TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-15-2013, 09:29 PM   #4711
bwperez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24
This just started for me today after years of no issues. No comments on the show... it was the smallest file on my Tivo :-) I tried it on a second PC and from a second Tivo... same error.

<h2>Bad Request</h2>
Download failed to file: C:\Users\Brian\Programs\kmttg\v0P8c\Angelina Ballerina The Next Steps - Angelina and the Mini-Mouseling Angelinas Helpful Friend (11_11_2012).TiVo
Exit code: 0
% Total % Received % Xferd Average Speed Time Time Time Current
Dload Upload Total Spent Left Speed

0 31 0 31 0 0 109 0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:-- 109
0 31 0 31 0 0 109 0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:-- 0
0 39 0 39 0 0 105 0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:-- 105
bwperez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 10:37 PM   #4712
witwar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Tivo Update causing Kmttg and itivo to fail?

neither of these programs will allow downloading right now. New tivo update kill 3rd party downloads?
witwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 11:25 PM   #4713
DougD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 60
I am getting the same problems as bwperez where it says <h2>bad request.<h2> etc.

Last edited by DougD : 02-16-2013 at 09:36 AM.
DougD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 11:48 PM   #4714
cherry ghost
Registered User
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,196
pyTiVo and TiVo Desktop won't transfer either
cherry ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 11:55 PM   #4715
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,257
Yes, all my downloads from Elite, Premiere and S3 OLED all have same "bad request" error. TiVo must have screwed something up related to our accounts and MAK #s. However, MRS & MRV still work for me though which is a little surprising... (may be a problem if any unit reboots).
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 12:02 AM   #4716
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,899
My S2 and S3 Tivos are downloading just fine today.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 12:05 AM   #4717
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by witwar View Post
neither of these programs will allow downloading right now. New tivo update kill 3rd party downloads?
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougD View Post
not sure if it is related but I went to tivo.com and it said "still processing your activation" for the tivo I am trying to transfer files from. (I am getting the same problems as bwperez where it says <h2>bad request.<h2> etc. )
If these are newly activated Tivos in your tivo.com account, it may take up to 24 hrs to get a Media Access Key and get transfers enabled.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 12:07 AM   #4718
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,257
Attempting a download via web browser the full error is:
<h2>Bad Request</h2>
session id missing

Never heard of this so called "session id" before...
Going to try a couple of phone home requests on my Premiere to see if that fixes it.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 12:14 AM   #4719
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
Attempting a download via web browser the full error is:
<h2>Bad Request</h2>
session id missing

Never heard of this so called "session id" before...
Going to try a couple of phone home requests on my Premiere to see if that fixes it.
Could this problem be exclusive to Premieres only?
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 12:31 AM   #4720
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
Could this problem be exclusive to Premieres only?
As I mentioned above my S3 OLED unit has the problem too, so no. I think more likely it may depend on when your units last phoned home whether it works or not, or maybe some accounts got screwed up while others didn't. Not enough data points to draw conclusions at this point so just WAGs so far.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 12:35 AM   #4721
witwar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
If these are newly activated Tivos in your tivo.com account, it may take up to 24 hrs to get a Media Access Key and get transfers enabled.

I have 2 premiere's and an S2 and all are over 2 years old. None of them will download anything. The premiers will however transfer from one to the other.
witwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 12:41 AM   #4722
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,257
Attempting to launch Netflix on my Premiere is giving me the stupid "V301" error which in the past only a reboot will resolve, so I'm going to cross my fingers and reboot once/if the net connect ever finishes...
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 01:18 AM   #4723
javabird
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 750
I'm having the same issue today with my TivoHD using kmttg on Mac-- also unable to download with iTivo.

Interestingly, I tried using the Tivo Transfer tool I still have installed and it's working. Unfortunately it doesn't download HD.
javabird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 01:28 AM   #4724
opieant
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
It looks like curl isn't sending the session ID (sid) cookie to the TiVo. If I manually enter the sid cookie, the download starts. The sid is in the cookie jar, but it isn't being sent to the server on the TiVo.
opieant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 01:38 AM   #4725
figmund
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3
I too noticed neither of my TiVo HD's were allowing downloads via kmttg today. I turned on the option "use java for downloads instead of curl" in the kmttg config and was then able to download shows.
figmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 01:48 AM   #4726
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by figmund View Post
I too noticed neither of my TiVo HD's were allowing downloads via kmttg today. I turned on the option "use java for downloads instead of curl" in the kmttg config and was then able to download shows.
Interesting. Works for me too. But the fact downloading with a browser doesn't work and that the curl download method that has worked for years no longer does implies there is something wrong still...
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 01:48 AM   #4727
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by opieant View Post
It looks like curl isn't sending the session ID (sid) cookie to the TiVo. If I manually enter the sid cookie, the download starts. The sid is in the cookie jar, but it isn't being sent to the server on the TiVo.
Quote:
Originally Posted by figmund View Post
I too noticed neither of my TiVo HD's were allowing downloads via kmttg today. I turned on the option "use java for downloads instead of curl" in the kmttg config and was then able to download shows.
This must be why I was able to download from my Tivos today, I use Java downloads via KMTTG and not curl.

Edit: I just tried a download by the firefox browser and got the SID error.
Edit2: This is what I got with KMTTG set to "Not use Java"
Code:
<h2>Bad Request</h2>
Download failed to file: i:\video\Lone Ranger - 059 -  - Drink of Water 2013.02.15-10.00.TiVo
Exit code: 0
  % Total    % Received % Xferd  Average Speed   Time    Time     Time  Current
                                 Dload  Upload   Total   Spent    Left  Speed

  0    31    0    31    0     0    248      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:--   248
  0    31    0    31    0     0    248      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:--     0
  0    39    0    39    0     0    178      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:--   178
Lone Ranger - 059 -  - Drink of Water 2013.02.15-10.00.TiVo: Too many failed downloads, GIVING UP!!
With Java enabled, it works fine.

Edit 3: PyTivo gives me "Initiating Transfer, Please Wait", then Error 400.
PyTivo pushes work.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!

Last edited by ThAbtO : 02-16-2013 at 02:31 AM.
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 01:56 AM   #4728
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,113
Wow, even Series 2 is affected.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 02:05 AM   #4729
notting
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 55
Dumping the HTTP headers on mine showed it giving a session id cookie that was already expired (Sat Feb 16 00:00 GMT), so the client doesn't send it back to the Tivo. Hence, no session id.

Setting the clock back on the computer 'fixes' it.
notting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 07:25 AM   #4730
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by notting View Post
Dumping the HTTP headers on mine showed it giving a session id cookie that was already expired (Sat Feb 16 00:00 GMT), so the client doesn't send it back to the Tivo. Hence, no session id.

Setting the clock back on the computer 'fixes' it.
Is that true for those of us running Desktop?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 08:02 AM   #4731
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by notting View Post
Dumping the HTTP headers on mine showed it giving a session id cookie that was already expired (Sat Feb 16 00:00 GMT), so the client doesn't send it back to the Tivo. Hence, no session id.

Setting the clock back on the computer 'fixes' it.
To anwer my own question, it fixes it for Desktop as well.

I just told one of my PCs that today is the 13th, and started a transfer and it's doing it and doing it quickly.

So congratulations, notting, you found the reason.

Now we need TiVo to tell us the reason for the reason, including why S2s and S3s are affected, and even more important, we need for them to fix it.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 08:11 AM   #4732
sw10025
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 710
Quote:
Originally Posted by notting View Post
Dumping the HTTP headers on mine showed it giving a session id cookie that was already expired (Sat Feb 16 00:00 GMT), so the client doesn't send it back to the Tivo. Hence, no session id.

Setting the clock back on the computer 'fixes' it.
Weird - of all the things I thought to try to fix the problem, I would never have thought of that, but that seems to have resolved the problem (I'm running Tivo Desktop Plus on a PC with two Series 2s).
sw10025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 08:15 AM   #4733
True Colors
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by figmund View Post
I too noticed neither of my TiVo HD's were allowing downloads via kmttg today. I turned on the option "use java for downloads instead of curl" in the kmttg config and was then able to download shows.
Thanks figmund...... I tried your suggestion and it works perfectly.

kmttg comes to the rescue, once again

TC
True Colors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 09:36 AM   #4734
Twoflower
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 15
Wow. I'm so used to random technology problems nobody can explain that I'm surprised to see so many people with the same problem I have! That boosts my spirits that I'm not alone in it.

I normally just point my web browser at my Tivo Premiere on my LAN and download files that way. I can't get the official Tivo Desktop software to work for some reason, but straight downloads by HTTP worked fine... until last night.

Is there a way to fix this other than setting the clock back? I'm not sure what you mean by "use java for downloads". (Kind of a neophyte here.)

Edit: Mighta helped if I'd read page one of the thread. I got a copy of KMTTG and installed it, found the setting in question. I'm in the middle of "disable transfers, wait, reenable them" as a solution which I'd googled up for this problem before, but once that's done, I'll try using this. VERY impressive program so far! Even connects to my videoredo!

EditEdit: WOOHOO! IT WORKS! KMTTG, you are my hero. I'm able to download my shows again! Thanks to everyone for the suggestions.

Last edited by Twoflower : 02-16-2013 at 10:05 AM.
Twoflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 10:00 AM   #4735
magilladke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by notting View Post
Dumping the HTTP headers on mine showed it giving a session id cookie that was already expired (Sat Feb 16 00:00 GMT), so the client doesn't send it back to the Tivo. Hence, no session id.

Setting the clock back on the computer 'fixes' it.
Just wanted to say "thanks" for everyone posting the fixes. I am on traveling and needed to get this working. I did the date rollback first, then saw the java option.

I'm a programmer and have seen this type of issue before with javascript (and certificates). Glad someone dumped the headers to see what was really going on.

I think kmttg is fantastic and hope the underlying issue gets fixed soon. Thanks again!
magilladke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 10:21 AM   #4736
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by True Colors View Post
kmttg comes to the rescue, once again
Technically, the fact that it works in kmttg's Java mode is a bug in kmttg. It's a case of two wrongs making a right.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 10:27 AM   #4737
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
Technically, the fact that it works in kmttg's Java mode is a bug in kmttg. It's a case of two wrongs making a right.
It's actually not a bug since it is coded intentionally to accept any certificate, even expired ones as in this case.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 10:37 AM   #4738
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,707
The bug, apparently, is in the TiVos themselves, since rolling back the PC clock lets it work again.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:05 AM   #4739
magilladke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
Technically, the fact that it works in kmttg's Java mode is a bug in kmttg. It's a case of two wrongs making a right.
People were seeing the issue with Tivo Desktop as well. This is why I figured it was more of a Tivo issue. Either way I'm just happy people were able to post a work around. Thanks everyone!
magilladke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:27 AM   #4740
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
It's actually not a bug since it is coded intentionally to accept any certificate, even expired ones as in this case.
It's a cookie, not a certificate.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by wmcbrine : 02-16-2013 at 12:50 PM.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |