TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2011, 11:54 PM   #1
rwmair
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
R10 and flickering color problem

One of our R10 units is starting to have the problem of flickering color or BW color more and more often. It started a year or two back, very occasionally, but is now becoming a near-daily phenomenon.

I've searched the forum, and found lots of posts about this from 3-4 years ago. Mostly, it was blamed on software 6.3e and troubles that caused with reboots. It doesn't seem to have been reported much in recent time - maybe no-one else has R10's anymore?

The unit is running 6.4a. Its connected to the TV with RCA/composite cables. Haven't tried S-video here, but I may be able to (altho it seems like the problem was most often seen with S-video). Sometimes, just switching the RCA plugs from video-out-1 to video-out-2 on the back of the R10 has solved the problem. Other times, this has no effect.

Is anyone else still seeing this with older units in this day and age? Any other solutions? Toggling the Pause button doesn't do much. Rebooting cures it, but is tiring when it has to be done nearly every day, and we only want the TV on for 10-15 mins at a time!

Thanks
rwmair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 01:23 AM   #2
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 12,015
Could it be your TV?
__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.5b)
HR20-700, HR20-100, HR21-200 HD DVR
AM21
HR10-250 HD DVR 400GB (v6.4a)
H21-200 HD Receiver
R10 DVR 160GB (v6.4a)
litzdog911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 07:05 AM   #3
rwmair
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by litzdog911 View Post
Could it be your TV?
Could it be the TV if it only effects one input? I have two coaxial feeds and a DVD player also connected to this TV, and they're all fine - no color flickering. Could the RCA inputs on the TV go bad?

Guess I'll try moving things around at the back of the TV. Thanks!

Last edited by rwmair : 01-12-2011 at 11:06 AM.
rwmair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 12:27 PM   #4
snickerrrrs
Tech-no Guide
 
snickerrrrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 243
Note Used to happen to me...

I can't remember exactly, but I though it had something to do with svideo and or rca connectors (I used to run both, rca to the vcr). Try different cable combinations and see if that works. I could usually go to the Directv menu and bring the color back. Worst case scenario required a reboot. I haven't seen this problem in several years now. Try doing a search for R10 tuner failing.
__________________
How 'bout...a nice greasy pork sandwich served in a dirty ashtray?

1-R10 500GB 6.4a
1-SDDVR40 250GB 6.4a
1-HR10-250 1.5TB 6.4a
1-Premier (not activated)
1-Humax DRT800 8.1 (mothballed)
snickerrrrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |