TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2013, 07:35 PM   #1
az1097
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 74
Upgrading a series 5 Roamio

I'd like to know which drive is the best one to use for upgrading the Roamio, WD30EURS or WD30EURX or any other, just looking for the BEST.
Also can a 4TB drive be used instead?
Thanks.
az1097 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 08:48 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,899
Either should work fine, as long as its a Green, AV drive. 3TB is the limit so far.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 11:46 AM   #3
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,066
Quote:
Originally Posted by az1097 View Post
I'd like to know which drive is the best one to use for upgrading the Roamio, WD30EURS or WD30EURX or any other, just looking for the BEST.
Also can a 4TB drive be used instead?
Thanks.
I have used both the green and red WD drives and if there is any difference I can't tell, maybe one will last longer than the other, but without a long term study we will never know, and at the end of such a long term study the models will have changed, any WD green drive will do the job, just get the best price for the size drive you want, as stated 3Tb is for now the biggest DIY drive that can be used.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 01:37 PM   #4
az1097
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 74
Anything new since last post?

Does the WD30EURX have a newer version now and is it now possible to use a larger than a 3TB drive by just replacing the original?
az1097 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 03:55 PM   #5
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,044
3TB is still the limit AFAIK using the factory software.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 06:56 PM   #6
jmbach
Registered User
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 834
Quote:
Originally Posted by az1097 View Post
I'd like to know which drive is the best one to use for upgrading the Roamio, WD30EURS or WD30EURX or any other, just looking for the BEST.
Also can a 4TB drive be used instead?
Thanks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by az1097 View Post
Does the WD30EURX have a newer version now and is it now possible to use a larger than a 3TB drive by just replacing the original?
You can go as high as 4TB if you use a computer to prep the drive first. It is fairly easy. The link is here if you are interested.
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |