TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2015, 09:12 PM   #1
Robert Simandl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 96
Tivo Desktop and Windows 10?

Anyone with Tivo Desktop do the free upgrade to Windows 10 yet? Any issues or "gotcha's" the rest of us need to know about?

Thanks!

__________________
Bob Simandl ... just outside of St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:19 AM   #2
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,330
If past experience is any guide, the upgrade process will break Desktop.

ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks For This Post:
Old Yesterday, 11:22 AM   #3
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 1,372
I'm sure Desktop, Beacon, and Bonjour have all be tested with Windows 10.

JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:05 PM   #4
mrtxstar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
I just installed Win 10 and now I get an error pop up on my screen about every hour about something to do with Tivo Desktop. I guess I need to get a screen shot of it.

mrtxstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:18 PM   #5
johnsonjonj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Fix for Windows 10

On your Windows 10 at the bottom left... Ask me anything... type in compatibility... it will bring up Control Panel .. Run programs made for previous versions of windows... a window will pop up labeled .. Program Compatibility Troubleshooter... Next.. then it will then make of pop up list of programs running on your computer.. select Tivo Desktop.. you will then get a pop up to test... this will allow the program to run correctly... It will then ask you to save these settings for this program...

johnsonjonj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:59 PM   #6
mrtxstar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonjonj View Post
On your Windows 10 at the bottom left... Ask me anything... type in compatibility... it will bring up Control Panel .. Run programs made for previous versions of windows... a window will pop up labeled .. Program Compatibility Troubleshooter... Next.. then it will then make of pop up list of programs running on your computer.. select Tivo Desktop.. you will then get a pop up to test... this will allow the program to run correctly... It will then ask you to save these settings for this program...
My Windows 10 bottom left has nothing that says "Ask me anything".

I do have a screenshot of the error message if that would be helpful.

Edited: Okay, found the "ask me anything" ... proceeding


Last edited by mrtxstar; Yesterday at 08:51 PM. Reason: updated info
mrtxstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:14 PM   #7
mrtxstar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7

mrtxstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:33 PM   #8
mrtxstar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Compatibility Troubleshooter unable to resolve issue. Now TiVo Desktop not opening at all and the periodic error message still pops up on screen. Any further suggestions?

mrtxstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:45 PM   #9
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 4,207
uninstall/reinstall?

__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 06:11 AM   #10
justen_m
Registered User
 
justen_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boise Idaho
Posts: 7,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthAlabama View Post
uninstall/reinstall?
That would be my suggestion. I did a clean install of Tivo Desktop 2.8.2 on Win10 Pro Insider Preview and never had a problem. Works just like on Win7, which I upgraded from. In the same thread, others mentioned 2.8.3 works too.

[edit] This thread, to be exact. http://tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/sho...d.php?t=530129 and probably the official win10 thread somewhere, but that is a long thread.

justen_m is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 AM.
Page generated in 0.05896091 seconds (75.86% PHP - 24.14% MySQL) with 18 queries