TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Forum Jump

Old 11-21-2009, 08:35 AM   #1
wighty
Wighty

Question TiVo HD = Series 3?

As a TiVo newb I'm a bit puzzled by the term "series 3". I just installed a TiVo HD DVR and looked for a forum here dealing with that unit. However, I did not find one. The closest I could come to it was the Series 3 forum.

Is a TiVo HD DVR the same as a Series 3 DVR? If so, why isn't the forum title TiVo HD DVR?

I checked TiVo's website for the term Series 3, and could not find it there. I did find the terms Series 2, HD & HD XL. So again I ask (because I don't know), where did the term series 3 com from....
wighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 08:45 AM   #2
orangeboy
yes, I AM orangeboy!

Tivo manufactured the original Series 3 for a (relatively) short time:

The Tivo HD and HDXL are a part of the Series 3 family:

There are some differences between the models including CableCARD requirements, hard disk drive sizes, front displays, and THX certifications. I think the common uniting feature is supporting High Definition. There are other TCF members (bkdtv immediately springs to mind) that could detail the differences a lot better than I can.
orangeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 09:12 AM   #3
jjberger2134

Specifically, some of the most widely discussed differences between a TiVo S3 and a TiVoHD are:

S3 shows the name of both programs that is being recorded on the front panel, the TiVoHD only shows a red recording light for each tuner.

S3 and TiVoHDXL is THX certified, the TiVoHD is not.

S3 and TiVoHDXL has a remote with a backlight, TiVoHD does not.

S3 only supports S type CableCards, the TiVoHD and XL support both S and M cards.