TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2009, 10:34 PM   #1
whyt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
CableOne and HD TiVo

I live in Boise, Idaho and have CableOne basic service. I got a new HD TiVo box for Christmas. CableOne tells me that, sure, I can use TiVo with Cableone, but besides having to rent a cable card for $3 a month, I MUST subscribe to their DVR service in order to receive HD. They tell me they used to sell HD capability and DVR capability separately, but "people didn't want that" and now you can only get HD if you ditch TiVo and subscribe to their DVR service for a bundled price of $23.50 a month. Does this sound true to you guys?
whyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 12:19 AM   #2
tiassa
Me --Avatar
 
tiassa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by whyt View Post
I live in Boise, Idaho and have CableOne basic service. I got a new HD TiVo box for Christmas. CableOne tells me that, sure, I can use TiVo with Cableone, but besides having to rent a cable card for $3 a month, I MUST subscribe to their DVR service in order to receive HD. They tell me they used to sell HD capability and DVR capability separately, but "people didn't want that" and now you can only get HD if you ditch TiVo and subscribe to their DVR service for a bundled price of $23.50 a month. Does this sound true to you guys?
Ask them what the cost would be if you had an HD TV that uses Cable Cards, ask them if they would charge you for a DVR in that case.

Also it might be (if all they are all analog cable) that you can get everything you want without a Cable card. Try hooking the THD up to your cable and see what you get.
tiassa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 01:01 AM   #3
darius98277
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Cable One

I live in Caldwell and just upgraded from a series 2 to a HDXL TIVO. I just have standard (basic) cable and I just hooked uo the TIVO to the cable.

I do wish that TIVo would recogmise the QAM channels. I can get HD TV for the networks on out tv's but the TIVO will not work on those channels. (89.455. 89.460, 89.465, 100.485, and 90.475.)
darius98277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 08:44 AM   #4
CrispyCritter
Purple Ribbon Wearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by whyt View Post
I live in Boise, Idaho and have CableOne basic service. I got a new HD TiVo box for Christmas. CableOne tells me that, sure, I can use TiVo with Cableone, but besides having to rent a cable card for $3 a month, I MUST subscribe to their DVR service in order to receive HD. They tell me they used to sell HD capability and DVR capability separately, but "people didn't want that" and now you can only get HD if you ditch TiVo and subscribe to their DVR service for a bundled price of $23.50 a month. Does this sound true to you guys?
No, that's not reasonable at all, and would not be acceptable for the big cable systems.

You can also try telling them that all you want is the cable card - that may give you HD by itself. All this may be a misunderstanding by either the rep or the franchise as to their billing practices (they don't have anything labeled HD in their billing except their DVR service), so they insist on billing you for that even though it's not needed.

As has been said, charging you for DVR service when you don't have their DVR and just need a cable card is something the FCC wouldn't like. You should eventually win your fight by going to the FCC if needed.
__________________
CrispyCritter
TiVo Roamio:Felix TiVo Premiere:Bob TiVo XL4:Fred TiVo HDXL:Sharon TiVoHD:Susan
CrispyCritter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 04:46 PM   #5
justen_m
Registered User
 
justen_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boise Idaho
Posts: 6,550
I have extended basic from CableOne in Boise. I just plug the coax cable into the back of my TivoHD, and it records all the analog cable channels fine (and they are all auto-detected via guided setup). For HD content, I only have OTA - a cheap external antenna hooked up via coax cable too. I live about 5 miles west of the capitol building, and I get 18 or 19 digital channels over the air with a $10 antenna. There is one HD CBS, ABC, NBC, FOX, PBS, and CW channel, all the rest of the digital OTA channels are SD.

Are you sure it was actually the DVR service you must subscribe too and not just an upgrade to their digital package? I thought you must upgrade from analog-only basic or extended basic to the CableOne digital package to receive any HD content or premium channels like HBO or Showtime. Hence, the large price increase isn't for the DVR, it is for their digital service which probably happens to include a DVR, some extra channels, etc.

Anyway, if you give it a shot, report back with your results.
justen_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 04:52 PM   #6
justen_m
Registered User
 
justen_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boise Idaho
Posts: 6,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiassa View Post
Also it might be (if all they are all analog cable) that you can get everything you want without a Cable card. Try hooking the THD up to your cable and see what you get.
You can. I've got my extended basic, analog-only, CableOne coax cable split and fed into my TivoHD and S2DT and both work fine, albeit in SD. The TivoHD has another coax input for an external antenna, which picks up OTA HD for the networks. I don't have any cablecards.

For HD from CableOne, you must upgrade to digital.
justen_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |