TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2008, 09:12 AM   #1
jsshattuck
Registered User
 
jsshattuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 29
SDV Tuning Adapter-Time Warner

I filled out a SDV Tuning Adapter order form on the Time Warner Website, and received the following reply:

October 16, 2008

Thank you for your request for the SDV Tuning Adapter. Your Pre-Order has been received. At this time the Tuning Adapter is not available to the public but is currently undergoing testing to ensure the highest level of customer satisfaction upon release; which we will begin deployments later this year. We do not have a specific release date for your area, but once the Tuning Adapter becomes available a service representative will contact you to schedule the installation.

Thank you,

D. Jacobs
Corporate Tuning Adapter Desk
Time Warner Cable
__________________
.__
(__
___)teve
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jsshattuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 09:32 AM   #2
milo99
Registered User
 
milo99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 3,101
at least they know what the heck it is and even have a department apparently, dealing with it. Cox doesn't even seem to understand what in the F it is.
milo99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 09:40 AM   #3
Jimbo713
CreaTiVoty!
 
Jimbo713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 401
I got the same letter. Patience (fingers tapping)
__________________

TiVo Premiere with My DVR Expander HD
HD-TiVo
Jimbo713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 10:00 AM   #4
jsshattuck
Registered User
 
jsshattuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by milo99 View Post
at least they know what the heck it is and even have a department apparently, dealing with it. Cox doesn't even seem to understand what in the F it is.
Time Warner Charlotte even has techs that actually know what an HD TiVo is. Everytime they add SDV channels the CableCards in a TiVo go nuts. It happened to several Charlotte people with TiVo's lst wek and although it took 2 days, they solved the problem even though a part of the problem was a TiVo software issue.

I just hope when the Tuning Adapter is available, they will let me dod the install. I've trained too many installers about CableCards and their issues.

Waiting .....................
__________________
.__
(__
___)teve
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jsshattuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 10:39 AM   #5
ncbagwell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 115
Can you post a link to the TWC website where I can fill out a request for the Tuning Adapter? I now it was on another thread for a different market but I can't find it. Thanks.
ncbagwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 10:41 AM   #6
socrplyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncbagwell View Post
Can you post a link to the TWC website where I can fill out a request for the Tuning Adapter? I now it was on another thread for a different market but I can't find it. Thanks.
http://www.timewarnercable.com/Corpo...v/default.html

Edit: Note that if they don't have the page set up for your area yet, it just flips you to your local division's webpage. So sometimes it isn't so useful. The divisions that have the page up seem to mostly have it in the same place. For example www.timewarnercable.com/"division name"/products/cable/sdv/default.html.
Josh
socrplyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 03:26 PM   #7
ncbagwell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 115
Thanks. It looks like they don't have it set up yet for the Raleigh, NC market. I'll try back in a week or so.
ncbagwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 04:31 PM   #8
rv65
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsshattuck View Post
Time Warner Charlotte even has techs that actually know what an HD TiVo is. Everytime they add SDV channels the CableCards in a TiVo go nuts. It happened to several Charlotte people with TiVo's lst wek and although it took 2 days, they solved the problem even though a part of the problem was a TiVo software issue.

I just hope when the Tuning Adapter is available, they will let me dod the install. I've trained too many installers about CableCards and their issues.

Waiting .....................
Actually TWC will require a truck roll but Comcast in their SDV areas aren't requiring one. It's probably for verification purposes for some reason. It's to prevent people who don't have cable card equipped tivo's get them. It's very easy to install. Just unplug your coax from the tivo and plug it into the cable in on the resolver, then plug in a coax cable from Cable out to the cable input. Finally just plug in a USB port and reboot the tivo. Then it should be ready. May have to complete guided setup again.
rv65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 07:13 PM   #9
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by socrplyr View Post
http://www.timewarnercable.com/Corpo...v/default.html

Edit: Note that if they don't have the page set up for your area yet, it just flips you to your local division's webpage. So sometimes it isn't so useful. The divisions that have the page up seem to mostly have it in the same place. For example www.timewarnercable.com/"division name"/products/cable/sdv/default.html.
Josh
Thanks for the link.
Time Warner in Torrance, CA has the form.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 11:40 AM   #10
Roderigo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brookdale, CA
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsshattuck View Post
Time Warner Charlotte even has techs that actually know what an HD TiVo is. Everytime they add SDV channels the CableCards in a TiVo go nuts. It happened to several Charlotte people with TiVo's lst wek and although it took 2 days, they solved the problem even though a part of the problem was a TiVo software issue.
What was the tivo software issue? Don't think I saw anything about that.
Roderigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 01:45 PM   #11
jacksonian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 252
I'm just up the road in Greensboro, NC. We had SDV long before Charlotte, but there's no mention of SDV on our local TWC website and no mention of a tuning adapter. I'm in contact with a higher-up at our local office, and he told me 8/26 that tests of the tuning adapter were set to begin "shortly" and pending successful results they would roll them out in the next few months.

I've emailed him again to ask for an update and also to ask them to add the SDV/Tuning Adapter info to our local page.
jacksonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 12:52 PM   #12
alyssa
Registered User
 
alyssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Mountains of New Hampshire
Posts: 1,591
The page isn't up for new england.

I did get a letter last month from time warner. They did say they were looking at offering the box/dongle for free.
__________________
Roamio Plus LT upgraded w/3TB
XL4 LT + external w/2TB
Premiere LT upgraded w/2TB (for sale)

For all your Comic-Con needs.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 10:25 AM   #13
BL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Falmouth, Maine
Posts: 135
Try this link for New England:

http://www.timewarnercable.com/NewEn...dv/default.htm

For some reason the whole link did not fully display. Make sure the end is:

Products/Cable/sdv/default.html
__________________
Bill
BL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 12:25 PM   #14
um1990
Used Register
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cumberland (Portland), ME
Posts: 14
This seemed to work better for me:

http://www.timewarnercable.com/NewEn...cts/Cable/sdv/

or

http://www.timewarnercable.com/newen...order_sdv.html

FWIW

I hope we get these in Portland Soon!
um1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 03:56 PM   #15
rockonword
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Like jacksonian I am in the Greensboro area. I contacted tech support to get an ETA for the tuning adapters and they told me they didn't know and to contact sales. I did, and they had no clue and told me to contact tech support. I'm glad someone over there knows what the adapters are.
rockonword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 07:07 PM   #16
allietx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 46
TWC Austin/Central Texas

Update for TWC Austin/Central Texas folks:

We had a technician here on Thursday who reported that the tuning adapter beta testing is starting in Austin... he thought it would be 20 people. He reported that he got an email about it "last week". We later called the Retention Team regarding a problem with our price lock following the tech visit, and that person also was familiar with the beta testing email, said we were the 2nd people he had spoken with that day about it, and took our name and contact info and promised to call us back if he finds out how to get into the beta testing...

Anyone else in Austin have any rumors to share? This would be exciting if true! I would love for some TCFers to be among the beta testers!

-NewAllie
__________________
Premiere 2TB (lifetime, cable card)
TivoHD 2TB (lifetime, cable card & OTA)
TivoHD 1TB (lifetime, cable card)
Series2 540 400GB
Series2 240 400GB
allietx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 07:54 PM   #17
Hawkeye22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 68
I have TW-NorthEast Ohio, although I live in Sharpsville, PA. TWC bought out Adelphia in our area a few years ago. They don't have a link or info for the adapter on their web site, but I did write them and got this reply.

Dear Tony,

Thank you for contacting Time Warner Cable support. We always appreciate
the opportunity to respond to our customers.

I understand you want updates on tuning having tuning resolvers
available.

At this time these devices are not available. While there is testing of
similar devices in some areas of Time Warner Cable, we do not have a
time table for this to be released. We will be happy to let all of our
customers know once this is ready for our customers.

