TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-29-2009, 12:46 PM   #1
c-collins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Brick, NJ
Posts: 38
suggested handbrake settings for pytivo .mp4 files?

I am looking for suggested settings for Handbrake to encode my DVD and Blu-Ray collection to .mp4

The display will be a 52 inch LCD TV.
I have seen all kinds of suggestions from 700MB file sizes to bit rates of 5000
Looking for that sweetspot in the handbrake settings between file size and quality. I am not worried about encoding times.

I am currently using the handbrake GUI so what do you guys recommend?
c-collins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 04:26 PM   #2
ic3man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
I am also looking for recommendations on the recommended handbrake settings.

Does PYtivo convert these to mpeg 2 on the fly or does it keep it mpeg 4 ?



I have been using mactheripper then converting the videots files to one big mpeg with mpegstreamclip.
ic3man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 06:42 AM   #3
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,916
For DVD, handbrake works fine. Use AC3 passthrough for the audio and xxxX480 resolution, strict anamorphic, h264 encoding and an mp4 container.

For BluRay, Handbrake does not work so well as it cannot encode the proper AC3 audio at 448kbps. I would suggest using MeGUI instead which can handle both but the learning curve is a bit more involved.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 02:04 PM   #4
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by ic3man View Post
Does PYtivo convert these to mpeg 2 on the fly or does it keep it mpeg 4 ?
Yes.

That is to say, they get converted on pulls, but they won't on pushes to a S3/HD, if they conform to the required format, which is h.264 video / ac3 or aac audio / mp4 mux. See here for more.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |