TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2015, 08:31 AM   #1
fdw777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 36
TivoHD HDD replacement (model TCD652160)

Current issue TivoHD will at random times restart on it's own.

1. TivoHD model TCD652160
2. Current HDD 160GB
3. Replacement HDD
NEW WD Green 2 TB Desktop Hard Drive: 3.5 Inch, SATA III, 64 MB
Cache (WD20EARX)
4. Power Supply tested (Good)
5. Only computer I have access to is a 2012 Macbook Pro with built-in cd/dvd
writer, Apple's latest OS (10.11.1).
6. I have a few SATA (USB3) external hard drive enclosures on hand.
7. As far as whether I want to copy the current drive or need to use an image
from someone else would be what's the most successful method and
what's the easiest.
8. Can I go back to the (OEM) drive that's currently in the Tivo without skipping a beat if the proceed of putting a NEW HDD in the Tivo fails?????

ubitron wrote:

Let's make that a separate thread where we start from scratch with what TiVo you have, whether you want to copy the current drive or need to use an image from someone else, what kind of drive you'll be using as the target, and what sort of computer will be doing the work.

fdw777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 05:43 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,252
The most easiest is a Windows program called WinMFS. The other programs you need to boot to a Linux type OS and type the commands, one mistake and things can go wrong. IE: You could possibly wipe out the wrong drive.

__________________
Original S1 (Recycle Heaven)
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD (XL, PLS, "652")
Juliet Basic (4XL, PLS)

~~~~~

No Amazon Prime? Join
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and start streaming!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 06:23 AM   #3
fdw777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
The most easiest is a Windows program called WinMFS. The other programs you need to boot to a Linux type OS and type the commands, one mistake and things can go wrong. IE: You could possibly wipe out the wrong drive.
Don't have a Windows computer as I stated....only a Apple intel computer,

fdw777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 07:13 PM   #4
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,252
I don't think there is a program for the Mac, just Linux based, so you may need to make a bootable CD, or for WinMFS, a Windows emulator. ( I don't know how that works.)

__________________
Original S1 (Recycle Heaven)
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD (XL, PLS, "652")
Juliet Basic (4XL, PLS)

~~~~~

No Amazon Prime? Join
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and start streaming!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2016 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.
Page generated in 0.12539101 seconds (45.89% PHP - 54.11% MySQL) with 18 queries