We value you as a customer. If you have any further questions or
concerns, please feel free to E-mail us again or contact our Live Chat
at the following link:
http://www.timewarnercable.com/Custo...chat/chat.ashx

Customer service is available 24x7.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to
E-mail us again or contact our Live Chat at the following link:
http://www.timewarnercable.com/Custo...chat/chat.ashx

Sincerely,
James

Time Warner Cable Online Customer Service

Hawkeye22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 09:01 PM   #18
ZeoTiVo
I can't explain
 
ZeoTiVo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 25,524
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeye22 View Post
We value you as a customer. If you have any further questions or
concerns, please feel free to E-mail us again or contact our Live Chat
at the following link:
http://www.timewarnercable.com/Custo...chat/chat.ashx
hey, thanks for the online chat link.
I have a mischievious thought to contact them and ask for help because my roadrunner broadband is down
__________________
You just need to disable your sense of shame for all humanity and click past the break
ZeoTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 12:32 PM   #19
Blahman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by milo99 View Post
at least they know what the heck it is and even have a department apparently, dealing with it. Cox doesn't even seem to understand what in the F it is.
Cablevision/Optimum is no better. I called asking about it and they thought I wanted a digital tuner for the transition from analog broadcasting to digital.
__________________
.
Current TiVo units: (4) * Series 3 TCD648 w/Internal 1TB & Lifetime - 157hours HD each.
Blahman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 12:38 PM   #20
jmfirestone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Colfax, NC (Greensboro area)
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockonword View Post
Like jacksonian I am in the Greensboro area. I contacted tech support to get an ETA for the tuning adapters and they told me they didn't know and to contact sales. I did, and they had no clue and told me to contact tech support. I'm glad someone over there knows what the adapters are.
Same area. I called a couple of weeks ago to ask and the phone rep didn't even have a clue what SDV was. After trying to explain it to her and her putting me on hold to ask someone else what I was talking about 3 times, I finally gave up and said "Thank you anyway."

I sent an email to them today as Greensboro doesn't have that SDV page set up yet.
jmfirestone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 12:49 PM   #21
jmfirestone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Colfax, NC (Greensboro area)
Posts: 47
Well.. here is my response email... I am on the phone with them now...

Quote:
Dear Jed,

Thank you for contacting Time Warner Cable Support.

As per your e-mail, what I understand is that you want to know the
availability of tuning adapter for Cable Cards in TiVo unit in your
area.

I certainly guide you to the right support team.

Jed, the tuning adapters are available in your area. I request you to
contact our Sales Department on 1-866-874-2389. They would be glad to
assist you.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to
E-mail us again or contact our Live Chat at the following link:
http://www.timewarnercable.com/Custo...chat/chat.ashx

Sincerely,
Adrian

Time Warner Cable Online Customer Service
Customer Support is available 24x7

jmfirestone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 01:07 PM   #22
Revolutionary
Too sleepy for TV...
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmfirestone View Post
Well.. here is my response email... I am on the phone with them now...
I call BS. He probably thinks you need an M-card.
__________________
"Mmm... forbidden donut."
Revolutionary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 01:11 PM   #23
jmfirestone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Colfax, NC (Greensboro area)
Posts: 47
Well, I am still on the phone. I was transferred from the Sales Dept to the Tech Support Dept. The Sales Dept lady, after 2 holds, said she talked to her lead, and they told her it was an external device so Tech support had to handle it.

Got transferred to tech support and they said I was talking to sales in Raleigh. ugggh... Anyway, she is checking into it right now...
jmfirestone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 01:23 PM   #24
jmfirestone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Colfax, NC (Greensboro area)
Posts: 47
Not surprisingly, they have no idea what I am talking about and said "nothing of the sort even exists" followed by "now could you explain to me again exactly what you are trying to do with this adapter?"

Obviously she had no idea what i was talking about and talking to her lead tech she must have been giving him all the wrong info.

BUT, she asked me to forward the email to her supervisor to look at, along with my description of the issue... We will see where that goes.
jmfirestone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 09:37 PM   #25
alyssa
Registered User
 
alyssa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Mountains of New Hampshire
Posts: 1,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by um1990 View Post
This seemed to work better for me:

http://www.timewarnercable.com/NewEn...cts/Cable/sdv/

or

http://www.timewarnercable.com/newen...order_sdv.html

FWIW

I hope we get these in Portland Soon!
Thanks for the link!
__________________
Roamio Plus LT upgraded w/3TB
XL4 LT + external w/2TB
Premiere LT upgraded w/2TB (for sale)

For all your Comic-Con needs.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 07:24 AM   #26
spolebitski
Registered User
 
spolebitski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmfirestone View Post
Well.. here is my response email... I am on the phone with them now...
Did you get your tuning adapter yet or confirmation that they are available in your area?
spolebitski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 08:07 AM   #27
skaggs
AlbanyHDTV
 
skaggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmfirestone View Post
Well.. here is my response email... I am on the phone with them now...
Jed, the tuning adapters are available in your area. I request you to
contact our Sales Department on 1-866-874-2389. They would be glad to
assist you.
I'd like to know if you ever received the tuning adapter or if they were just confused about what you were asking for.
__________________
Been watching TV through TiVo since 1998.
skaggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 09:07 AM   #28
cableguy763
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin
Posts: 525
I'm pretty sure they are just confused.
cableguy763 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 11:44 AM   #29
jmfirestone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Colfax, NC (Greensboro area)
Posts: 47
After forwarding the email I received per their request, I got a letter from my local office of Greensboro's Senior Technical Trainer.

Quote:
Your letter was forwarded to me for review and I wanted to respond to the best of my abilities. I am the Sr. Technical instructor for the Greensboro division and only heard of this adapter very recently. First of all, you sure have done your research on this adapter along with understanding SDV and digital transmission. I give you an A+ for your in-depth knowledge. I have attached some articles I found on the internet regarding tuning adapters. As stated in the articles, there are currently 2 manufactures of tuning adapters (Motorola and Cisco) that are still in lab testing. I will have to do more research myself into this adapter due to my understanding of cable cards. There currently are 3 types of cable cards being produced. One is the S-card, which is being phased out as it only supports single stream devices. For example, you would require 2 for your TiVo to access both tuners and hard drives. That has been replaced with the M-card (multi stream) which supports 2 tuners and hard drives via 1 card but is still not 2 way. Then, there is what currently is installed in our set top converters, which is the 2 way M-card. These are only currently produced for set top boxes and have proprietary software for production. I have heard little or no information when these 2 way M-cards will be available to the general public. I will be checking with my partners in the Charlotte and area Divisions to see if they can shed any more light on the situation. I apologize if you were already aware of this information. Please feel free to e-mail me if you find any more information that will help. I am sure there are more people with a TiVo that would benefit from our research.

Thank you,

Steve
So, as scary as it is, apparently I know more from reading this website than my local division Senior Tech guy does about his own technology and the equipment coming out to deal with it.

I asked him to keep me in the loop with what he hears from Charlotte (they are supposedly beta testing there) and offered myself to help beta test here if that comes up. I can't imagine they need to beta test in every market.
jmfirestone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 01:45 PM   #30
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,264
LOL, even a "senior technical instructor" can't get it right when it comes to cablecards and UDCPs:
Quote:
There currently are 3 types of cable cards being produced. One is the S-card, which is being phased out as it only supports single stream devices. For example, you would require 2 for your TiVo to access both tuners and hard drives. That has been replaced with the M-card (multi stream) which supports 2 tuners and hard drives via 1 card but is still not 2 way. Then, there is what currently is installed in our set top converters, which is the 2 way M-card. These are only currently produced for set top boxes and have proprietary software for production. I have heard little or no information when these 2 way M-cards will be available to the general public.

__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |