TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2009, 05:42 PM   #1351
Sam Lowry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 65
Hi-
Just found this program. Seems great. I already have Tivo Desktop Plus, but I see many advantages of your program. My only question is once I have recoded the file I want that I have on my computer let's say .avi to tivo sd .mp4 (I have a S2) - is there a way to start it transferring to my Tivo automatically or do I do it from my Tivo?
Sam Lowry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 06:11 PM   #1352
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,849
Sam Lowry, if you leave Tivo Desktop Plus installed then you can setup Auto Transfers folder where video files deposited will transfer automatically to your Tivo. Other option is to install pyTivo and then use kmttg "custom" job to push files back to your Tivo automatically - see pyTivo_push Wiki.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 08:37 PM   #1353
dbtom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 150
Zune HD profile recommendations

Can anyone recommend a good profile to use for the Zune HD? The native resolution for the Zune HD is 480x272. I tried editing the Zune profile and changing the resolution to this and it did not work. Same with the iPod profiles. The iPod settings work unadjusted, but their aspect ratios are different.

Right now I am using the Xbox setting and then have the Zune PC software transcode from the Xbox profile to the lower Zune resolution. This works, but it involves 2 transcodes and is not very efficient.
dbtom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 07:38 AM   #1354
nvt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 58
There appears to be a problem with the download page at GoogleCode:
http://code.google.com/p/kmttg/
The latest version listed
http://kmttg.googlecode.com/files/kmttg_v0p7b.zip
will not download and I can find no other instance of this (this may be a problem wiht the google hosting?)
nvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 07:48 AM   #1355
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,442
I just tried it and it worked fine for me.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 09:53 AM   #1356
bkdtv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 7,902
Is there a reason why wishlist folders aren't listed with the appropriate name? Kmttg just displays the folder using the title of the first (?) program within the wishlist folder.
bkdtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 10:15 AM   #1357
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdtv View Post
Is there a reason why wishlist folders aren't listed with the appropriate name? Kmttg just displays the folder using the title of the first (?) program within the wishlist folder.
Forgot all about wishlists - I only use them sparingly (mostly for NBA games) so during implementation/testing my TiVos did not have any wishlist groupings to think about. Currently the only grouping is by:
* suggestions
* title only (minus suggestions)
* HD channel

I'll have to look into how to identify wishlist recordings and group them by wishlist name. Note, I don't have series 2 TiVos to test with and I believe the wishlists for those units are quite different than series 3 right? For example they don't have advanced wishlists setup and don't have opportunity to name wishlists whatever they want right?
I don't know for wishlists if there are differences in Now Playing xml spit out by series 2 vs series 3 I guess is what I'm getting at (which is what I parse in kmttg).
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 10:45 AM   #1358
bkdtv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 7,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
Forgot all about wishlists - I only use them sparingly (mostly for NBA games) so during implementation/testing my TiVos did not have any wishlist groupings to think about. Currently the only grouping is by:
* suggestions
* title only (minus suggestions)
* HD channel

I'll have to look into how to identify wishlist recordings and group them by wishlist name. Note, I don't have series 2 TiVos to test with and I believe the wishlists for those units are quite different than series 3 right? For example they don't have advanced wishlists setup and don't have opportunity to name wishlists whatever they want right?
When you connect to the TiVo with a web browser, it displays the correct wishlist folder names.

Wishlists are the same on the standalone Series2. Some of the DirecTiVo units do not have it, but they don't support TTG anyway.
bkdtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 12:36 PM   #1359
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdtv View Post
When you connect to the TiVo with a web browser, it displays the correct wishlist folder names.

Wishlists are the same on the standalone Series2. Some of the DirecTiVo units do not have it, but they don't support TTG anyway.
Hmm. The XML dump with recursion enabled (what kmttg uses), using:
https://<ip>/TiVoConnect?Command=QueryContainer&Container=%2FNowPlaying&Recurse=Yes
does not give any clues about any of the wishlist recordings unfortunately, so I don't see a way to recognize wishlist recordings based on that information.
In order to see the wishlist groupings one has to run the XML dump without the &Recurse=Yes which then requires further URLs to get information about each group of shows. So this looks to be much more difficult to deal with than I would have suspected and would involve a lot of changes and extra URL queries to get working. So my inclination for now is forget about trying to group wishlists...
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 01:32 PM   #1360
spocko
TiVo HD
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 409
I don't use wishlists a lot either, so I'm confused about the wishlist discussion. Are we talking about a top-level folder for all wishlist recordings:


NPL
|_ Wishlists
| |_ recording from Wishlist 1
| |_ recording from Wishlist 1
| |_ recording from Wishlist 2
| |_ recording from Wishlist 3
| |_ ...


Or just the ability to show recordings grouped per wishlist:


NPL
|_ Wishlist 1
| |_ recording 1
| |_ recording 2
| |_ ...
|_ Wishlist 2
| |_ recording 3
| |_ ...


Pardon my rudimentary attempts at a tree view. I don't think it is very useful to have a top level wishlist folder as in the first example. (Likewise I don't think the current top level HD folder is very interesting either.) On the other hand, I do think it is useful to have wishlist recordings grouped per wishlist, as shown in the 2nd example.

From the discussion here, I assume kmttg is doing something like the 2nd example, but is simply not using the same folder names (i.e. wishlist names) as shown in NPL on the Tivo?
spocko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 03:22 PM   #1361
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by spocko View Post
From the discussion here, I assume kmttg is doing something like the 2nd example, but is simply not using the same folder names (i.e. wishlist names) as shown in NPL on the Tivo?
Yes it is the 2nd example/tree view you give that is desired but as I mentioned above obtaining the information on folder structures would mean a fundamental change for kmttg in Now Playing List information parsing as well as multiple TiVo queries which would slow things down quite a bit and so I don't think merits the effort.

I also noticed that once you change a ARWL to no longer auto-record then TiVo folder display switches to group things by title again instead of by wishlist name which is a little odd. For my usual simple ARWL usage pretty much things are based mostly on titles anyway so they group the same way whether auto-record is set or not.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 03:24 PM   #1362
bkdtv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 7,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by spocko View Post
From the discussion here, I assume kmttg is doing something like the 2nd example, but is simply not using the same folder names (i.e. wishlist names) as shown in NPL on the Tivo?
Kmttg doesn't support wishlist grouping at all. As far as kmttg is concerned, all wishlist programs were recorded with season passes.

I use wishlists for most movies and sporting events (with a separate wishlist for every pro and college sports team) so the NPL listing becomes quite cluttered without this grouping.

Last edited by bkdtv : 10-08-2009 at 03:32 PM.
bkdtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 04:05 PM   #1363
orangeboy
yes, I AM orangeboy!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 4,075
I just installed and configured kmttg today (v0p7b). Neat app! I never was one to use Tivo-To-Go or Tivo-To-Come-Back, but figured I'd take the plunge and try this out. Only one problem: I'm getting digital artifacts after I transfer a file back to Tivo after decrypting and ad cutting. The decrypted file looks fine on the PC, as does the "_cut" file. I manually pulled the "_cut" file from my Tivo using PyTivo. I did queue up 5 shows, and transferred while kmttg was processing other jobs. Is it possible this is what caused the "interference"? I'm using wired ethernet.

Also, I just noticed that the last .tivo to be downloaded has slowed to a crawl. I just canceled the set of jobs associated with that download, and restarted. The throughput is MUCH better.

Any suggestions for these problems I'm having? In the meantime, I'll let the last jobs complete and try to transfer when the PC is not as busy.
orangeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 06:49 PM   #1364
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,849
orangeboy, yes if you are pulling shows from your TiVo while at the same time using pyTivo to return shows to your TiVo then that will slow things down considerably. I don't know why you see digital artifacting when playing back on TiVo and not on PC. However if you have VideoRedo you should really configure kmttg to use it since that will eliminate introduction of glitches and audio/video sync when cutting commercials out.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 07:01 PM   #1365
orangeboy
yes, I AM orangeboy!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 4,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
orangeboy, yes if you are pulling shows from your TiVo while at the same time using pyTivo to return shows to your TiVo then that will slow things down considerably. I don't know why you see digital artifacting when playing back on TiVo and not on PC. However if you have VideoRedo you should really configure kmttg to use it since that will eliminate introduction of glitches and audio/video sync when cutting commercials out.
Thanks -
I actually am using VRD for cutting commercials, chosen based on the opinions given. The more I use this app, the more I like it! Thanks for this. I still need to view the other edited files after transferred to the Tivo to see if it was a one time situation or a regular occurrence.
orangeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 07:26 PM   #1366
orangeboy
yes, I AM orangeboy!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 4,075
Hmmm... It'd be nice to query the To Do list and/or Season Passes when setting up Auto Transfers, similar to the "Add Selected Titles" from the Now Playing List.
orangeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 07:45 PM   #1367
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangeboy View Post
Hmmm... It'd be nice to query the To Do list and/or Season Passes when setting up Auto Transfers, similar to the "Add Selected Titles" from the Now Playing List.
I looked into it a little bit when TiVo first released that capability for Series 3 Tivos, however the web site uses SSL encryption which makes it very difficult to decipher the communication needed to obtain the data. So unless/until someone deciphers that there is not much that can be done to get hold of the data needed.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 08:29 PM   #1368
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,442
One thing I was thinking about is there any way KMTTG could flag or color code shows which are already set for auto transfer when looking at the NPL?
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 08:56 PM   #1369
orangeboy
yes, I AM orangeboy!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 4,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
I looked into it a little bit when TiVo first released that capability for Series 3 Tivos, however the web site uses SSL encryption which makes it very difficult to decipher the communication needed to obtain the data. So unless/until someone deciphers that there is not much that can be done to get hold of the data needed.
Whoops! My bad. I was thinking that the TDL was available from the Tivo http server, similar to the NPL.
orangeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 09:18 PM   #1370
orangeboy
yes, I AM orangeboy!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 4,075
Ok, one more thing. I'm setting up Auto Transfers (type: title) using my Tivo.com's To Do List for ease of copy/paste. When scanning my NPL, it states the only show available is 20/20, but is too old. I can see Smallville that recorded tonight in my NPL, and in my Auto Transfer list. I was beating my head against the wall trying to figure out why Smallville was getting passed up. Then I realized that 20/20 was getting found because there isn't an upper/lower case for numbers. I changed "Smallville" to "smallville" and Auto Transfer found the program and began downloading as expected. The bubble help in kmttg states that keyword and titles are case insensitive. I'm not entirely convinced that's true!
orangeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 10:29 PM   #1371
ellinj
Seems Very Friendly
 
ellinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: RI
Posts: 10,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangeboy View Post
Ok, one more thing. I'm setting up Auto Transfers (type: title) using my Tivo.com's To Do List for ease of copy/paste. When scanning my NPL, it states the only show available is 20/20, but is too old. I can see Smallville that recorded tonight in my NPL, and in my Auto Transfer list. I was beating my head against the wall trying to figure out why Smallville was getting passed up. Then I realized that 20/20 was getting found because there isn't an upper/lower case for numbers. I changed "Smallville" to "smallville" and Auto Transfer found the program and began downloading as expected. The bubble help in kmttg states that keyword and titles are case insensitive. I'm not entirely convinced that's true!

I took a quick look at the code. It appears that the autotransfer converts the titles from the NPL to lowercase and compares to what is in the transfer list. So the behavior you are seeing is correct you must type the show name in all lowercase.
__________________
Wondering when the next trip to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
will be ?
ellinj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 01:09 AM   #1372
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellinj View Post
I took a quick look at the code. It appears that the autotransfer converts the titles from the NPL to lowercase and compares to what is in the transfer list. So the behavior you are seeing is correct you must type the show name in all lowercase.
That's a bug that's fixed in next release - title is lowercased but the keyword is not. At some point keywords were supposed to be saved as lowercase only but instead of relying on that now I lowercase everything before comparing.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 07:00 AM   #1373
orangeboy
yes, I AM orangeboy!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 4,075
Thanks guys
orangeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 07:46 AM   #1374
ellinj
Seems Very Friendly
 
ellinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: RI
Posts: 10,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
That's a bug that's fixed in next release - title is lowercased but the keyword is not. At some point keywords were supposed to be saved as lowercase only but instead of relying on that now I lowercase everything before comparing.
While we are in feature request mode, I'd love to be able to assign auto transfers to a particular tivo, I record some shows on both my tivohd and my series2. I'd like to tell it to always pull this particular program off of the tivhod. Maybe a drop down where you can select a particular tivo or all tivos.
__________________
Wondering when the next trip to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
will be ?
ellinj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 07:51 AM   #1375
ellinj
Seems Very Friendly
 
ellinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: RI
Posts: 10,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
That's a bug that's fixed in next release - title is lowercased but the keyword is not. At some point keywords were supposed to be saved as lowercase only but instead of relying on that now I lowercase everything before comparing.
I haven't looked at your updated code, but why not do an .equalsIgnoreCase() on the title rather then converting both strings to lower case and doing a regex match.
__________________
Wondering when the next trip to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
will be ?
ellinj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 02:54 PM   #1376
orangeboy
yes, I AM orangeboy!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 4,075
Wow - what a difference an OS makes (I think). I was running kmttg and Tivo Desktop Plus on my Windows XP Media Center PC (dual core, 3GHz Pentium 4, w/512MB RAM). I installed both apps on Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition (dual core, 1.4GHz Pentium III, w/4GB RAM). It's like night and day. On the XP machine, EVERYTHING ground to a halt, to the point the PC speaker had to be invoked (Task Manager and Windows Explorer completely unresponsive) The funny thing was that the CPU didn't show very heavy use; maybe 17%-23% utilization. Server 2003 acts like nothing is going on. I think I found a new home for kmttg...
orangeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 01:35 PM   #1377
AudioNutz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 281
Sounds like you're sufferin' from "Lack-O-Mac"...
__________________
I am the Stig
AudioNutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 05:42 PM   #1378
spocko
TiVo HD
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangeboy View Post
Wow - what a difference an OS makes (I think). I was running kmttg and Tivo Desktop Plus on my Windows XP Media Center PC (dual core, 3GHz Pentium 4, w/512MB RAM). I installed both apps on Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition (dual core, 1.4GHz Pentium III, w/4GB RAM).
Umm, there is no such thing at a dual core Pentium III or dual core Pentium 4. Regardless though, I don't think the performance issue you saw was related to the OS. I run Tivo Desktop and kmttg under Win XP on a 2GHz single core Athlon XP, and both work fine on that machine.
spocko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 07:18 PM   #1379
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,849
512MB RAM vs 4GB RAM seems like the obvious difference to me...
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 10:01 PM   #1380
orangeboy
yes, I AM orangeboy!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 4,075
Well, I'm feeling foolish. I guess I got 2 single core processors. I figured the OS had something to do with it, dealing better with the filesystem. I guess the RAM seems obvious now, with a lot less swapping happening.
orangeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |