TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2007, 04:58 PM   #1
beejay2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 20
Question Tivo Suggestions -- Has Anyone Seen this

I have a Series 3, THD and two series 2s networked wirelessly. I added an external drive to both the series 3 and the THD and turned suggestions on. I just went in to one of my series 2 and checked to see if there was anything I wanted to transfer from either of the HD systems. The now playing lists for both the series 3 and THD are showing accurately. However, when I open the suggestions folder for either the series 3 or the THD the contents of the series 3 suggestions folder pops up. At the top of the screen the specific DVR name is correct. I open THD page down to suggestions and open it and even though the DVR name at the top says THD I am seeing the contents of the Series 3 suggestions folder.

I don't have a clue what would cause this. It's annoying but not a deal breaker. But any thoughts on if and how I could fix it and has anyone else had this problem?
beejay2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2007, 06:57 PM   #2
jrm01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 2,619
What you described is impossible. I have the exact same set up (S3, THD, S2DT) and would have noticed it if this were true. To prove it I went up to my S2 and tried it.

Damn. You're right. I get the exact same thing. Suggestions from THD are correct. Suggestions from S3 are the duplicate of the THD (with the S3 title at the top). In the NPL for the S3 it correctly shows that there are 16 Suggestions, but when I click on it it shows the 8 Suggestions from the THD.

Now this is wierd!!
__________________
Comcast, Cox, TW, Charter and BHN are cabal companies.
(That is not a spelling error. Check the definition.
)
jrm01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2007, 10:57 PM   #3
beejay2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 20
I had the same reaction. This is impossible. In fact I checked about 4 times before I posted.
beejay2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 09:06 AM   #4
CuriousMark
Forum Denizen
 
CuriousMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,555
Try clearing the cache folder of TiVo Desktop.

[Edit]Doh! Your talking MRV not TTG, please ignore the idiotic comment I just made.[/Edit]

Last edited by CuriousMark : 12-20-2007 at 09:38 AM.
CuriousMark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 10:08 AM   #5
CrispyCritter
Purple Ribbon Wearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,637
Yes, I confirm it, too!

However, it's completely unrelated to S3 or TiVoHD.

On my first S2 (S2-1), I went to my S3 Suggestions, and everything was fine. I then went (on my S2-1) to my TiVoHD, my S2-2. and my S2-3. Suggestions on all of them just repeated the S3 Suggestions.

On S2-2, I went to S2-1 Suggestions and they showed up fine. I then went to S2-3 Suggestions, and it listed the S2-1 Suggestions again. No HD machines tested at all.

So the Suggestion code is obviously not updating the name of the machine being searched. It always just uses the first machine you looked at.

I wonder how long this bug has been around?
__________________
CrispyCritter
TiVo Roamio:Felix TiVo Premiere:Bob TiVo XL4:Fred TiVo HDXL:Sharon TiVoHD:Susan
CrispyCritter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 02:21 PM   #6
beejay2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 20
Not sure what to do next. Just tried several reps at Tivo and I couldn't get them to understand the problem so I'm sure they can't help with a solution. I don't mean to be unkind but they don't seem to be very bright people. I'm hoping that if I send it in writing it will be clearer but I can't find an email address on the Tivo customer support site. Any suggestions or insight on how I pursue this?
beejay2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 02:45 PM   #7
jrm01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 2,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by beejay2 View Post
Not sure what to do next. Just tried several reps at Tivo and I couldn't get them to understand the problem so I'm sure they can't help with a solution. I don't mean to be unkind but they don't seem to be very bright people. I'm hoping that if I send it in writing it will be clearer but I can't find an email address on the Tivo customer support site. Any suggestions or insight on how I pursue this?
TiVoJerry just confirmed to me that he has been able to replicate this problem and has submitted a Bug report.
__________________
Comcast, Cox, TW, Charter and BHN are cabal companies.
(That is not a spelling error. Check the definition.
)
jrm01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 03:07 PM   #8
TiVoJerry
TiVo Field Trials PM
 
TiVoJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Alviso, CA
Posts: 1,511
Confirmed and filed. Weird.
__________________
Jerry
TiVo Field Trials Program Manager
Grillmeister

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoJerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 03:12 PM   #9
beejay2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 20
Thank you all! Look forward to the fix.
beejay2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 06:16 PM   #10
TiVoJerry
TiVo Field Trials PM
 
TiVoJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Alviso, CA
Posts: 1,511
After a quick review, I'm told this might also occur if viewing an HD folder.

In the meantime, the workaround is to go into a different group before going into Suggestions.
__________________
Jerry
TiVo Field Trials Program Manager
Grillmeister

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoJerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2007, 01:32 PM   #11
fluffie
Registered User
 
fluffie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 74
What I have noticed is when deleting suggestions it will say the folder is empty and no longer needed (or something like that), after deleting a couple of shows but there are still plenty more there.
fluffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 07:11 PM   #12
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoJerry View Post
After a quick review, I'm told this might also occur if viewing an HD folder.

In the meantime, the workaround is to go into a different group before going into Suggestions.
or go straight to the suggestions folder, choose a recording and then back out to the list again.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 09:14 AM   #13
tlc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 448
The people working with pyTivo and other TTCB servers have been noting that 'SubFolder' support has been broken on the TiVo since release 8.3. Here is a summary. They haven't gotten any good responses from TiVo because the Tivo Desktop doesn't use folders the same way.

This sounds like the same problem.

Last edited by tlc : 01-02-2008 at 09:20 AM.
tlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |