TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2015, 09:12 PM   #1
Robert Simandl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 97
Tivo Desktop and Windows 10?

Anyone with Tivo Desktop do the free upgrade to Windows 10 yet? Any issues or "gotcha's" the rest of us need to know about?

Thanks!

__________________
Bob Simandl ... just outside of St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 05:19 AM   #2
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,330
If past experience is any guide, the upgrade process will break Desktop.

ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks For This Post:
Old 07-30-2015, 11:22 AM   #3
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 1,389
I'm sure Desktop, Beacon, and Bonjour have all be tested with Windows 10.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 07:05 PM   #4
mrtxstar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
I just installed Win 10 and now I get an error pop up on my screen about every hour about something to do with Tivo Desktop. I guess I need to get a screen shot of it.

mrtxstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 07:18 PM   #5
johnsonjonj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Fix for Windows 10

On your Windows 10 at the bottom left... Ask me anything... type in compatibility... it will bring up Control Panel .. Run programs made for previous versions of windows... a window will pop up labeled .. Program Compatibility Troubleshooter... Next.. then it will then make of pop up list of programs running on your computer.. select Tivo Desktop.. you will then get a pop up to test... this will allow the program to run correctly... It will then ask you to save these settings for this program...

johnsonjonj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 07:59 PM   #6
mrtxstar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonjonj View Post
On your Windows 10 at the bottom left... Ask me anything... type in compatibility... it will bring up Control Panel .. Run programs made for previous versions of windows... a window will pop up labeled .. Program Compatibility Troubleshooter... Next.. then it will then make of pop up list of programs running on your computer.. select Tivo Desktop.. you will then get a pop up to test... this will allow the program to run correctly... It will then ask you to save these settings for this program...
My Windows 10 bottom left has nothing that says "Ask me anything".

I do have a screenshot of the error message if that would be helpful.

Edited: Okay, found the "ask me anything" ... proceeding


Last edited by mrtxstar; 07-30-2015 at 08:51 PM. Reason: updated info
mrtxstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 08:14 PM   #7
mrtxstar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8

mrtxstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 11:33 PM   #8
mrtxstar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Compatibility Troubleshooter unable to resolve issue. Now TiVo Desktop not opening at all and the periodic error message still pops up on screen. Any further suggestions?

mrtxstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 11:45 PM   #9
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 4,230
uninstall/reinstall?

__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 06:11 AM   #10
justen_m
Registered User
 
justen_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boise Idaho
Posts: 7,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthAlabama View Post
uninstall/reinstall?
That would be my suggestion. I did a clean install of Tivo Desktop 2.8.2 on Win10 Pro Insider Preview and never had a problem. Works just like on Win7, which I upgraded from. In the same thread, others mentioned 2.8.3 works too.

[edit] This thread, to be exact. http://tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/sho...d.php?t=530129 and probably the official win10 thread somewhere, but that is a long thread.

justen_m is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 07:41 AM   #11
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 4,230
my w10 upgrade completed with tivo desktop 2.8.3 still running fine, just had to re-enter the media access key on first launch.

__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 04:17 PM   #12
twhiting9275
TV Buff!
 
twhiting9275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 344
Had to uninstall and reinstall Desktop to get it back working again, myself.

twhiting9275 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 05:49 PM   #13
gayste
Love TiVo!
 
gayste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 269
TiVo Desktop version 2.8.2
Surface
From Windows 8.1 to 10
Had to re-enter the MAK
Also had to associate .tiVo files with Windows Media Player. (I don't know if the new "Movies & TV" app would play the files, I didn't try.)

Everything seems to work.

__________________
Roamio Pro Lifetime
(4 sold, 2 retired)
gayste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 11:45 PM   #14
Robert Simandl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 97
Guess I got lucky.

Tivo Desktop 2.8.3 on my homebuilt PC

From Windows 7 Ultimate to 10 Pro

Didn't even have to re-enter the Media Access Key

Did have to associate Tivo files with WMP ("Movies & TV" wasn't in the immediate list of programs to choose from and I didn't feel like hunting for it).

My only problem is the Google Drive icon has disappeared from my desktop. But it's still in the System Tray, so no biggie.

__________________
Bob Simandl ... just outside of St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:39 AM   #15
mrtxstar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Finally had success getting my TiVo Desktop Plus to work properly with Windows 10 OS. I had to uninstall/install Desktop twice and load the Desktop Patch. Just glad it's working now. Crossing my fingers it's stays that way.

mrtxstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:11 PM   #16
TIVO_GUY_HERE
I miss the ocean
 
TIVO_GUY_HERE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 5,852
mine connects ok plays video once I associated a player with the .TiVo file, but I haven't been able to download a complete episode yet. Always fails before it even starts, or about 5 minutes in.

TIVO_GUY_HERE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.
Page generated in 0.07176709 seconds (79.14% PHP - 20.86% MySQL) with 18 queries