TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2016, 01:12 PM   #1
philhu
User Since Day ONE!
 
philhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Funcity, MA
Posts: 784
TivoHD power supply replaced - now reboots

Replaced power supply with new one

System starts up, almost there, reboots

Did kickstart to check drive, passes all tests
Did kickstart 54, green screen, same almost there msg and reboot

So, I need a new drive because something in OS probably corrupted when the old PS died.

So, I dd copy am image to a 1tb drive
Is it possible to move my mfs partition with MFS or DD to the new drive from the old one? To save my shows?

__________________
-----------------
S1 Phillips #13-ret
S1 Sony SVR-2000-ret
S2-500gb HD, 2 units-ret
TivoHD-2tb, chip mod, 2 units
Premiere-2tb JMFS
Premiere4-2tb JMFS-ret
Roamio Plus-4tb Comm Img
philhu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 11:19 PM   #2
jmbach
der Neuerer
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,269
I would consider downloading one of unitron's images and writing that to a drive and see if it boots. Just to make sure it is your image and not a bad PS or drive issue.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2016, 09:25 AM   #3
philhu
User Since Day ONE!
 
philhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Funcity, MA
Posts: 784
Well, removed the 'new' power supply and replaced it with a weaknees NEW one that they tested.

Put in unit, reboot, ran guide update (It had been off for over 2 months).

Rebooted it, it is now up and running!!!

Just goes to show, trying to save $50 by buying on ebay a power supply marked 'Do not have time to test so selling AS-IS No-refunds' is a pretty big red flag!!!

__________________
-----------------
S1 Phillips #13-ret
S1 Sony SVR-2000-ret
S2-500gb HD, 2 units-ret
TivoHD-2tb, chip mod, 2 units
Premiere-2tb JMFS
Premiere4-2tb JMFS-ret
Roamio Plus-4tb Comm Img
philhu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 12:54 AM   #4
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 2,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by philhu View Post
Just goes to show, trying to save $50 by buying on ebay a power supply marked 'Do not have time to test so selling AS-IS No-refunds' is a pretty big red flag!!!
Oh we could have warned you here ahead of time even without the eBay seller's warning regarding As is. The odds of a used S3/HD having the same issue or developing it in the near future are probably pretty high.

Scott

__________________

Roamio Pro - 3TB - All-in
S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime trnsfrd to S3
S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime trnsfrd to S3
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 PM.
Page generated in 0.12278104 seconds (46.52% PHP - 53.48% MySQL) with 18 queries