on the web to get around this issue? For instance, check out this website:

www.bootdisk.com/usb.htm
JMFS is trivially easy to use. I'd say ignore the wdidle3 issue at first, proceed with your dupe and give it a shot in your Premiere. Try a soft reboot a few times to see if it fails, if it does then you need to go down the WDIdle3 route, if not you don't. Even if the soft boot fails, you'll have full use of your TiVo if you hard boot until the next update/soft boot.
ThreeSoFar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 10:31 PM   #1334
rcliff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 175
Big Grin Success

I've been doing upgrading my tivos since I made some crude custom bracket for my Series 1 Sony and added 2x 120GB drives and ran some cryptic linux tools. That was a pain. When I first saw this thread, I thought JMFS might be a hassle but this was the easiest upgrade yet. Very clear guided setup with confirmations all along the way makes this pretty much idiot proof. Only downside is that it takes a couple of hours vs the truncated backup/restore with Winmfs for Series 3 tivos. Much thanks to Comer and anyone else involved in this project
rcliff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 11:38 AM   #1335
gardavis
Registered User
 
gardavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Deerfield Beach, FL USA
Posts: 140
The links to the jmfs software at the beginning of this thread do not work. The MediaFire link seems not to find it and the mirror link goes to a web site that no longer exists.

Someome reported this to me since my tutorial and youtube reference this post. I'd like to update the links to keep them fresh.

Thanks,
Gary Davis
---

The Definitive Guide to Upgrading Your Tivo Premiere - Part I
You need to upgrade your Flash Player
- Part I

The Definitive Guide to Upgrading Your Tivo Premiere - Part II
You need to upgrade your Flash Player
- Part II
http://diyclinic.webguild.com/ProjectTivoUpgrade.aspx - Tutorial
gardavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 12:29 PM   #1336
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
FWIW, the "previous" link in the OP still seems to work...

http://www.mediafire.com/?znr8p1h4uyn1v

ETA: Didn't realize that just has the older version.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 12:30 PM   #1337
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by gardavis View Post
The links to the jmfs software at the beginning of this thread do not work. The MediaFire link seems not to find it and the mirror link goes to a web site that no longer exists.

Someome reported this to me since my tutorial and youtube reference this post. I'd like to update the links to keep them fresh.

Thanks,
Gary Davis
---

The Definitive Guide to Upgrading Your Tivo Premiere - Part I
You need to upgrade your Flash Player
- Part I

The Definitive Guide to Upgrading Your Tivo Premiere - Part II
You need to upgrade your Flash Player
- Part II
http://diyclinic.webguild.com/ProjectTivoUpgrade.aspx - Tutorial
I just noticed this myself.

The mediafire link for rev68 still works, but not the mirror, and the mediafire link and the mirror for rev104 both do not work.

Anybody know anywhere else rev104 is downloadable from?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 06:15 PM   #1338
Stuxnet
Alien Infidel
 
Stuxnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 356
Here's jmfs104 (link good for 30 days)
Stuxnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 06:20 PM   #1339
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuxnet View Post
Here's jmfs104 (link good for 30 days)
Much grass!

For those wondering what a .7z file is, go here

http://www.7-zip.org/

and get the thing to unzip it with.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 01:59 AM   #1340
jonapt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 22
You can download copies of JMFS 10.4 from:

http://cnunix.com/ftp/TiVo/jmfs-rev104.iso.zip

http://www.rosswalker.co.uk/tivo_upg...mfs-rev104.iso
jonapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 01:15 PM   #1341
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Looking for non-DOS version of WDIDLE3

Found this site when I was hunting around. Looks like he provides not only the utility but the Linux source code as well. Unfortunately, I'm not a Linux guy. Anyone willing to incorporate this into JMFS?

http://idle3-tools.sourceforge.net/
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 06:50 PM   #1342
Stuxnet
Alien Infidel
 
Stuxnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 356
Hiren's BootCD has WDIDLE3 built-in. Have you tried that?
Stuxnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 07:34 PM   #1343
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuxnet View Post
Hiren's BootCD has WDIDLE3 built-in. Have you tried that?
No I haven't, but I'm assuming that it still boots into DOS and would not recognize a USB to IDE/SATA cable. Technically, what I need is to have a version of WDIDLE that I can use with a laptop. Even when I use my desktop I never crack open the PC case. I always use a USB to IDE/SATA cable and have successfully done so with the laptop as well. To be honest, I haven't used JMFS yet but have used WINMFS and MFSTools to image S1, S2, and S3HD drives. If I ever use JMFS I will do the copy using two USB cables even though it will take much longer. I'm assuming that it will work that way because I've used them to do a disk-to-disk copy with WINMFS before.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 08:45 PM   #1344
Stuxnet
Alien Infidel
 
Stuxnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
No I haven't, but I'm assuming that it still boots into DOS and would not recognize a USB to IDE/SATA cable. Technically, what I need is to have a version of WDIDLE that I can use with a laptop. Even when I use my desktop I never crack open the PC case. I always use a USB to IDE/SATA cable and have successfully done so with the laptop as well. To be honest, I haven't used JMFS yet but have used WINMFS and MFSTools to image S1, S2, and S3HD drives. If I ever use JMFS I will do the copy using two USB cables even though it will take much longer. I'm assuming that it will work that way because I've used them to do a disk-to-disk copy with WINMFS before.
There's a chance you might not need WDIDLE3. But you won't know for sure until you install the new drive.

I had a similar problem with USB/SATA adaptors... JMFS couldn't see my TiVo drive, so I had to open up a desktop and "borrow" the CD/DVD and HDD SATA cables, and run JMFS from a thumb drive.

BTW... you tag line dates you a bit, lol.
_______
if you want to be a bird...
Stuxnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 08:53 PM   #1345
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuxnet View Post
...
BTW... you tag line dates you a bit, lol.
_______
if you want to be a bird...
Like the lady said about the future, either live it, or live with it!
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 10:42 AM   #1346
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuxnet View Post
BTW... you tag line dates you a bit, lol.
_______
if you want to be a bird...
Hey, I'm old, and I don't care who knows about it. Young whippersnappers....
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 11:04 AM   #1347
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
Hey, I'm old, and I don't care who knows about it. Young whippersnappers....
Did you at least learn 3 mew words in Turkish today?
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 06:12 PM   #1348
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
Did you at least learn 3 mew words in Turkish today?
Ben bizim tüm bu otobüsteki Bozos olduğumuzu sanırım.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 06:58 PM   #1349
weinberk
Confirmed Doofis
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NYC Metro Area
Posts: 29
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by kturcotte View Post
All right, I must have screwed something up. Everything's hooked up to the computer correctly. Both hard drives spin up, and the BIOS sees them. With the disc in, it does boot, and I do get the top row of Penguins. But then I get this message:

Fatal Error occurred-JAVAMFS Data not found. You are maybe using an unsupported boot device (eg. SCSI or old PCMCIA). Workaround: Copy the directory JAVAMFS from your boot device to an IDE/SATA disk, eg. to /mnt/hda1/javamfs or c:\javamfs. Then try to boot again.

Everything is SATA. Nothing is SCSI. No RAID or anything. What am I doing wrong?
Hmm, I'm getting the JavaMFS Data not found error too. I've burned the iso to cd, also put it on a bootable USB drive. I've tried in 2 different PC's too. I even tried using the "previous" version, no luck there, same error.



I'm really just trying to copy an existing 750gb drive from my Premier to another. I'm not planning on expanding or anything like that.

I've searched everywhere, but all I've found is reference to this thread. Any ideas? Thanks.
__________________
dtivo lover since 2000 (T60. series 2, HD)
Then two TiVo HD's on comcast.
now on a pair of premiers on comcast
weinberk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 12:18 PM   #1350
roberte94066
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: calif
Posts: 16
turkish

bath, towel, passport. May I see your passport, please?
roberte94066 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |