TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Forum Jump

Old 05-24-2010, 08:53 AM   #1
jaywtivo

Understanding QAM Mapping on Premeire

I consider myself an amateur TV geek. I would say I know more than joe public, but I'm not an engineer.

Just as soon as I think I figured out QAM/ATSC crap, I buy a TiVo.

So why does my cheap WalMart TV with no CableCard and a QAM tuner, map the cable channels I receive differently than my Tivo. (THE TV is not decrypting any channels, just displaying Clear QAM straight from the wire.)

For instance:
Local Digital Channel 2 on my TV is at 202
On my TiVo, its 233, but wait on my HDHomeRun it's got a Tuner Channel, and a guide channel and neither are the same...

Tuner: 81-2 Guide: 234

Can someone please explain to me how this works?
jaywtivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 10:05 AM   #2
LoREvanescence

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaywtivo View Post
I consider myself an amateur TV geek. I would say I know more than joe public, but I'm not an engineer.

Just as soon as I think I figured out QAM/ATSC crap, I buy a TiVo.

So why does my cheap WalMart TV with no CableCard and a QAM tuner, map the cable channels I receive differently than my Tivo. (THE TV is not decrypting any channels, just displaying Clear QAM straight from the wire.)

For instance:
Local Digital Channel 2 on my TV is at 202
On my TiVo, its 233, but wait on my HDHomeRun it's got a Tuner Channel, and a guide channel and neither are the same...

Tuner: 81-2 Guide: 234

Can someone please explain to me how this works?
The tuner channel, 81-2 is where the channel is actually located on the cable system.