TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-20-2013, 02:06 PM   #1
mlaw8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
MoCA setup issue

I'm in the middle of trying to get MoCA setup in my home which has Comcast Cable/Internet using Verizion MI424WR's. I followed instructions on Avsforum and have the units configured and working with coax when directly connected to each other. When I attempt to move them to in between the cable modem and router and to my desired upstairs location I am running into an issue. I get a blinking Lan Coax light on both units but soon there after I'm losing my Internet connection on the Cable Modem (Linksys BECMFU10). Any ideas what could be causing this? I don't have filters included in the setup...could these be needed/help rectify the problem with the cable modem? Thanks in advance.
mlaw8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 06:47 PM   #2
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,405
Can you describe or link to the exact coax/ethernet setup you're using at the router and modem for the primary verizon unit? Is it just a coax splitter with one leg going to the modem and the other to the moca box? Filters might help but we don't want to overlook something in the setup.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 09:21 PM   #3
mlaw8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
Can you describe or link to the exact coax/ethernet setup you're using at the router and modem for the primary verizon unit? Is it just a coax splitter with one leg going to the modem and the other to the moca box? Filters might help but we don't want to overlook something in the setup.
Does this help? If not, let me know what I else I can provide to help diagnose...appreciate it.

Cable line split by a Ideal 2 way 5Hhz - 2.3GHz splitter with one out going to the cable modem (Linksys BECMFU10) and one going to the MI424WR. The cable modem WAN goes to the router (Netgear WNDR4000) and there is a ethernet cable between one of the router Lan ports and one of the MI424WR Lan ports. Is something incorrect here? Any help appreciated. Thanks
mlaw8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 04:27 PM   #4
mdscott
Registered User
 
mdscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Posts: 1,594
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlaw8 View Post
Cable line split by a Ideal 2 way 5Hhz - 2.3GHz splitter with one out going to the cable modem (Linksys BECMFU10) and one going to the MI424WR. The cable modem WAN goes to the router (Netgear WNDR4000) and there is a ethernet cable between one of the router Lan ports and one of the MI424WR Lan ports. Is something incorrect here? Any help appreciated. Thanks
Try using the MI424WR to provide your WAN connection. Remove the cable modem to router link. Routing functions can be provided either by WR242WR or the Netgear but must be only one of them.
__________________
TiVo S3, XL4; Roamio
Mixed Wireless/Wired Net
mdscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 06:27 PM   #5
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,405
Yes, mdscott's answer is an option. You can flip the routers and put the Netgear in bridge mode and connect it to one of the Actiontec's LAN's.

You should be able to put the actiontec in bridge mode too. Not sure which instruction set you followed, but this is a good post if you haven't tried it already:

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r176...network-bridge
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |