TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2014, 11:52 PM   #1801
jmbach
Registered User
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
What would be the result? A whole bunch of not happening, no way, no how.

I'm pretty sure both WinMFS and MFS Live will give you some sort of "target drive too small" error message, and not try at all, rather than try and fail.

Unfortunately the size difference is great enough that you can't even cheat on the swap partition size to shoehorn onto a non-Maxtor of the same size.
You have me wondering a little bit unitron. Would you happen to have the MFSInfo information handy on those images. (my phone has limited forum tools for me to search at this time) I am wondering if trimming the wasted space off of the media partitions would provide enough room.
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 02:12 AM   #1802
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmbach View Post
You have me wondering a little bit unitron. Would you happen to have the MFSInfo information handy on those images. (my phone has limited forum tools for me to search at this time) I am wondering if trimming the wasted space off of the media partitions would provide enough room.
Okay, you have officially gone beyond the point where I would know what in the bleep I was talking about.

I suppose you could examine the source code for the MFS Live cd to find the individual commands that get invoked when you run the

restore

command and insert something that would let you change the size it wants to make the partitions as it creates them and compile your own custom version, but that's way beyond anything I'd know how to go about doing.

If I get a chance and a PC motherboard that'll co-operate, I'll try to run

mfsinfo

and/or

pdisk

against the original drive for my 240 and post the results, but probably best not to be holding your breath while waiting for it to happen.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 10:15 PM   #1803
jmbach
Registered User
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 688
Downloaded one of your "fat" images. It has about 1GB of data beyond a "standard" 40GB drive. Too much to overcome. The media partitions would have to be modified and not just having the excess unused sectors trimmed off.
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 02:43 AM   #1804
publow13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Can anyone direct me to an image for a TCD748000. My factory drive has passed beyond the ability to be cloned to a new drive. Thanks in advance for any help or advice.
publow13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 06:48 AM   #1805
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by publow13 View Post
Can anyone direct me to an image for a TCD748000. My factory drive has passed beyond the ability to be cloned to a new drive. Thanks in advance for any help or advice.
PM sent.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 05:31 PM   #1806
publow13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Thanks again Greg - that did the trick.
publow13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 07:34 PM   #1807
janean77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
I need image for TCD540080

Thank you
janean77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 02:04 PM   #1808
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by janean77 View Post
I need image for TCD540080

Thank you
These were made from a 540040, but will work just as well.

You'll need a drive at least as big as the 40GB Maxtor that came in this TiVo originally.

Back then Maxtor drives had a slightly higher LBA number for a given GB size than the other brands, so you'll probably need at least a 60GB drive.

Do the expansion as a separate step after you do the image restore and check it with

mfsinfo

to make sure everything looks alright.


This image is for use with the MFS Live cd v1.4

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...20/540040c.bak



This image is for use with WinMFS


https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...20/540040c.tbk


The "c" indicates that it's already upgraded to the latest version of the 540 software.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |