TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series 1 - UK
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2011, 04:29 PM   #1
bri_tal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Signal from stb not getting through to Aux scart

Looks like a faulty tivo Aux scart, possibly caused by shorting. Is this a fairly common problem and is there a fairly simple workaround ?
bri_tal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 01:27 AM   #2
spitfires
wassock
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 703
How have you determined that? e.g. have you replaced the scart lead; tried the STB in something else (preferably another vcr/pvr rather than direct in to the tele); tried something else into the TiVos aux scart ?


.
__________________
Tivo since 2002. S1 + 1TB SATA. ex-TAM (tenner a month). Virgin Media not available.
spitfires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 03:32 AM   #3
Automan
Ex TiVo User
 
Automan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: South Coast, Sussex, UK
Posts: 4,184
No sound and picture from AUX input?

Automan.
Automan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 04:12 AM   #4
bri_tal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Have tried all possible permutations, ie stb scart works directly with tv, using same scart lead, other scart leads fail to produce picture or sound when connecting the same stb to tivo.
bri_tal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 08:11 AM   #5
bri_tal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Decided to remove cover to inspect for any obvious signs of a blow-out and took the opportunity to remove 9 years accumulation of dust and fluff (Must have been a beakerful!). Could not detect anything out of the ordinary, as regards faulty components.

Replaced cover and connected up scarts exactly as before, switched-on the power and bingo!! Everything works normally.

This remains as one of life's mysteries.
bri_tal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 08:14 AM   #6
mikerr
TiVoCentral.co.uk
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Up North
Posts: 2,596
There is a known issue where the TiVo won't ever see any input on AUX
if the STB was turned off during the TiVo bootup process.
__________________
TivoCentral.co.uk -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mikerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 08:34 AM   #7
bri_tal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks, Mike - I'll bear that in mind for the future.
bri_tal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |