TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-20-2008, 01:21 PM   #61
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 556
Regarding gotomydvr -- the application runs and doesn't crash, however, I can not connect remotely anymore. Tivoweb will run locally but with gotomydvr not working, I can't use it remotely. Also, the caller-id program does not work either under 6.4a, yet it does not crash. Occasionally, under 6.2a caller id would have a long delay before displaying the number if the CPU was busy. But, I couldn't get anything to display at all with 6.4a. It's possible they have speeded up the program or are using higher CPU priority or something. It runs 5 C degrees hotter under 6.4a. The upgrade also took three hours off the recording capacity of the DVR.

Last edited by dcstager : 05-23-2008 at 06:47 PM. Reason: substituted hours for minutes in last sentence correcting error
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 02:17 PM   #62
RandCfilm
Registered User
 
RandCfilm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstager View Post
For whatever reason - probably something I did wrong somewhere -- gotomydvr would not run on my DVR under 6.3f or 6.4a. The interface for remote booking on the DirecTV site is pretty ideal -- if they would just turn it on for the Tivo people.
I logged onto DirecTV today and the TV Listing for record, all my HR10-250 were listed to select. You might give it a try on the 6.4a unit just to see if it works for you. I tried it and of course it did not set a recording, hence 6.3f. I did get email that I requested recording to be scheduled.
__________________
(2) UltimateTV - upgraded w/160GB
(1) HR10-250 single 2TB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 620GB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 320GB 6.4a
(3) HR21 (2) with AM21 & internal 2TB Seagate
RandCfilm
RandCfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 02:55 PM   #63
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 556
I have been trying it every day since the upgrade. Is still says "You do not have a receiver that supports the digital video recording feature."
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 03:04 PM   #64
snickerrrrs
Tech-no Guide
 
snickerrrrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 243
I'm guessing a separate IT group does software releases and another does the Web site. Or they won't make changes to the site till the roll out is almost complete. Has anyone else here received 6.4a or just dcstager?
__________________
How 'bout...a nice greasy pork sandwich served in a dirty ashtray?

1-R10 500GB 6.4a
1-SDDVR40 250GB 6.4a
1-HR10-250 1.5TB 6.4a
1-Premier (not activated)
1-Humax DRT800 8.1 (mothballed)
snickerrrrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 03:08 PM   #65
RandCfilm
Registered User
 
RandCfilm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstager View Post
I have been trying it every day since the upgrade. Is still says "You do not have a receiver that supports the digital video recording feature."
Here is the cut and paste from email I received. Not sure why it allowed me to try to schedule a recording.


DVR Scheduler Confirmation

Dear XXXX XXXXXX,
We have received your record request from directv.com. Please see the details of your request below:

Judge Maria Lopez on Channel 4 WTTV on 5/20/08 at 12:00 PM EDT
(If you ordered a Pay Per View title, it will expire 24 hours after viewing begins.)

DVR #: xxxx-xxxx-1734
Location: TV Room
Update Location >>

We hope you enjoy this title and all future viewings. If you'd like to record more programs return to TV & Pay Per View >>

When you're on the go, schedule your recordings anytime, anywhere by going to m.directv.com on your mobile phone.
__________________
(2) UltimateTV - upgraded w/160GB
(1) HR10-250 single 2TB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 620GB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 320GB 6.4a
(3) HR21 (2) with AM21 & internal 2TB Seagate
RandCfilm
RandCfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2008, 11:02 PM   #66
manhole
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
I sure hope they push this out to those of us with Samsung units. I am still stuck on 6.3e with 2 - 3 reboots per week.
manhole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 06:03 AM   #67
dtremain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by manhole View Post
I sure hope they push this out to those of us with Samsung units. I am still stuck on 6.3e with 2 - 3 reboots per week.
Ditto.
dtremain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 07:42 AM   #68
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 556
Has anyone else got it running besides me? Is anyone working on a superpatch?
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 07:45 AM   #69
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,056
since MRV is GONE from software after 6.2a, I'm staying where I am.
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 09:25 AM   #70
RandCfilm
Registered User
 
RandCfilm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstager View Post
Has anyone else got it running besides me? Is anyone working on a superpatch?
Still nothing on my units. DC If you could get me the slice file for GZcore, GZhpk-Series2, and utils. I would like to compare to 6.3f to see what changed files have been made. Then I could insert the changed files and upgrade that way. They only thing is the GZcore file is 12M, GZhpk 2M, so you would have to use yousendit or some other free hosting service to place the files do I could get them. You can use TWP to get the slice files easily.
__________________
(2) UltimateTV - upgraded w/160GB
(1) HR10-250 single 2TB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 620GB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 320GB 6.4a
(3) HR21 (2) with AM21 & internal 2TB Seagate
RandCfilm
RandCfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 09:41 AM   #71
SteelersFan
"On Welfare"
 
SteelersFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saugus, CA
Posts: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnyman View Post
since MRV is GONE from software after 6.2a, I'm staying where I am.
+1 "Nothin' beats a Zippered 6.2a S2DTivo!"
__________________
6 x S2DTivos
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
HR21-700, HR21-100
SteelersFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 01:11 PM   #72
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 556
I sacrificed my stable and optimized 6.2a setup just to see what 6.4a was all about and to share it with the Tivo Community. RandCFilm - I'm afraid I lack the skill to get you the slices you are asking for. But, I'm going to be patient here and wait for everyone else to get this software and hopefully a superpatch is possible. I do have a virgin re-imaged drive ready to pop back in and revert to 6.2a, but I'm going to leave 6.4a alone for a while and see what develops.

I'm also wondering if there is an application available or could be developed that would do the same thing as 6.2a's built-in multiple room viewing (MRV). That is just the handiest thing for migrating .avi files from the computer to watch on the Tivo. I'd sure like to keep 6.4a 's new features, especially when remote scheduling is available.

The utilities for soft-padding and recovering deleted programs are already out there, so the only benefit to 6.4a is the nice DirecTV interface to do remote scheduling. Maybe it solves or mitigates the re-booting problems, but since I didn't have that problem before, I don't know.

I must say I have to agree that 6.2a zippered is the gold standard for a Directivo. However, how much longer am I going to keep the thing? The fuzzy standard definition picture is hard to tolerate when HD is available. If only that darn Comcast Tivo software could be optimized and placed in wide release -- that's going to be the death of the standard definition Directivo. The Directivo is just so useful and optimal for just about everything. Why in the world didn't DirecTV stick with that as their software? Yes, I know money, profits, etc.

It's crazy. The Tivo/DirecTV integrated unit is the best interface available bar none. Just make that unit with the new MPEG-4 HD / DirecTV and you've got the ideal piece of consumer electronics. Tivo really has built a better mousetrap here.

Why don't they ever listen to the customer?
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 01:47 PM   #73
tivoupgrade
Sponsor
 
tivoupgrade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 2,494
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstager View Post
I sacrificed my stable and optimized 6.2a setup just to see what 6.4a was all about and to share it with the Tivo Community. RandCFilm - I'm afraid I lack the skill to get you the slices you are asking for. But, I'm going to be patient here and wait for everyone else to get this software and hopefully a superpatch is possible. I do have a virgin re-imaged drive ready to pop back in and revert to 6.2a, but I'm going to leave 6.4a alone for a while and see what develops.

I'm also wondering if there is an application available or could be developed that would do the same thing as 6.2a's built-in multiple room viewing (MRV). That is just the handiest thing for migrating .avi files from the computer to watch on the Tivo. I'd sure like to keep 6.4a 's new features, especially when remote scheduling is available.

The utilities for soft-padding and recovering deleted programs are already out there, so the only benefit to 6.4a is the nice DirecTV interface to do remote scheduling. Maybe it solves or mitigates the re-booting problems, but since I didn't have that problem before, I don't know.

I must say I have to agree that 6.2a zippered is the gold standard for a Directivo. However, how much longer am I going to keep the thing? The fuzzy standard definition picture is hard to tolerate when HD is available. If only that darn Comcast Tivo software could be optimized and placed in wide release -- that's going to be the death of the standard definition Directivo. The Directivo is just so useful and optimal for just about everything. Why in the world didn't DirecTV stick with that as their software? Yes, I know money, profits, etc.

It's crazy. The Tivo/DirecTV integrated unit is the best interface available bar none. Just make that unit with the new MPEG-4 HD / DirecTV and you've got the ideal piece of consumer electronics. Tivo really has built a better mousetrap here.

Why don't they ever listen to the customer?
I am watching this thread in anticipation of users' first experiences with 6.4, as well. I agree that 6.2a is the most stable, and offers the most [hidden] functionality, so far.

If anyone is able to provide the unencrypted slices, I will put them on my server, as I've done with previous versions. They can then be downloaded manually or with the slicer -d option.

dcstager... in my own home, I finally gave up on DIRECTV and went with the Series3. The additional features, speed, etc were absolutely worth it. I jumped from the HR10-250 and would not have been happy if I'd had to step into an HR20/HR21 in order to receive the newer MPEG-4 channels.

It will be interesting to see how things play out in the next couple of years; I hope sooner or later DIRECTV sees the light and they and TiVo come to some sort of agreement to bring the Series3 architecture to their family of DVRs. I don't think it is likely, though. And I'd love to be wrong about that.

Lou
__________________




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



tivoupgrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 03:25 PM   #74
JimSpence
Just hangin'
 
JimSpence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 30,444
I'm patiently waiting for 6.4a to be loaded on my HR10-250. This unit does show up on the DirecTV's DVR scheduling page.
__________________
Jim
JimSpence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 03:37 PM   #75
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 556
I did manually load 6.4a using slicer and it is working with no problems. It has the "Recently Deleted" folder in the Now Playing list, and Overlap Protection as a setting in the sub-menus. The remote scheduling feature is not working for me, and I'm certain DirecTV simply has the throw the switch and enable it on their web site for Tivo users. It is available for their hardware with the note that the feature is "coming soon" for Tivo DVRs. It seems that the software is there on my end, but not yet set up on the DirecTV end.

If some version of Tivo Desktop was available -- even limited to uploading recordings to the Tivo, I'd be fine with that. I don't want to rip poor quality video from the Directivo. It's not worth preserving. I would like to be able to have the Amazon Unbox downloads, so maybe a cash influx to DirecTV from that source would be a carrot for them to add a little functionality.

So much is available from so many sources nowadays, the Directivo's utility is getting limited. I can get a perfect picture off the air at no cost with a Series 3 and upload anything and everything onto it. Video on demand is going to be the future and any box that can't do it is a boat anchor or will be soon.

Every studio is digitizing their entire library - I'll be pulling up episodes of "Captain Nice" someday or maybe all those great TV dramas by Rod Serling or Paddy Chayefsky from the 1950's. The ability to PUT STUFF ONTO the box is what needs developing.
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 01:29 AM   #76
dthreet
Registered User
 
dthreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 178
Well I just tested DVR Scheduler using 6.4a and its working.
__________________
(2) DirecTV HR10-250 both 400 Gig <6.3f networked>
(1) Directv Philips DSR704 223 hr <6.2a networked>
(1) HR20-100 networked <software 0x301>
(1) HR20-700 netowrked <software 0x301>

Last edited by dthreet : 05-24-2008 at 03:18 PM.
dthreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 06:01 PM   #77
CrashHD
I am the me.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: MO, USA
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandCfilm View Post
#No encryption (DEC) 1598904 orig 0c16a402
Disable encryption:
echo -ne "\x3C\x02\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=1598904
Confirmified! Further tests forthcoming.
__________________
Can you touch your ____ with your ___? Then go ____ yourself?
The answers are (shoulders, hands, hug). If you came up with something else, that's on you
CrashHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 06:04 PM   #78
CrashHD
I am the me.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: MO, USA
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandCfilm View Post
#30-second skip (DEC) 6883312 orig 1440002b
#30sec skip:
echo -ne "\x10\x40\x00\x2b" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=6883312
Also confirmified!
__________________
Can you touch your ____ with your ___? Then go ____ yourself?
The answers are (shoulders, hands, hug). If you came up with something else, that's on you
CrashHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 06:19 PM   #79
CrashHD
I am the me.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: MO, USA
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandCfilm View Post
#Backdoors (DEC) 2806144 orig 00008021
seek=1598904

Backdoors
echo -ne "\x24\x10\x00\x01" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=2806144
This patch also tests successfully. Hopefully I will have them all tested before the end of the day.
__________________
Can you touch your ____ with your ___? Then go ____ yourself?
The answers are (shoulders, hands, hug). If you came up with something else, that's on you
CrashHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 08:41 PM   #80
CrashHD
I am the me.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: MO, USA
Posts: 667
Go to post 194, this thread, for a better way to superpatch your 6.4a

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandCfilm View Post
POSSIBLE new location patches 6.4a only. This information is for persons with higher pay grades to confirm.
I certainly don't have a higher pay grade, but I can say so much as "It works for me!" Excellent work finding those!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandCfilm View Post
DO NOT try these locations without confirmation from the higher authorities as I used a very crude method to locate the possible new locations. Unless of course you want to screw your unit.
All crudeness aside, it's simple and it works. Only the work of engineers or politicians could wreck something like that


Quote:
Originally Posted by RandCfilm View Post
#No encryption (DEC) 1598904 orig 0c16a402
#30-second skip (DEC) 6883312 orig 1440002b
#Backdoors (DEC) 2806144 orig 00008021
#HMO/HME
(DEC) 906328 orig 00408821
(DEC) 1119964 orig 00408021
(DEC) 5874104 orig 14400014
#Free Trial (DEC) 920520 orig 0c1445a9
#OSD Message (DEC) 6895320 orig 0c3289f7

Disable encryption:
echo -ne "\x3C\x02\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=1598904

30sec skip:
echo -ne "\x10\x40\x00\x2b" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=6883312

Backdoors
echo -ne "\x24\x10\x00\x01" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=2806144

HMO/HME
echo -ne "\x34\x11\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=906328
echo -ne "\x24\x10\x00\x01" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=1119964
echo -ne "\x10\x00\x00\x14" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=5874104
removes *TiVo Plus features (trial ends today)
echo -ne "\x24\x02\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=920520
I have tested all of these, except for the OSD message patch. They all work on my HR10 w/6.4a. I have packaged all of these up in one script. It mounts / rw, copies the running tivoapp to tivoapp.tmp, patches tivoapp.tmp, backs up tivoapp as /tvbin/tivoapp.6.4a.original, swaps the patched tivoapp.tmp in as tivoapp, and remounts / ro. Thus far, it has only been tested on my unit. It should be considered beta quality stuff until a few more users report back with success, so don't use it yet unless you know how to fix it if it breaks.
Go to post 194, this thread, for a better way to superpatch your 6.4a
Code:
#!/bin/sh

echo "Mounting / rw"
mount -o remount,rw /

echo "Patching 6.4a Tivoapp"
echo "Copying /tvbin/tivoapp /tvbin/tivoapp.tmp"
cp /tvbin/tivoapp /tvbin/tivoapp.tmp
echo "Done copying, now patching tivoapp.tmp"

# Disable Encraption:
echo -ne "\x3C\x02\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=/tvbin/tivoapp.tmp bs=1 seek=1598904
# Enable 30sec skip:
echo -ne "\x10\x40\x00\x2b" | dd conv=notrunc of=/tvbin/tivoapp.tmp bs=1 seek=6883312
# Backdoors:
echo -ne "\x24\x10\x00\x01" | dd conv=notrunc of=/tvbin/tivoapp.tmp bs=1 seek=2806144
# HMO/HME:
echo -ne "\x34\x11\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=/tvbin/tivoapp.tmp bs=1 seek=906328
echo -ne "\x24\x10\x00\x01" | dd conv=notrunc of=/tvbin/tivoapp.tmp bs=1 seek=1119964 
echo -ne "\x10\x00\x00\x14" | dd conv=notrunc of=/tvbin/tivoapp.tmp bs=1 seek=5874104 
# Remove "*Tivo Plus features (trial ends today)"
echo -ne "\x24\x02\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=/tvbin/tivoapp.tmp bs=1 seek=920520

# Enable on-screen clock (SPS9S toggle)
#echo -ne "\x10\x40\x00\x1e" | dd conv=notrunc of=/tvbin/tivoapp.tmp bs=1 seek=178560

# Disable OSD messages (insert your access card, etc)
#echo -ne "\x24\x02\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=/tvbin/tivoapp.tmp bs=1 seek=6895320


echo "Moving the running /tvbin/tivoapp to /tvbin/tivoapp.orig.bak"
mv /tvbin/tivoapp /tvbin/tivoapp.6.4a.original
echo "Done that, moving /tvbin/tivoapp.tmp /tvbin/tivoapp"
mv /tvbin/tivoapp.tmp /tvbin/tivoapp
echo "Mounting / ro"
mount -o remount,ro /
echo "Done.  In the event of problems, your original tivoapp is at /tvbin/tivoapp.6.4a.original"

exit
I could not attach it as an .sh file. Put the .txt file on your box and rename it, or (my preferred method), copy the contents of the code box above, and cat it into a file through your telnet window. This method has the added bonus of fixing dos line endings in the event windows has fracked with your text file. Perhaps in a few days I will make this into a proper superpatch. For now, it gets the job done, and I must go back to intoxicificating myself this holiday weekend.
Go to post 194, this thread, for a better way to superpatch your 6.4a
Attached Images
File Type: gif beer357.gif (9.8 KB, 563 views)
Attached Files
File Type: txt superpatch_6.4a_crashHD.txt (1.5 KB, 25 views)
__________________
Can you touch your ____ with your ___? Then go ____ yourself?
The answers are (shoulders, hands, hug). If you came up with something else, that's on you

Last edited by CrashHD : 06-01-2008 at 02:30 PM.
CrashHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 09:29 PM   #81
RandCfilm
Registered User
 
RandCfilm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 112
Well I'm gone all day Saturday, Come home at 10:15pm to find 6.4a on two of my units and CrashHD verified patch locations are working for him. Miss a day and things move on without me

Thanks Crash for verifying patch locations, and dthreet that on-line scheduler is working.
__________________
(2) UltimateTV - upgraded w/160GB
(1) HR10-250 single 2TB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 620GB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 320GB 6.4a
(3) HR21 (2) with AM21 & internal 2TB Seagate
RandCfilm
RandCfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 09:45 PM   #82
CrashHD
I am the me.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: MO, USA
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandCfilm View Post
Miss a day and things move on without me
Tell me about it. I farm for a living, and have to work when the weather allows. I've been driving a tractor 15-18 hours a day for the last week. I got back on the internet the day after getting rained out, to find an entire new tivo version released, with 3 pages of thread already about it, and patch locations posted to boot!! BOO long working days, HOORAY Internet!

If you know the new value for the OSD message, I can test that as well, and add it into the patch file. If it's not too much trouble, do you think you could find the patch values to turn on the SPS9S clock?
__________________
Can you touch your ____ with your ___? Then go ____ yourself?
The answers are (shoulders, hands, hug). If you came up with something else, that's on you

Last edited by CrashHD : 05-25-2008 at 07:40 AM.
CrashHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 11:11 PM   #83
RandCfilm
Registered User
 
RandCfilm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrashHD View Post
If you know the new value for the OSD message, I can test that as well, and add it into the patch file.
try this - TEST ONLY - NOT CONFIRMED - confirmed by CrashHD only 5-25-2008
OSD message
echo -ne "\x24\x02\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=6895320

Quote:
If it's not too much trouble, do you think you could find the patch values to turn on the SPS9S clock?
try this for SPS9S TEST ONLY - NOT CONFIRMED - confirmed by CrashHD only 5-25-2008

echo -ne "\x10\x40\x00\x1e" | dd conv=notrunc of=/tvbin/tivoapp.tmp bs=1 seek=178560
__________________
(2) UltimateTV - upgraded w/160GB
(1) HR10-250 single 2TB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 620GB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 320GB 6.4a
(3) HR21 (2) with AM21 & internal 2TB Seagate
RandCfilm

Last edited by RandCfilm : 05-25-2008 at 09:09 PM.
RandCfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 11:35 PM   #84
CrashHD
I am the me.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: MO, USA
Posts: 667
I'll try it tomorrow. I got a little reckless today, and tried bufferhack using the 6.3f patch points. It didn't look like it was going to work, but that's what a testing unit is for, right?
__________________
Can you touch your ____ with your ___? Then go ____ yourself?
The answers are (shoulders, hands, hug). If you came up with something else, that's on you
CrashHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 12:47 AM   #85
RandCfilm
Registered User
 
RandCfilm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrashHD View Post
I'll try it tomorrow. I got a little reckless today, and tried bufferhack using the 6.3f patch points. It didn't look like it was going to work, but that's what a testing unit is for, right?
This is even farther over my head but it looks like
addrA 0x0d7496
addrB 0x0d72ae
addrC - .brf file - possibly the same
addrD - totally lost as the information is not the same in 6.3e - 6.3f
__________________
(2) UltimateTV - upgraded w/160GB
(1) HR10-250 single 2TB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 620GB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 320GB 6.4a
(3) HR21 (2) with AM21 & internal 2TB Seagate
RandCfilm
RandCfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 08:47 AM   #86
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 556
Have you looked for or found the XM radio record patch?
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 10:50 AM   #87
RandCfilm
Registered User
 
RandCfilm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstager View Post
Have you looked for or found the XM radio record patch?
Do you have any locations for any 6.3x versions?
__________________
(2) UltimateTV - upgraded w/160GB
(1) HR10-250 single 2TB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 620GB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 320GB 6.4a
(3) HR21 (2) with AM21 & internal 2TB Seagate
RandCfilm
RandCfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 11:08 AM   #88
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 556
I don't recall anyone discovering it for any 6.3x version. It did work on 6.2a. I'm going to go ahead and try CrashHD's script as is and report back. I was just hoping for the XM patch because it was useful. Hopefully someone will figure it out. How are the patch locations discovered by anyone? That is for higher paygrades than me.
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 11:27 AM   #89
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 556
Sad to report that CrashHD's script runs correctly, but there is a fatal error somewhere. After the patch you can watch live tv, but as soon as you press the Tivo button, it triggers a reboot.

--

Here's the output from the script:

Hughes-bash# 6.4a_crashHD_superpatch.sh
Mounting / rw
Patching 6.4a Tivoapp
Copying /tvbin/tivoapp /tvbin/tivoapp.tmp
Done copying, now patching tivoapp.tmp
4+0 records in
4+0 records out
4+0 records in
4+0 records out
4+0 records in
4+0 records out
4+0 records in
4+0 records out
4+0 records in
4+0 records out
4+0 records in
4+0 records out
4+0 records in
4+0 records out
Moving the running /tvbin/tivoapp to /tvbin/tivoapp.orig.bak
Done that, moving /tvbin/tivoapp.tmp /tvbin/tivoapp
Mounting / ro
Done. In the event of problems, your original tivoapp is at /tvbin/tivoapp.6.4a
.original
Hughes-bash# sync; reboot

Last edited by dcstager : 05-25-2008 at 11:42 AM.
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 11:41 AM   #90
RandCfilm
Registered User
 
RandCfilm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstager View Post
Can someone please give me the command sequence to put the original tivoapp back in place? I can still telnet to it as long as I don't press the Tivo button.
make sure root is RW
cd /tvbin
mv tivoapp tivoapp.bad
cp tivoapp.6.4a.original tivoapp
make root RO
reboot
__________________
(2) UltimateTV - upgraded w/160GB
(1) HR10-250 single 2TB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 620GB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 320GB 6.4a
(3) HR21 (2) with AM21 & internal 2TB Seagate
RandCfilm
RandCfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |