TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-15-2008, 12:50 AM   #1
socaltoolguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca.
Posts: 50
Tivo without subscription???????

We have just started full time RVing and I have a series 2 dual tuner Tivo that I have brought along just to use for manual recording. Well, the first time I tried to use it after the info ran out it was off by one hour because we changed time zones. I tried to do a guided setup to change the time and got as far as the point where it tries to connect to a phone line. Since I don't have a phone line it stops there. What do I have to do to get back to where we can use it for recording? I was under the impression that I could still record with this unit. Am I wrong? Please help. Thanks,
Ray
socaltoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 01:34 AM   #2
bgc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 126
You can't record without the subscription service. While I'm not sure, I think the only way to get out of guided setup is to unplug it.

BGC
bgc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 02:55 AM   #3
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 8,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgc View Post
You can't record without the subscription service. While I'm not sure, I think the only way to get out of guided setup is to unplug it.

BGC
The only way to get out of guided setup is to finish the guided setup.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 04:38 AM   #4
RoyK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SW VA
Posts: 2,506
You CAN use the internet instead of a phone line.

Since it appears that you do have internet access I suggest you get yourself a router and interface your TiVo to it. Whenever you park where you can access the internet force a connection to get guide info, and use guided setup to set your time and zip code to get TV listings etc.

Your TiVo won't work without a subscription so you will need to sign it up.
RoyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 11:25 AM   #5
socaltoolguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca.
Posts: 50
Here is my dilemma. We cancelled our subscription when we moved into our rv. I am going to set up satellite with the DirecTv dvr. We only wanted to use the Tivo for secondary recording. We have a ton of stuff still on the Tivo that we haven't watched yet. I didn't really want to have to pay for a subscription when we are going to have satellite for recording on a regular basis. Just wanted the Tivo for other stuff. It doesn't make sense to me that the machine is rendered useless without a subscription. Shouldn't it still be useable as a recording device without the guide service. Isn't that what the manual recording by time and date and channel is for? I guess we have an expensive paper weight if that is the case. There must be an answer to this question. Thanks for any help, Ray.
socaltoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 11:33 AM   #6
gastrof
Look 32' in reverse
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: We would like tin but for the golden glade. Do not take risks that you cannot return to the encapsulation. Margaret has not the stranding.
Posts: 6,734
No.

It should NOT still be useable as a recording device without the guide service.

The Series 2 TiVos were made to work with the TiVo service, and in no other way.

(Take a look at your box, if you still have it.)

If you want a TiVo that'll work without a subscription, you'll need one that came with TiVo Basic (some of the DVD machines), or an old Series 1 that will work as a basic DVR, with you setting the time and channels yourself.

Even those will need to "phone home" one way or another to set up your channel list and keep the clock on track.

As for the term "paperweight", yep.

That's EXACTLY how Series 2 (and later) TiVos are described, when they aren't subscribed.

(PS- Your machine will still be able to play existing recordings once it's out of the setup phase...it just won't be able to make any new ones without a subscription.)
__________________
Crisp binoculars on a Wednesday.
gastrof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 11:44 AM   #7
TolloNodre
En Fuego
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by socaltoolguy View Post
It doesn't make sense to me that the machine is rendered useless without a subscription. Shouldn't it still be useable as a recording device without the guide service.
Well, it's like a cell phone. Without service, they're only good for dialing 911.
TolloNodre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 12:27 PM   #8
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by socaltoolguy View Post
It doesn't make sense to me that the machine is rendered useless without a subscription. Shouldn't it still be useable as a recording device without the guide service. Isn't that what the manual recording by time and date and channel is for?
Nope, it doesn't have to make sense. The fact is the TiVo you have (like most Series 2/3 models) requires a subscription to record in any fashion. Yuo desiring otherwise won't change that, at least by remarking about that here.

Recording by Time And Channel is for recording outside of the guide, usually for programs/periods not in the guide, or when guide data is not available. Since it counts as recording, it needs an active subscription to even use that, on Series 2/3 models.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 05:08 PM   #9
socaltoolguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca.
Posts: 50
Ok, if that's the way it is so be it. Now, what do I have to do to make it work. We are traveling and moving constantly every week or two. If I get a wireless adapter and add it to my network, subscribe for the guide service and so on, will that work? Also, someone above stated that I could watch what is already recorded after going through the setup. How do I do that? It gets to a point that it wants to dial in or connect wirelessly. Is there a way around that? I would like to view what I have recorded. I don't mind renewing my subscription as I love the way Tivo works. I just didn't think it would work out with our traveling so often. Do I have to use an adapter from Tivo or can I buy one at BestBuy or some other vendor? Thanks everybody for all your help. I am just frustrated. If I came across otherwise, I apologize.
Ray
socaltoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 08:29 PM   #10
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by socaltoolguy View Post
Ok, if that's the way it is so be it. Now, what do I have to do to make it work. We are traveling and moving constantly every week or two. If I get a wireless adapter and add it to my network, subscribe for the guide service and so on, will that work? Also, someone above stated that I could watch what is already recorded after going through the setup. How do I do that? It gets to a point that it wants to dial in or connect wirelessly. Is there a way around that? I would like to view what I have recorded. I don't mind renewing my subscription as I love the way Tivo works. I just didn't think it would work out with our traveling so often. Do I have to use an adapter from Tivo or can I buy one at BestBuy or some other vendor? Thanks everybody for all your help. I am just frustrated. If I came across otherwise, I apologize.
Ray
If your moving all the time and having to change guide data for recording, are you going to have a wireless network available to you at each place ? You must have a phone or network connection to get through the guid setup, but if you did a clear and delete everything you will not have anything to watch on the TiVo. To record you need service from TiVo and a way for the TiVo to call home. If you are going to a wireless adapter get the TiVo brand as its the best and about $40 at Amazon.com but that means you are setting up a wireless router at each move, how are you going to do that. If you do have something recorded on the TiVo and you can find a phone or Internet service to get the guided setup done, AND you did not do a clear and delete everything you will be able to watch without a sub.

It's hard for me to understand what going on with you as if you did not have a sub why did you start the guided setup? You can move the TiVo anywhere and still watch what you have recorded without running the guided setup and you do not need a sub.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 12:36 PM   #11
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
You can use the wireless adapter to connect to any open network or any network that has security compatible with TiVo, and you can get the password for. If you have to log in through a web browser, you need to connect the TiVo through your computer.

To be able to at least view the recordings that are there, you need to connect it to phone or network to complete guided setup. You can do that without a TiVo subscription.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 07:35 PM   #12
socaltoolguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca.
Posts: 50
Ok, let me try to explain. We are full time RVers living on the road. I have a network setup in our trailer so we can both be on our computers and surf the web and do email. We are using an aircard with a router. Last Thursday night I tried to record Survivor by feeding in the time and date and channel. Well all went well except here in Arizona the time is off by an hour from Ca. I tried to allow for that but still missed the time by an hour. I got the last five minutes of the show because I had started it five minutes early and let it run five minutes long. Anyway, I figured that the clock in the Tivo must be off so I tried to do a guided setup just to change the time. Big mistake. I wasn't thinking about the connect up situation. I haven't deleted any of the programs or settings that I had so it is all still there if I can just get to it. I figured that if I can get a wireless adapter and set it up in my network that then the Tivo can connect through the internet. So I guess I have to get the adapter first then configure it. Does it sound like I am on the right track? I do appreciate your help and advice on getting this thing figured out. Now I just have to figure out how to get the satellite hooked up. That's another matter.
Ray
socaltoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 11:04 PM   #13
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 8,981
You'll still need a subscription.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 02:56 PM   #14
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
I fully understand your situation. Everything stated still stands.

You don't need a subscription to complete guided setup, but it needs to connect to the TiVo service to do so, and as such will get its current real subscription status. It will play recordings without subscription, but needs subscribed to "record" in any fashion or use networking features.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 07:00 PM   #15
socaltoolguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca.
Posts: 50
Thanks for all the help. I am going to have to find a way to hook up. I will probably buy an adapter so I can do it wirelessly. More than likely if I do that I might as well go ahead and renew my subscription.
Ray
socaltoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |