TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-04-2008, 07:39 PM   #1
kcn823
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Freeport, NY
Posts: 62
Tivo won't power up

My tivo all of a sudden had channels missing from the guide today and would give me a channel not available message. So I unplugged it and plugged it back in to reset it and now it won't power up. The welcome screen comes on saying power up, but after about 5 seconds the whole pictures jumps, flashes and goes black and then the welcome screen comes back on and does it all over again.

Is this a sign my hard drive is dead or could it be something else?
kcn823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2008, 09:18 PM   #2
dssdbs
dss of dbs
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: South Texas
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcn823 View Post
My tivo all of a sudden had channels missing from the guide today and would give me a channel not available message. So I unplugged it and plugged it back in to reset it and now it won't power up. The welcome screen comes on saying power up, but after about 5 seconds the whole pictures jumps, flashes and goes black and then the welcome screen comes back on and does it all over again.

Is this a sign my hard drive is dead or could it be something else?
Same thing happened to me, I had a spare and swapped out the Power Supply, all back up and running again, except that the second tuner still has major problems (picture/sound breaks up almost constantly, but was doing this before the power supply started having issues).
dssdbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 08:18 AM   #3
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,167
TC CLUB MEMBER
The particular symptom you have indicates a bad hard disk - less likely to be the power supply since it apparently starts to boot.
__________________
Steve
stevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 08:42 AM   #4
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,413
I wouldn't completely discount the power supply, but I do concur that the most likely culprit is the hard drive. A Tivo will display the Welcome screen even with no hard drive installed. The fact that it cycles repeatedly tells me it's probably the hard drive.
mr.unnatural is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 09:09 AM   #5
kcn823
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Freeport, NY
Posts: 62
Thanks, I just ordered another power supply. We'll see if that's the problem, and if that doesn't work I'll try the hard drive.
kcn823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |