TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2008, 08:19 PM   #1
andyknas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
SD-DVR Pixelation

Have a SD-DVR and some channels are coming in with lots of pixelation. USA, CNBC and others have really bad reception. Many of the other channels come in fine. DirectTV sent me one of their new DVR's to "test" with and these channels come in fine. Is there some reason that the Tivo receiver would have problems with these channels? I've swapped cables, and the issue is apparent off both receivers.

I like DirecTV, and like Tivo, but want a good picture. I am thinking of buying a unit off ebay, but would hate to still have the pixelation if it's something with the DTV service.
andyknas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2008, 02:32 AM   #2
rbtravis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Parker, Co. 80138
Posts: 1,457
Probably the drive going bad. that or the multiswitch
__________________
(3 active) RCA DVR's in sizes 795GB to 976GB Software version 6.4a
rbtravis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2008, 03:01 AM   #3
appleye1
Registered User
 
appleye1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Back From The Other Side
Posts: 8,578
My experience with drives going bad is audio stuttering, but I have heard of pixelization being a problem too.

I'd pop a new drive in - good excuse to upgrade!
__________________
Mark
Save OTA TV!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I Cut The Cord! 02/11 (OTA Hulu+ Netflix)
TiVo user since 12/99
Yamms:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
appleye1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2008, 05:21 PM   #4
andyknas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
bad drive

it's only certain channels that are pixelated. we can watch NBC, CBS, etc. and they are great. CNBC and USA are not. live is pixelated as well.

I thought it could be something with the signal from one of the LNB's, but the DTV DVR unit that i plugged in is able to pull up these same channels flawlessly using the same coax wire as the tivo unit.
andyknas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 07:04 AM   #5
dtremain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyknas View Post
it's only certain channels that are pixelated. we can watch NBC, CBS, etc. and they are great. CNBC and USA are not. live is pixelated as well.

I thought it could be something with the signal from one of the LNB's, but the DTV DVR unit that i plugged in is able to pull up these same channels flawlessly using the same coax wire as the tivo unit.
I don't see why the hard drive would differentiate channels, but, really, there's no such thing as "live" when watching a DVR. Even with "live" you're watching a buffered image from the hard drive. That's why you are able to record a program that you have been watching for a half hour. It's all buffered to the hard drive and that's what you are watching with a couple of seconds delay.
dtremain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 07:12 AM   #6
rbtravis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Parker, Co. 80138
Posts: 1,457
Sounds more and more like a multi-switch problem. I had a problem like that with may old Aspen-Eagle non-powered multi-switch installed by Directv.
__________________
(3 active) RCA DVR's in sizes 795GB to 976GB Software version 6.4a
rbtravis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 02:24 PM   #7
linrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 4
same here

sound is dropping out on those same channels too. pixelation, fuzzy images. just started today - looked fine yesterday. somethings up...

HR 10-250, SD video
linrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 06:51 AM   #8
andyknas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
i ordered up a new multi-switch. seems to be some signal issue as it's only some channels. just odd that it worked fine with DTV DVR unit.
andyknas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 12:38 PM   #9
chaz333
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
same problem here too

am pleased to find a site where someone else is experiencing same issues as me -- pixellation, sound dropouts, even the same channels being the primary ones where the problem occurs. andyknas, will you please post an update once you receive / install the multiswitch and let us know if it works?! thanks.
chaz333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 09:55 AM   #10
zoner88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
I actually have this issue on my SD-40 (upgraded to 250GB 6.2). Except that I only get it on one satellite input, not both. Thinking it was the multiswitch, I swapped cables around and the same tuner had the same problem so it, to me, seems that my issue with with one of my tuners. Funny though, it doesn't happen on all of the channels, but mostly locals and some 200's. Unfortunately, I have to get it replaced with an R15 BUT, if the R15 does the same thing, I'll be VERY confused. I really want to keep my TiVo unit and just upgrade it to 6.4 so I can remote schedule - if that's even possible on a hacked unit ..
zoner88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 10:48 AM   #11
rbtravis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Parker, Co. 80138
Posts: 1,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoner88 View Post
I actually have this issue on my SD-40 (upgraded to 250GB 6.2). Except that I only get it on one satellite input, not both. Thinking it was the multiswitch, I swapped cables around and the same tuner had the same problem so it, to me, seems that my issue with with one of my tuners. Funny though, it doesn't happen on all of the channels, but mostly locals and some 200's. Unfortunately, I have to get it replaced with an R15 BUT, if the R15 does the same thing, I'll be VERY confused. I really want to keep my TiVo unit and just upgrade it to 6.4 so I can remote schedule - if that's even possible on a hacked unit ..
To get your tuner fixed
http://www.ccscorporation.net/dss.htm
Probably not possible on a hacked unit, the upgrade would erase the hacks and I do not know if they would work with 6.4a if reinstalled.
__________________
(3 active) RCA DVR's in sizes 795GB to 976GB Software version 6.4a
rbtravis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 12:25 PM   #12
markbox
Ni!
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: S.F. Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 1,048
I used CCS Corp to get my tuner two issues resolved.
They did a fine job and the unit (Hughes SD-DVR40)
is working perfectly. Guess I should update my sig
cause the Hughes unit accidentally got updated to
6.4a (I had forgotten to unplug the phone line after
an experiment with another drive).
__________________
Hughes SD-DVR40 w/500Gig drive running 6.4a unplugged (DirecTV)
TiVo-HD w/WD 500GB DVR Expander (Comcast)
markbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 08:31 PM   #13
andyknas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
swapped the multi-switch. still seeing some pixelation so it does seem to be a tuner issue.
andyknas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |