TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series 1 - UK
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-11-2008, 04:16 PM   #1
mikerr
TiVoCentral.co.uk
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Up North
Posts: 2,596
Suggs: hack to create suggestions

Suggs: the new suggestion engine ! V 1.04
a hack to recreate suggestions.

This hack will run in the background and set suggestions every 30 minutes.

Basically looks at the schedule of the current tv channels,
and tries to record some of the upcoming programmes as suggestions

The threshold for choosing programmes can be set:
default is neutral ( i.e. record all except thumb-downed shows)
This default option good for generating lots of suggestions
To run this way:

./suggs.tcl

To record only those with 1 thumb up or more:

./suggs.tcl -threshold 127

To record those with "predicted relevance":

./suggs.tcl -threshold 1

this last example is closest to how tivo suggestions worked.


they will show up in tivoweb scheduled suggestions
(http://tivo/ui/suggestions )
but not in the tivo GUI suggestions menu.

To show scheduled suggestions on the tivo GUI todo list,
navigate to the todo list on your tivo, and press:
Thumbs Down, Thumbs Down, Thumbs Up, Instant Replay


Being suggestions, they never interfere with your season passes or wishlists.

- Doesn't record duplicate suggestions,
- Won't record a show as a suggestion if it is present in now playing
( e.g. use suggs.tcl -daysback 28 if you don't want another episode for 28 days)
- Gives priority to thumbed shows, but also has predicted thumbs
- Predicted thumbs based on genres
- By default only schedules one day ahead, use "-days 2" to schedule 2 days ahead
-
- Shares the blocklist.txt and blockgenres.txt from global blocklists
(E.g. block all football programmes from being recorded as suggestions by putting "Football" in blockgenres.txt , or "Children", "News" etc one per line)
- Takes account of padding

# 1.04 Some duplicate checking code
# 1.03 No stuttering!
# 1.02 - only processes channel guide data once per day
#
# 1.01 Uses tivo's database of genre thumbs
Attached Files
File Type: zip suggs.zip (8.3 KB, 49 views)

Last edited by mikerr : 12-30-2008 at 05:34 AM.
mikerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 05:37 PM   #2
a_tivo_noob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 198
is anyone else using this other than mikerr? sounds like just what we need now!

quick (stupid) question mikerr, but the txt file accompanying it states
Quote:
# record suggestions on current channel
- does it not change channel then or am i reading it wrong
a_tivo_noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 05:50 PM   #3
mikerr
TiVoCentral.co.uk
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Up North
Posts: 2,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by a_tivo_noob View Post
is anyone else using this other than mikerr? sounds like just what we need now!
It was originally a 10 minute hack to help out when suggestions were flaky,
but now as it is the only way of getting suggestions I'll spend some time on it,

and also include it with preconfigured drives

Quote:
quick (stupid) question mikerr, but the txt file accompanying it states - does it not change channel then or am i reading it wrong
Not in the current version, no.

Basic operation is as follows:

It looks a few hours ahead into the tv guide for the current channel,
if any programme has a thumbs up it will record it as a suggestion.

Version 0.3 will look across all channels and pick from there.
mikerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 06:17 PM   #4
a_tivo_noob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 198
nice one - thx for clarification and keep up the good work - any ideas on when a v0.3 release will be (if its in the next week or two i'll hold off v0.2)
a_tivo_noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 06:33 PM   #5
andonevris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London, , United Kingdom
Posts: 22
The fate of my tivo rests in your hands mikerr, if I can't get suggestions working again to a reasonable level I'll be jumping ship, I hope you can pull it off.

Looking forward to your 0.3 release


andonevris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 07:06 PM   #6
Mike Rogers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10
mikerr you're a star.

Many thanks for this!
Mike Rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 07:11 AM   #7
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,845
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikerr View Post
Version 0.3 will look across all channels and pick from there.
Any chance of making it so the script will only check and add suggestions if it isn't currently recording a program? With tivoweb, endpad and irblast and this at the same time you get "stuttering" whilst it is processing.
__________________
Stephen

ˇɥɐɹɹnɥ ˙oʌıʇ uɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɥʇıʍ ʍou
kitschcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 07:29 AM   #8
mikerr
TiVoCentral.co.uk
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Up North
Posts: 2,596
The stutter is probably on first access to the database, common to many hacks:
Code:
set db [dbopen]
It doesn't stutter after the first few seconds does it?
__________________
TivoCentral.co.uk -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mikerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 09:00 AM   #9
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,845
His nibbs at home has been complaining of TiVo having a stammer today, so it looks like it is at times. I've put it down to too many hacks, and this was the last one I added.
__________________
Stephen

ˇɥɐɹɹnɥ ˙oʌıʇ uɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɥʇıʍ ʍou
kitschcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 09:17 AM   #10
TCM2007
Registered User
 
TCM2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,947
Why every 30 mins? Wouldn't once a day be enough with this way of working?
__________________
Register now to keep your S1 TiVo alive come June 1st:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
TCM2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 10:52 AM   #11
mikerr
TiVoCentral.co.uk
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Up North
Posts: 2,596
I've found they get removed from the todo list after a while,
even if there is nothing else scheduled at that time.

I should probably be sending a todolist-changed signal, but can't find it.
[edit] Oh.. might have found it:
Code:
event send $TmkEvent::EVT_DATA_CHANGED $TmkDataChanged::SCHEDULE 0

__________________
TivoCentral.co.uk -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by mikerr : 09-30-2008 at 11:08 AM.
mikerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 11:11 AM   #12
ColinYounger
It wasn't me.
 
ColinYounger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Southsea, Hampshire
Posts: 1,381
I tried that event before when trying to fix the restore thumbs problem, but it didn't affect the scheduling process.
ColinYounger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 11:17 AM   #13
ColinYounger
It wasn't me.
 
ColinYounger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Southsea, Hampshire
Posts: 1,381
Interesting link: Broad overview of suggestions. No technical detail.
ColinYounger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 11:30 AM   #14
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,845
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikerr View Post
I've found they get removed from the todo list after a while,
even if there is nothing else scheduled at that time.
Ah, I did wonder - I did notice one appear then disappear earlier today.
__________________
Stephen

ˇɥɐɹɹnɥ ˙oʌıʇ uɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɥʇıʍ ʍou
kitschcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 12:11 AM   #15
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,845
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikerr View Post
The stutter is probably on first access to the database, common to many hacks:
Code:
set db [dbopen]
It doesn't stutter after the first few seconds does it?
I was at home last night, and yes, every thirty minutes, regular as clockwork.
__________________
Stephen

ˇɥɐɹɹnɥ ˙oʌıʇ uɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɥʇıʍ ʍou
kitschcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 02:28 AM   #16
mikerr
TiVoCentral.co.uk
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Up North
Posts: 2,596
Ah thanks, noted.
__________________
TivoCentral.co.uk -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mikerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 02:34 AM   #17
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,845
I've turned off irblast today to see if it's just a simple case of too many things at once running. I'll soon know if it's ok
__________________
Stephen

ˇɥɐɹɹnɥ ˙oʌıʇ uɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɥʇıʍ ʍou
kitschcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 05:00 AM   #18
6022tivo
A Happy Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 2,058
Just a quickie on this, so does it add "suggestions" and do they get recorded as the little tivo icon next to them (Not blank, Yellow, Green DOT?)

Do they go to the bottom of the list and not get in the way of "proper" recordings???

If so.... This is ace..
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Media PC -> Xbox 360, DM800HD
Pioneer 505XDE (Still the best)
6022tivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 05:13 AM   #19
mikerr
TiVoCentral.co.uk
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Up North
Posts: 2,596
Yes to all the above. They appear at the bottom as a suggestion, and doesn't interfere with other recordings. Tivo actually is recording it as normal suggestion.

Indistinguishable from the "real thing" apart from:

1) Pending suggestions don't appear in the TV tivo suggestions menu
(you have to use tivoweb (http://tivo/ui/suggestions) to see the todo list)

2) At present only records on the current channel, but this is just in testing.
__________________
TivoCentral.co.uk -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by mikerr : 10-01-2008 at 05:19 AM.
mikerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 05:23 AM   #20
Pugwash
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Spalding'ish
Posts: 346
mikerr, you've clearly done something TiVo have been unable to do (for whatever reason). I'm sure if you can get this working across all channels many people would shake your hand.
__________________
TiVo 300GB, Freeview, CacheCard, Coffee // XBox 80GB, Xecuter 3, XBMC // XBox 20GB, Xecuter 3CE, XBMC // PS3 + PlayTV //Toshiba 37X3030D 1080p // Logitech Harmony 885 // 3.5TB NAS // Humax Foxsat HDR
Pugwash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 03:42 PM   #21
mikerr
TiVoCentral.co.uk
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Up North
Posts: 2,596
New version uploaded, now covers all channels you receive.
__________________
TivoCentral.co.uk -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mikerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 03:55 PM   #22
6022tivo
A Happy Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 2,058
Mike you are amazing.. I will upload this to mytivo in the next few days...

Thank you for all the time you have put into this...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Media PC -> Xbox 360, DM800HD
Pioneer 505XDE (Still the best)
6022tivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 04:11 PM   #23
Pugwash
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Spalding'ish
Posts: 346
Out of interest, do we need to kill the previous version's process (how?) or will replacing the file make it restart?

p.s. This is excellent work. I have suggestions in TiVoWebPlus across all channels now, which I assume means the new one is running by just copying the file over the top and running it.
__________________
TiVo 300GB, Freeview, CacheCard, Coffee // XBox 80GB, Xecuter 3, XBMC // XBox 20GB, Xecuter 3CE, XBMC // PS3 + PlayTV //Toshiba 37X3030D 1080p // Logitech Harmony 885 // 3.5TB NAS // Humax Foxsat HDR

Last edited by Pugwash : 10-01-2008 at 04:21 PM.
Pugwash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 04:12 PM   #24
Mostin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 29
Nice one mike, i'll be in touch for a new hd soon
Mostin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 07:06 PM   #25
andonevris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London, , United Kingdom
Posts: 22
Mikerr....this is VERY cool. Fired it up and started seeing suggestions filling up straight away. They look like the sort of stuff tivo would record for me when its own suggestions were working.

Thanks very much for this.....

Tivo should give you a job
andonevris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 01:30 AM   #26
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,845
Hi Mike,

Does it just run once in the background then close down? I'm asking because it doesn't seem to be staying running on mine in the background, and when I check back after about an hour and run

ps ax

The process is no longer running, but there is nothing I can see in the logs to say it closed.

It has, however, added some entries to the scheduled suggestions recording, so that definitely works! Many thanks for putting in the effort.
__________________
Stephen

ˇɥɐɹɹnɥ ˙oʌıʇ uɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɥʇıʍ ʍou
kitschcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 02:47 AM   #27
mikerr
TiVoCentral.co.uk
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Up North
Posts: 2,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColinYounger View Post
Quote:
TiVo Suggestions currently works by sending all the ratings across to their server cluster from each TiVo, generate correlations between the shows, and send back the list of correlations to each TiVo
Ours don't (didn't!) work that way..the US tivos work the above way, including US S1 tivos.
TivoPony mentioned that in the suggestions announcement thread.

Our UK tivos process all suggestions on the tivo itself.

[everyone] What would your opinions be if I added something similar (upload thumbs) to this hack ?
Obvious privacy implications as I'd be uploading all your thumbs to my website for processing,
but it would produce better results.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kitschcamp View Post
it doesn't seem to be staying running on mine in the background [...] but there is nothing I can see in the logs to say it closed.
It's possible it has closed with an error, logs are in /var/log/suggs.log

[edit] Argh ! 0.4 does only run once, due to a silly bug
The code
Code:
-console { set bg true ; set runonce true }
should be
Code:
-console { set bg true }
up with 0.5 ....
__________________
TivoCentral.co.uk -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by mikerr : 10-02-2008 at 03:11 AM.
mikerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 02:57 AM   #28
ag5002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by andonevris View Post
Mikerr....this is VERY cool. Fired it up and started seeing suggestions filling up straight away. They look like the sort of stuff tivo would record for me when its own suggestions were working.

Thanks very much for this.....

Tivo should give you a job
Very clever and cool. If the Nero product ever comes to the UK, I assume you will be building new Tivo boxes for everyone? Perhaps you could even take over the entire Tivo UK service.
ag5002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 03:44 AM   #29
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,845
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikerr View Post
Argh ! 0.4 does only run once, due to a silly bug
Thanks! I'll test it again now.
__________________
Stephen

ˇɥɐɹɹnɥ ˙oʌıʇ uɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɥʇıʍ ʍou
kitschcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 03:54 AM   #30
AMc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: East of England
Posts: 2,622
Thanks for adding the attachment

Is there a reason it runs every 30 minutes - would there be any harm in running it less frequently - say once a day at 3am with cron instead?
__________________
My Series 1 Tivo has been unplugged since 2011 but I haven't the heart to get rid of it.
AMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |