TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2015, 12:43 PM   #1
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,297
Plex update today

Plex updated the app for Tivo today. Version 2.4.19

Adds channels, filters and sorting and a bunch of other updates.

Alas still supports only 720p and 4mbit bit rate.

__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 01:27 PM   #2
Thunderclap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 215
How is the speed? Has it improved at all, or is the interface still a little sluggish?

__________________
Marc B.
Thunderclap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 06:39 AM   #3
saeba
Registered User
 
saeba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
Alas still supports only 720p and 4mbit bit rate.
Plex team member posted this on their forums:

The current platform is capped at 720p. We can't change this at the moment as the TiVo playback stack we use too easily runs out of memory while streaming videos.

__________________
TiVo Premiere XL
TiVo Premiere
TiVo Roamio Pro
saeba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 07:31 AM   #4
Thunderclap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 215
The GUI is still a bit slugglish for my tastes. If Netflix and Amazon can produce a pretty responsive interface on Tivo I would think Plex could. Maybe cut some of the background images and whatnot? We don't need all the flashy design.

__________________
Marc B.
Thunderclap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 04:15 PM   #5
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,297
The trouble with plex is the Tivo opera browser limitations. Limited memory, 720p etc. Plex is not a native app on tivo. Its running nearly the same opera based version running on many smart tvs. Many of those outperform the tivo implementation.

__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 05:11 PM   #6
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 8,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by saeba View Post
Plex team member posted this on their forums:

The current platform is capped at 720p. We can't change this at the moment as the TiVo playback stack we use too easily runs out of memory while streaming videos.
Anybody care to clarify the bold part? I assume they're talking about system RAM. Is this limitation on the Roamio platform that Plex will never be able to overcome?

waynomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 07:06 AM   #7
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynomo View Post
Anybody care to clarify the bold part? I assume they're talking about system RAM. Is this limitation on the Roamio platform that Plex will never be able to overcome?
Plex also posted this:

Technically they need to be able to handle larger HLS segment sizes and/or generally support a larger memory buffer for caching video segments.

__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 08:40 AM   #8
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
Plex also posted this:

Technically they need to be able to handle larger HLS segment sizes and/or generally support a larger memory buffer for caching video segments.
My guess is the reason HLS segment size is limited is because of TiVo Mini which doesn't have any hard drive and only has userDiskSize=0.11 GB. TiVo has to support the least common denominator of all devices supporting Plex when setting Opera build limits.

__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.
Page generated in 0.05724907 seconds (70.32% PHP - 29.68% MySQL) with 18 queries