TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old Today, 03:06 AM   #1
leiff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 377
surface rt tablet bad choice for tivo playback?

I picked up a refurbished surface RT tablet.it doesn't seem to play mpeg2 tivo videos. do I have to convert them? if so does this lower video quality? I may want to return tablet if it's not good for playing TiVo videos
leiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:21 AM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,368
Yes, it actually needs to be decrypted. Use TivoDecode (free). You do not need it if the computer has Tivo Desktop installed ($15).
__________________
Series 2 (80 hrs,PLS, Retired)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 05:30 AM   #3
leiff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 377
I have video redo license that turns tivo into mpeg2 but i fear surface rt cant even play these
leiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 05:42 AM   #4
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,790
You probably need to install some codecs. Use AC3Filter for Dolby audio and the MPEG-2 codec from CCCP or K-Lite.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:47 AM   #5
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,756
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggieseke View Post
You probably need to install some codecs. Use AC3Filter for Dolby audio and the MPEG-2 codec from CCCP or K-Lite.
The Surface RT is an ARM-based machine; it's not going to run that x86 stuff. Unless they specifically supply RT versions?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:21 AM   #6
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 807
Quick search seemed to indicate that Windows RT supports H.264 mp4 video so try using VideoRedo to convert to that format?

Scott
__________________
  1. S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
  2. S3 OLED - 1TB - Lifetime
  3. S3 OLED - 1TB - Lifetime
  4. S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
  5. S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |