TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2009, 07:20 PM   #1
rick4523
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: dallas
Posts: 61
HD over the air channel guide?

Question,

I do not have guide data for any of my HD channels. What do I do with this? I can get channel guide info for 5 (non -hd) but not 5-1 - any ideas? If not, then tv is useless with over the air HD broadcasts. I talked to TV and the "tech rep" told me that was the case, that "hd channles over the air, don't work with Tivo HD." ha,ha. what?!!?

Can anyone out there help me to get this to work correctly? Surely there is a way.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tivo HD
Series 2 80 hour
rick4523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 07:21 PM   #2
bkdtv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 7,902
On your TiVoHD, did you run (or re-run) guided detup and select Antenna (or Cable + Antenna)? You've got to do that to get program information for OTA HD channels.

Once you've run guided setup, be sure to enable (check) all the channels you want under Settings -> Channels -> Channel List.
bkdtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 07:23 PM   #3
rick4523
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: dallas
Posts: 61
re-run the guided set up? Why would I need to re-run it? It would be the same as when I the guided set up today when I bought it wouldn't it?

Can someone verify that the HD over the air channels do recieve program guide data? Tivo is telling me it doesn't.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tivo HD
Series 2 80 hour
rick4523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 07:26 PM   #4
bkdtv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 7,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by rick4523 View Post
re-run the guided set up? Why would I need to re-run it? It would be the same as when I the guided set up today when I bought it wouldn't it?
You selected antenna when you ran setup, right? If you select cable only, you won't get program information on OTA channels.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rick4523 View Post
Can someone verify that the HD over the air channels do recieve program guide data? Tivo is telling me it doesn't.
Yes, they do. Every OTA channel (SD and HD) should have guide data.

If you just ran guided setup for the first time, it may take a few hours for guide data to appear on all channels. For the first 48-72 hours after setup, the TiVo indexes all the guide data in the background. See the Using TiVo link in my signature for more information.
bkdtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 07:29 PM   #5
rick4523
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: dallas
Posts: 61
Yelp I did...what is weird is the guide info shows up for the non-hd channels, but not the rebroadcast ed hd ones. (so I get it for 5, but not 5-1) 5=nbc 5-1 = nbc hd....

It just says there is no info for the hd ones. and Tivo is saying the same.

ARe you 100% certain the hd channels get program guide info ota?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tivo HD
Series 2 80 hour
rick4523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 07:30 PM   #6
bkdtv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 7,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by rick4523 View Post
ARe you 100% certain the hd channels get program guide info ota?
The TiVo does not get program information over-the-airwaves. It supplies program information for OTA SD and HD channels. You should see an extended version of the information on Zap2it.com.

I've been using OTA on my TivoHD for the past 18 months. Every OTA HD and SD channel has guide data.


Click for larger version.

I would suggest you force another connection to download more guide data under Settings -> Phone & Network. But guide data won't update instantly. To reiterate, if you just ran guided setup for the first time, you may not see program information on some channels for 2-3 hours.

If you still don't have guide information on all your OTA HD channels in 12 hours, I would re-run guided setup again and use another zip code instead, such as the zip for a local affiliate. Although very rare, it is possible for a lineup to be bugged for a particular zip code.

Last edited by bkdtv : 05-16-2009 at 07:46 PM.
bkdtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 08:01 PM   #7
ewilts
Who, me?
 
ewilts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mounds View, MN
Posts: 1,005
I'm hoping that you are not confusing the OTA ATSC channels with the clear QAM signals. The TiVo will not get guide data for the clear QAM signals.

The other thing to check is to go to the "channels I receive" menu and make sure that 5-1 and the rest are selected. If not, you won't get guide data.
ewilts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 08:44 PM   #8
rick4523
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: dallas
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdtv View Post
The TiVo does not get program information over-the-airwaves. It supplies program information for OTA SD and HD channels. You should see an extended version of the information on Zap2it.com.

I've been using OTA on my TivoHD for the past 18 months. Every OTA HD and SD channel has guide data.


Click for larger version.

I would suggest you force another connection to download more guide data under Settings -> Phone & Network. But guide data won't update instantly. To reiterate, if you just ran guided setup for the first time, you may not see program information on some channels for 2-3 hours.

If you still don't have guide information on all your OTA HD channels in 12 hours, I would re-run guided setup again and use another zip code instead, such as the zip for a local affiliate. Although very rare, it is possible for a lineup to be bugged for a particular zip code.
Hey thanks! that worked great!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tivo HD
Series 2 80 hour
rick4523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |