TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2007, 09:53 AM   #1
Phillip Chapman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 105
Moving from Wireless to Wired

I zippered our Phillips 7000 DirecTivo about a year and a half ago. Iíve been using a Linksys Wireless 2.6 adapter and now need more speed so weíre moving to a wired solution. Iíll probably be fishing the cable through the walls in the next week or so and I had some questions.

1. Any recommendations on cables? I was thinking Cat5, Cat5e or Cat6 just for the purpose of future compatibility since this will probably be in the walls a long time once it is done.

2. Where is the best price to buy cable? Iíll probably need around a 60-75 foot cable.

3. Besides getting a wall outlet for both ends will I need anything else for the install?

4. As far as the Tivo itself, is the NetGear FA120 the best way to go or is there an easier/faster/cheaper adapter I should get?

Thanks in advance for the step-by-step help and advice.
Phillip Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 10:39 AM   #2
Phillip Chapman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 105
One more... after doing a little research will I need connectors for each end of the ethernet cable or since it's premade is this not necessary?

Last edited by Phillip Chapman : 11-08-2007 at 11:04 AM.
Phillip Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 11:16 AM   #3
tward_biteme1
Registered User
 
tward_biteme1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Maryland, USA.
Posts: 379
I believe this one works, and is much easier to get:

http://www.outpost.com/product/4415686
__________________
Anyone need a Philips DTivo?
PSNID: tward392
tward_biteme1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 12:19 PM   #4
Da Goon
Registered Abuser
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,396
If you need to cable you can get good deal at monoprice.com. The Airlink adapter linked above works well, but you will need to make sure you have backport usb drivers installed and an entry in your /etc/hotplug/usb.map for the adapter for it to work.
Da Goon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoģ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |