TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Forum Extras > HD Comcast TiVo DVR (Archive)
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2009, 10:23 AM   #1
jimbob111
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hinsdale, IL
Posts: 77
Can comcast hd tivo be networked?

Can a Comcast HD tivo be networked with non-Comcast HD Tivo's?
I don't want to put out the extra $300 or so for a Tivo hd in a room that won't be used much but still want to be able to access recordings on other Tivo's via my wired network... Thanks in advance!! J
jimbob111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 12:53 AM   #2
ajwees41
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Omaha,NE
Posts: 1,082
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbob111 View Post
Can a Comcast HD tivo be networked with non-Comcast HD Tivo's?
I don't want to put out the extra $300 or so for a Tivo hd in a room that won't be used much but still want to be able to access recordings on other Tivo's via my wired network... Thanks in advance!! J
no
ajwees41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 05:49 PM   #3
SNJpage1
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlantic City, NJ
Posts: 3,148
Since they cant be networked why not use a wireless audio/video transmitter to send the signal to the other room?
SNJpage1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 05:13 PM   #4
JoeTaxpayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbob111 View Post
Can a Comcast HD tivo be networked with non-Comcast HD Tivo's?
I don't want to put out the extra $300 or so for a Tivo hd in a room that won't be used much but still want to be able to access recordings on other Tivo's via my wired network... Thanks in advance!! J
Unfortunately, Comcast boxes don't even network with each other.

For what the two CC boxes rented for, I'll have saved enough to pay for the 2 lifetime tivos I bought in about 2-1/2 years.
JoeTaxpayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 04:07 PM   #5
Beryl
Registered User
 
Beryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNJpage1 View Post
Since they cant be networked why not use a wireless audio/video transmitter to send the signal to the other room?
This sounds good. Do you have any details on this suggestion (e.g. links)?

I'd like to access Comcast On-Demand from a box in another room and came to this forum to identify alternatives.
Slingcatcher (I have a slingbox connected to the Comcast DVR but would prefer not to go that route since I'd also need to purchase slinglink)

"Tivo Home Networking Application" (I have no idea how that could be accomplished.)

Connecting a laptop directly to TV as input and access Slingbox (I just need cables and would be at the mercy of wireless internet speeds)

Beryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |