TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2008, 01:52 PM   #1
mardunba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6
Wii Messes Up Tivo 30 second skip?

Got the kids a Wii for Christmas. We've found that after playing Wii for a while the 30 second skip feature on our vintage DirecTv TIVO (HDVR2, I think) is gone and we must reprogram it.

I've done some searching on this issue on this forum and the web and can't find any similar reports.

Has anyone else noticed this issue? Any suggestions to resolve it?

Thanks.
mardunba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 03:23 PM   #2
ciper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,010
The Wii sensor bar does put out a constant IR signal. The Wiimotes are a camera with a bluetooth connect back to the console. You might try moving the sensor bar to an alternate position to see if it helps.
ciper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 10:44 AM   #3
dslunceford
Registered User
 
dslunceford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: No. VA/D.C.
Posts: 4,977
They don't put out a signal when Wii is turned off/in standby, do they? It's the BT wiimote that wakes/turns on the Wii, not the IR, correct?
__________________
--Steve



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dslunceford is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 11:25 AM   #4
westside_guy
Annoyingly ephemeral
 
westside_guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The soggy part of the Pacific NW
Posts: 454
We have a Wii. We haven't seen this happen with either our Series 2 box or our Tivo HD - the 30-second skip works just fine.

Our sensor bar for the Wii is on top of the television (not that it likely matters).
westside_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 08:38 PM   #5
ciper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dslunceford View Post
They don't put out a signal when Wii is turned off/in standby, do they? It's the BT wiimote that wakes/turns on the Wii, not the IR, correct?
Correct. The "sensor bar" doesn't actually do anything. You can replace it with any two sources of IR including two candles.
ciper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 07:12 PM   #6
rlcarr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arlington, MA
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by westside_guy View Post
We have a Wii. We haven't seen this happen with either our Series 2 box or our Tivo HD - the 30-second skip works just fine.
Same here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by westside_guy View Post
Our sensor bar for the Wii is on top of the television (not that it likely matters).
Same here, too.
rlcarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 01:01 PM   #7
marrone
Phased Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 1,429
No problems with my Wii and DirecTivo.

This seems an odd thing, though, since the 30sec skip requires 6 different keypresses while playing back a recording. I would think it would be difficult for a wiimote to generate those, especially in the right sequence, at the right time (generally you wouldn't be playing a recording if you're playing on the Wii).

-Mike
__________________
Cord & Dish free!
marrone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 12:01 PM   #8
porges
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 414
Is it possible that the TiVo has completely rebooted while you're playing with the Wii? I think that clears the 30-second skip, and it sounds a little more likely than that the Wii sends the exact signals to turn the skip off. Now, why the TiVo would reboot, I have no idea.
porges is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |